Oki C941 Operation & User’s Manual
Read Online
Read the Oki C941 Operation & User’s Manual online using the built-in PDF viewer.
Text of the manual
- 2 -
Contents
Contents
Setting the Spot Color kit (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only)...................... 3
Control Panel Explanation..................................................................... 6
Standby Screen.......................................................................................................6
Menu table of Spot Color toner................................................................................7
Checking the printer drivers............................................................... 11
Printer driver functions table.............................................................. 13
With white toner mounted.....................................................................................13
With clear toner mounted (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only)......................................17
Printing on color paper....................................................................... 21
Color papers that can be used...............................................................................21
Printing using white toner only.............................................................................21
Printing white under color.....................................................................................24
Adjusting the print position for spot color overprint (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only).... 29
Printing on transparent film................................................................ 35
Transparent films that can be used........................................................................35
Setting transparent film in the device....................................................................35
Preparing output destination of transparent films.................................................38
Mirror reverse printing..........................................................................................38
Printing by using applications to specify Spot Color toner
(PS printer drivers only)..................................................................... 43
Using Illustrator....................................................................................................43
Using Photoshop....................................................................................................44
Fine-tuning the white gradation......................................................... 46
Replacing Spot Color kits (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only).................... 47
- 3 -
Setting the Spot Color kit (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only)
z
z Setting the Spot Color kit (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only)
This section explains how to set the Spot Color kit.
Memo
z
z For C942/ES9542/Pro9542, these steps are not required.
First "mount the consumables" as described in "Basic" before setting the Spot Color kit.
1
Open the package, and remove the
duct, toner, and image drum.
Note
z
z Do not remove the toner or image drum from their
packages.
2
Open the front cover.
3
Mount the duct to the printer.
- 4 -
Setting the Spot Color kit (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only)
4
Remove the image drum from its
packaging.
Note
z
z Do not expose the image drum to direct sunlight or strong
light (About 1,500 lux or above). Do not leave it for more
than 5 minutes even under room lighting.
z
z Be careful not to touch or scratch the image drum (green
cylinder).
5
Remove the stopper (orange).
6
Align the (red) arrows on the image
drum and printer, and insert gently
into the slot while taking care not to
touch the (green) light sensor on the
underside with your hands, and then
push in firmly as far as it will go.
Note
z
z Be careful not to touch or scratch the image drum (green
cylinder).
7
Close the front cover.
- 5 -
Setting the Spot Color kit (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only)
8
Remove the toner cartridge from its
packaging, and shake it vertically and
horizontally.
Note
z
z Do not drop the toner cartridge or tap it on the floor.
Doing so may damage the cartridge.
9
Open the toner replacement cover.
10
Check the position of the slot, and
firmly push the toner cartridge in as far
as it will go.
11
Close the toner replacement cover.
12
Turn ON (I) the main power switch.
13
Press and hold the power switch for
approx. 1s.
Memo
z
z When "Spot Color has been replaced/Press OK to change
the Spot Color settings in the menu to Clear and restart
the system/If you do not want to change settings, return
Spot Color toner, image drum and Spot Color duct settings
to white" is displayed, press the [OK] button.
z
z When the Spot Color kit has been set, return to the
"Basic", and implement the tasks described from "Setting
the Paper" onwards.
- 6 -
Control Panel Explanation
z
z Control Panel Explanation
This section explains the C941/C942/ES9541/ES9542/Pro9541/Pro9542 control panel.
Standby Screen
With white toner mounted
Displays the printer status.
Displays the remaining
consumables quantities.
With clear toner mounted
Displays the printer status.
Displays the remaining
consumables quantities.
- 7 -
Control Panel Explanation
Menu table of Spot Color toner
The printer menus for clear toner and white toner are as described below.
Numbers following the letter F in the menu items indicate the function number.
Memo
z
z For details of menus other than the Spot Color toner, see the "Basic".
Configuration
Tray Count
Supplies Life
Cyan Toner
Magenta Toner
Yellow Toner
Black Toner
White Toner (n.nK) *1
Clear Toner (n.nK) *2
Cyan Drum
Magenta Drum
Yellow Drum
Black Drum
White Drum *1
Clear Drum *2
Waste Toner Box
Belt
Fuser
Network
Paper Size in Tray
System
Print Information
Configuration
Network
Demo Page
File List
PS Font List
PCL Font List
IBM PPR Font List
EPSON FX Font List
Usage Report
Error Log
Color Profile List
User Media List
Test Print-1
Test Print-2
Test Print-3 *3
Print
Test Print-4
Print
Print Secure Job
Encrypted Job
Stored Job
*1: Displayed when you have installed the white toner cartridge and image drum.
*2: Displayed when you have installed the clear toner cartridge and image drum. Clear can be used only with C941/ES9541/
Pro9541.
*3: Displayed when you have installed the white toner cartridge and image drum with C941/ES9541/Pro9541.
- 8 -
Control Panel Explanation
Menus
Tray Configuration
System Adjust
Print Adjust
Print Position Adjust
MPTray
X Adjust (0.00mm)
Y Adjust (0.00mm)
Duplex X Adjust (0.00mm)
Duplex Y Adjust (0.00mm)
Overprint X Adjust *4 (0.00mm)
Overprint Y Adjust *4 (0.00mm)
Y Scaling (0.00%)
Tray1
X Adjust (0.00mm)
Y Adjust (0.00mm)
Duplex X Adjust (0.00mm)
Duplex Y Adjust (0.00mm)
Overprint X Adjust *4 (0.00mm)
Overprint Y Adjust *4 (0.00mm)
Y Scaling (0.00%)
Tray2 *1
X Adjust (0.00mm)
Y Adjust (0.00mm)
Duplex X Adjust (0.00mm)
Duplex Y Adjust (0.00mm)
Overprint X Adjust *4 (0.00mm)
Overprint Y Adjust *4 (0.00mm)
Y Scaling (0.00%)
Tray3 *1
X Adjust (0.00mm)
Y Adjust (0.00mm)
Duplex X Adjust (0.00mm)
Duplex Y Adjust (0.00mm)
Overprint X Adjust *4 (0.00mm)
Overprint Y Adjust *4 (0.00mm)
Y Scaling (0.00%)
Tray4 *1
X Adjust (0.00mm)
Y Adjust (0.00mm)
Duplex X Adjust (0.00mm)
Duplex Y Adjust (0.00mm)
Overprint X Adjust *4 (0.00mm)
Overprint Y Adjust *4 (0.00mm)
Y Scaling (0.00%)
Tray5 *1
X Adjust (0.00mm)
Y Adjust (0.00mm)
Duplex X Adjust (0.00mm)
Duplex Y Adjust (0.00mm)
Overprint X Adjust *4 (0.00mm)
Overprint Y Adjust *4 (0.00mm)
Y Scaling (0.00%)
F220
F221
F222
F223
F224
F225
- 9 -
Control Panel Explanation
Paper Black Setting
Paper Color Setting
Trans. Black Setting
Trans. Color Setting
SMR Setting
Cyan
Magenta
Yellow
Black
White *2
Clear *3
BG Setting
Cyan
Magenta
Yellow
Black
White *2
Clear *3
Drum Cleaning
Transfer Roller Cleaning
High Humid Mode
Moisture Control
Narrow Paper Speed
Print Mode
Transfer Setting
Cyan Transfer Setting
DV Roller Cleaning
Magenta Transfer Setting
Yellow Transfer Setting
Black Transfer Setting
White Transfer Setting *2
Clear Transfer Setting *3
*1: Displayed when trays 2 to 5 are mounted.
*2: Displayed when you have installed the white toner cartridge and image drum.
*3: Displayed when you have installed the clear toner cartridge and image drum (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only).
*4: Displayed only with C941/ES9541/Pro9541.
- 10 -
Control Panel Explanation
Admin Setup
Network Setup
USB Setup
Print Setup
PS Setup
PCL Setup
XPS Setup
IBM PPR Setup
EPSON FX Setup
Color Setup
Ink Simulation
UCR
CMY 100% Density
CMYK Conversion
Spot Color (White) *3
Panel Setup
Time Setup
Power Setup
Others Setup
Settings
Change Password
Print Statistics
JOB LOG
Supplies Report
Reset Main Counter
Reset Supplies Counter
Change Password
Calibration
Auto Density Mode
Auto BG Adjust Mode
Density Adjustment Media
Adjust Density
Adjust Registration
Heavy Media Adjust
Heavy Media Mode
Color Density
Cyan Density
Magenta Density
Yellow Density
Black Density
White Density (0) *1
Clear Density (0) *2
Print Color Tuning Pattern
Base Color Tuning
Fine Color Tuning
Reset Color Tuning
White Tuning *1
F314
F314
Boot Menu
Network Factory Defaults
HDD Setup
Storage Common Setup
Menu Lockout (Off)
Panel Lockout (Off)
*1: Displayed when you have installed the white toner cartridge and image drum.
*2: Displayed when you have installed the clear toner cartridge and image drum (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only).
*3: Displayed only with C941/ES9541/Pro9541.
- 11 -
Checking the printer drivers
z
z Checking the printer drivers
When installation of printer drivers is complete, check that the Spot Color toner that has been mounted
is selected in [Spot Color Toner] in the [Device Settings] tab or [Device Options] tab.
Memo
z
z For the printer driver installation method, see "Connecting to the PC" in "Basic".
Using Windows PS printer drivers
The color of the Spot Color toner that has been
mounted is displayed in [Spot Color Toner] in the
[Device Settings] tab.
If the mounted color is not set, select the
relevant Spot Color Toner color.
Using Windows PCL printer drivers
The color of the Spot Color toner that has been
mounted is displayed in [Spot color toner] in the
[Device Options] tab.
If the mounted color is not set, select the
relevant Spot color toner color.
- 12 -
Checking the printer drivers
Using Windows XPS printer drivers
The color of the Spot Color toner that has been
mounted is displayed in [Spot color toner] in the
[Device Options] tab.
If the mounted color is not set, select the
relevant Spot color toner color.
Using Mac OS X PS printer
drivers
The color of the Spot Color toner that has been
mounted is displayed in [Spot Color Toner] in the
[Driver] panel.
If the mounted color is not set, select the
relevant Spot Color Toner color.
- 13 -
Printer driver functions table
z
z Printer driver functions table
This section explains the Spot Color toner functions in the printer drivers.
Select the Spot Color toner in the [Device Settings] tab or [Device Options] tabs of the printer drivers.
The following screen will be displayed.
Note
z
z Plain, recycled, and glossy under GSM 52 to 64g/m
2 (ream weight under 45 to 55kg) are incompatible with Spot Color printing
using white toner or clear toner.
Memo
z
z If using the Fiery XF Server Option, see the manual enclosed with Fiery XF Server Option.
With white toner mounted
Using Windows PS printer drivers
Click [Spot Color] in the [Color] tab to display the window for setting the Spot Color toner.
Item
Explanation
Usage Methods
Do not use
Print without using white toner.
Full page
Using white toner on whole printed pages.
Data portion (Excluding white)
Using white toner in the data portions excluding the white portions.
Data portion (Including white)
Using white toner in the data portions including the white portions.
Printing only spot color toner
Printing using white toner only.
Application specification
Applications can be used to specify white toner. This
function is for PS printer drivers only.
Order of
superposition
Printing white on the color
Printing by overlaying white toner on cyan, magenta,
yellow, and black toner.
Printing white under the color
Printing by overlaying white toner under cyan, magenta,
yellow, and black toner.
White size adjustment *
Finely adjust the print size in white when printing in
"Printing white under the color".
Enter the degree of shrinkage of white for other colors.
Special
Mirror Print
Printing by reversing the horizontal orientation.
*: This is a function added to Windows PS printer driver version 1.0.3 or later.
This is available when combined with firmware version A01.07_0_4 or later.
See "Adjusting the print position for spot color overprint (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only)" (P.29) for details.
- 14 -
Printer driver functions table
Using Windows PCL printer drivers
Click the [Spot Color] tab to display the window for setting the Spot color toner.
Item
Explanation
Usage methods
Do not use
Print without using white toner.
Full page
Using white toner on whole printed pages.
Data portion (Excluding white)
Using white toner in the data portions excluding the
white portions.
Data portion (Including white)
Using white toner in the data portions including the
white portions.
Printing only spot color toner
Printing using white toner only.
Watermarks/Overlays
Print the selected Watermarks/Overlays with white toner.
Order of
superposition
Printing white on the color
Printing by overlaying white toner on cyan, magenta,
yellow, and black toner.
Printing white under the color
Printing by overlaying white toner under cyan, magenta,
tellow, and black toner.
White size adjustment *
Finely adjust the print size in white when printing in
"Printing white under the color".
Enter the degree of shrinkage of white for other colors.
Speciality
Mirror Print
Printing by reversing the horizontal orientation.
*: This is a function added to Windows PCL printer driver version 1.0.3 or later.
This is available when combined with firmware version A01.07_0_4 or later.
See "Adjusting the print position for spot color overprint (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only)" (P.29) for
details.
- 15 -
Printer driver functions table
Using Windows XPS printer drivers
Click [Spot Color] in the [Color] tab to display the window for setting the Spot color toner.
Item
Explanation
Usage Methods
Do not use
Print without using white toner.
Full page
Using white toner on whole printed pages.
Data portion (Excluding white)
Using white toner in the data portions excluding the
white portions.
Data portion (Including white)
Using white toner in the data portions including the
white portions.
Printing only spot color toner
Printing using white toner only.
Order of
superposition
Printing white on the color
Printing by overlaying white toner on cyan, magenta,
yellow, and black toner.
Printing white under the color
Printing by overlaying white toner under cyan, magenta,
yellow, and black toner.
White size adjustment *
Finely adjust the print size in white when printing in
"Printing white under the color".
Enter the degree of shrinkage of white for other colors.
Speciality
Mirror Print
Printing by reversing the horizontal orientation.
*: This is a function added to Windows XPS printer driver version 1.0.3 or later.
This is available when combined with firmware version A01.07_0_4 or later.
See "Adjusting the print position for spot color overprint (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only)" (P.29) for
details.
- 16 -
Printer driver functions table
Using Mac OS X PS printer drivers
Select the [Spot Color] panel to display the window for setting the Spot Color toner.
Item
Explanation
Usage methods
Do not use
Print without using white toner.
Full page
Using white toner on whole printed pages.
Data portion (Excluding white)
Using white toner in the data portions excluding the
white portions.
Data portion (Including white)
Using white toner in the data portions including the
white portions.
Printing only spot color toner
Printing using white toner only.
Application specification
Applications can be used to specify white toner. This
function is for PS printer drivers only.
Order of
superposition
Printing white on the color
Printing by overlaying white toner on cyan, magenta,
yellow, and black toner.
Printing white under the color
Printing by overlaying white toner under cyan, magenta,
yellow, and black toner.
White size adjustment *
Finely adjust the print size in white when printing in
"Printing white under the color".
Enter the degree of shrinkage of white for other colors.
Flip horizontally
Printing by reversing the horizontal orientation.
*: This is a function added to Mac OS X PS printer driver version 1.0.3 or later.
This is available when combined with firmware version A01.07_0_4 or later.
See "Adjusting the print position for spot color overprint (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only)" (P.29) for
details.
- 17 -
Printer driver functions table
With clear toner mounted (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only)
Using Windows PS printer drivers
Click [Spot Color] in the [Color] tab to display the window for setting the Spot Color toner.
Item
Explanation
Usage Methods
Do not use
Print without using clear toner.
Full page
Using clear toner on whole printed pages.
Data portion (Excluding white)
Using clear toner in the data portions excluding the
white portions.
Data portion (Including white)
Using clear toner in the data portions including the white
portions.
Printing only spot color toner
Printing using the clear toner only.
Application specification
Applications can be used to specify clear toner. This
function is for PS printer drivers only.
Special
Mirror Print
Printing by reversing the horizontal orientation.
- 18 -
Printer driver functions table
Using Windows PCL printer drivers
Click the [Spot Color] tab to display the window for setting the Spot Color toner.
Item
Explanation
Usage methods
Do not use
Print without using clear toner.
Full page
Using clear toner on whole printed pages.
Data portion (Excluding white)
Using clear toner in the data portions excluding the
white portions.
Data portion (Including white)
Using clear toner in the data portions including the white
portions.
Printing only spot color toner
Printing using the clear toner only.
Watermarks/Overlays
Print the selected Watermarks/Overlays with clear toner.
Speciality
Mirror Print
Printing by reversing the horizontal orientation.
- 19 -
Printer driver functions table
Using Windows XPS printer drivers
Click [Spot Color] in the [Color] tab to display the window for setting the Spot color toner.
Item
Explanation
Usage methods
Do not use
Print without using clear toner.
Full page
Using clear toner on whole printed pages.
Data portion (Excluding white)
Using clear toner in the data portions excluding the
white portions.
Data portion (Including white)
Using clear toner in the data portions including the white
portions.
Printing only spot color toner
Printing using the clear toner only.
Speciality
Mirror Print
Printing by reversing the horizontal orientation.
- 20 -
Printer driver functions table
Using Mac OS X PS printer drivers
Click the [Spot Color] panel to display the window for setting the Spot Color toner.
Item
Explanation
Usage methods
Do not use
Print without using clear toner.
Full page
Using clear toner on whole printed pages.
Data portion (Excluding white)
Using clear toner in the data portions excluding the
white portions.
Data portion (Including white)
Using clear toner in the data portions including the white
portions.
Prints only spot color toner
Printing using the clear toner only.
Application specification
Applications can be used to specify clear toner. This
function is for PS printer drivers only.
Mirror Print
Printing by reversing the horizontal orientation.
- 21 -
Printing on color paper
z
z Printing on color paper
Color papers that can be
used
Use color paper that satisfies the following
conditions.
z
z Pigments used to color the paper or ink that is
heat-resistant at 230ºC.
z
z E-photo printer paper with the same paper
characteristics as plain paper
Printing using white toner
only
Printing text and illustrations using only white
toner on color paper.
Before printing, check that white toner has been
mounted to the device, and that white toner has
been selected using the printer drivers.
Note
z
z Plain, recycled, and glossy under GSM 52 to 64g/m
2 (ream
weight under 45 to 55kg) are incompatible with Spot Color.
Memo
z
z For how to check the Spot Color toner selected using the
printer drivers, see "Checking the printer drivers" (P.11).
z
z Even if the cyan (blue), magenta (red), yellow toner
cartridge life has been reached, spot color printing can be
done by specifying "Print only with spot color".
(You cannot print if the black toner cartridge life is
reached.)
Using Windows PS printer drivers
1
Open the file to be printed.
2
Click [Page Setup] in the [File] menu.
3
Select the paper size and print
orientation, and click [OK].
4
Select [Print] in the [File] menu.
5
Click [Advanced] (or [Properties]).
6
Use [Paper Source] in the [Paper/
Quality] tab to select the tray to be
used.
7
Use [Media] to select the paper type to
be used, and click [Advanced].
8
Select suitable values from [Media
Weight] using the [Advanced Options]
screen, and click [OK].
- 22 -
Printing on color paper
9
Click [Spot Color] in the [Color] tab.
10
Select [Printing only spot color toner] in
[Usage Methods], and click [OK].
11
Click [OK] to return to the [Print]
screen.
12
Click [Print] in the [Print] screen to
print.
Using Windows PCL printer drivers
1
Open the file to be printed.
2
Click [Page Setup] in the [File] menu.
3
Select the paper size and print
orientation, and click [OK].
4
Select [Print] in the [File] menu.
5
Click [Advanced] (or [Properties]).
6
Use [Paper Source] in the [Setup] tab
to select the tray to be used.
7
Use [Media Type] to select the paper
type to be used.
8
Select suitable values using [Media
Weight].
9
Click the [Spot Color] tab.
10
Select [Prints only spot color toner] in
[Usage methods], and click [OK].
11
Click [Print] in the [Print] screen to
print.
- 23 -
Printing on color paper
Using Windows XPS printer drivers
1
Open the file to be printed.
2
Click [Page Setup] in the [File] menu.
3
Select the paper size and print
orientation, and click [OK].
4
Select [Print] in the [File] menu.
5
Click [Advanced] (or [Properties]).
6
Use [Paper Source] in the [Setup] tab
to select the tray to be used.
7
Use [Media Type] to select the paper
type to be used.
8
Select suitable values using [Media
Weight].
9
Click [Auto Color] in the [Color] tab.
10
Select [Printing only spot color toner] in
[Usage Methods], and click [OK].
11
Click [OK] to return to the [Print]
screen.
12
Click [Print] in the [Print] screen to
print.
- 24 -
Printing on color paper
Using Mac OS X Printer Drivers
1
Open the file to be printed.
2
Click [Page Setup] in the [File] menu.
3
Select the paper size and print
orientation using the page setup dialog
box, and click [OK].
4
Select [Print] in the [File] menu.
5
Use the [Source] panel to select the
tray to be used.
6
Click the [Feed] tab in the [Print
Options] panel, and select suitable
values using [Media Type] and [Media
Weight].
7
Select [Prints only spot color toner] in
[Usage Methods] in the [Spot Color]
panel.
8
Click [Print] to print.
Printing white under color
If printing on color paper in C941/ES9541/
Pro9541, you can print the base using white
toner, and then overprint using colors (CMYK).
In C942/ES9542/Pro9542, white toner is always
printed under the colors (CMYK).
Note
z
z This function cannot be used with envelopes or postcards
(except for Japanese Double Postcards and 4-Ren Hagaki).
z
z This function cannot be used with GSM under 52 to 64g/m
2
(ream weight under 45 to 55kg), or paper with GSM 321
to 360g/m
2 (ream weight 256 to 309kg).
z
z Custom size is compatible with papers with widths from
99.0 to 330.0mm, and lengths from 180 to 457mm.
z
z Clear toner is not compatible with this function.
Using Windows PS printer drivers
1
Open the file to be printed.
2
Click [Page Setup] in the [File] menu.
3
Select the paper size and print
orientation, and click [OK].
4
Select [Print] in the [File] menu.
5
Click [Advanced] (or [Properties]).
6
Use [Paper Source] in the [Paper/
Quality] tab to select the tray to be
used.
7
Use [Media] to select the paper type to
be used, and click [Advanced].
8
Select suitable values from [Media
Weight] using the [Advanced Options]
screen, and click [OK].
- 25 -
Printing on color paper
9
Click [Spot Color] in the [Color] tab.
10
Select [Data portion (Including white)]
in [Usage Methods].
11
Select [Printing white under the color] in
[Order of superposition], and click [OK].
12
Click [OK] to return to the [Print] screen.
13
Click [Print] in the [Print] screen to print.
Using Windows PCL printer drivers
1
Open the file to be printed.
2
Click [Page Setup] in the [File] menu.
3
Select the paper size and print
orientation, and click [OK].
4
Select [Print] in the [File] menu.
5
Click [Advanced] (or [Properties]).
6
Use [Paper Source] in the [Setup] tab
to select the tray to be used.
7
Use [Media Type] to select the paper
type to be used.
8
Select suitable values using [Media
Weight].
9
Click the [Spot Color] tab.
10
Select [Data portion (Including white)]
in [Usage methods].
- 26 -
Printing on color paper
11
Select [Printing white under the color]
in [Order of superposition], and click
[OK].
12
Click [Print] in the [Print] screen to
print.
Using Windows XPS printer drivers
1
Open the file to be printed.
2
Click [Page Setup] in the [File] menu.
3
Select the paper size and print
orientation, and click [OK].
4
Select [Print] in the [File] menu.
5
Click [Advanced] (or [Properties]).
6
Use [Paper Source] in the [Setup] tab
to select the tray to be used.
7
Use [Media Type] to select the paper
type to be used.
8
Select suitable values using [Media
Weight].
9
Click [Spot Color] in the [Color] tab.
- 27 -
Printing on color paper
10
Select [Data portion (Including white)]
in [Usage Methods].
11
Select [Printing white under the color]
in [Order of superposition], and click
[OK].
12
Click [OK] to return to the [Print]
screen.
13
Click [Print] in the [Print] screen to
print.
Using Mac OS X Printer Drivers
1
Open the file to be printed.
2
Click [Page Setup] in the [File] menu.
3
Select the paper size and print
orientation using the page setup dialog
box, and click [OK].
4
Select [Print] in the [File] menu.
5
Use the [Source] panel to select the
tray to be used.
6
Click the [Feed] tab in the [Print
Options] panel, and select suitable
values using [Media Type] and [Media
Weight].
7
Select [Data portion (Including white)]
in [Usage Methods] in the [Spot Color]
panel.
- 28 -
Printing on color paper
8
Select [Printing white under the color]
in [Order of superposition] in the [Spot
Color] panel.
9
Click [Print] to print.
- 29 -
Printing on color paper
Adjusting the print position for spot color overprint
(C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only)
When printing white under the color in C941/ES9541/Pro9541, misalignment or shrinkage may occur depending
on the paper in use. In this case, adjust the registration and image size by following the procedure below.
In C942/ES9542/Pro9542, white toner is always printed under the color toner (CMYK) without spot color overprint.
Note
z
z The adjustment of image size can be done when printer driver version 1.0.3 or later and firmware version A01.07_0_4 or later
is combined.
z
z You can check the version of Windows PS/PCL/XPS printer driver by clicking the [Version Information] button in the setting
screen.
z
z You can check the version of Mac OS X PS printer driver by opening [System Preferences] > [Print and Scan] > [Option and
Supply] from the Apple menu and going to the [General] tab > [Driver Version].
z
z You can check the version of the firmware by selecting [Printer Information] > [System Information] > [Firmware Version]
from the control panel menu.
Reference
z
z To locate the button of [Version Information] on the printer driver setup screen, refer to the "List of Printer
Driver Features" in the C941 User's Manual "Advanced".
Adjusting Registration and Image
Size
Note
z
z Misalignment or shrinkage of image size differs depending
on the paper and paper tray. Please use the paper and
paper tray that you will use in actual printing for test
print.
1
Set the paper in the paper tray.
2
Set the paper tray you are using in
[Paper Feed Tray] from the control
panel.
(1) Press the [Fn] key, [8], [0], and
press the [OK] button.
(2) Select the paper tray you want to
use, and press the [OK] button.
3
Set the paper weight, paper size, and
paper type of the paper you want to
use using the control panel.
4
Press the scroll button
or
.
5
Select [Print Information], and press
the [OK] button.
6
Select [Test Print-3], and press the [OK]
button.
- 30 -
Printing on color paper
7
In the test result, compare the degree
of misalignment between the black and
white lines in the center.
0.5mm
0.75mm
Paper
operation
direction
10mm
Memo
z
z If the black line is hard to read, use a color easy to read
to adjust the white line misalignment.
8
Adjust the registration of black lines to
the white lines.
The following figure illustrates a case
where deviation occurs.
(1) Check that 0.75 mm is adjusted
in the direction of X (+) and 0.05
mm in Y (-) based on the following
direction adjustment figure.
Memo
z
z For this example, adjustment of +0.75mm for X
direction and -0.5mm for Y direction are necessary.
Registration
adjustment
diagram
-0.5mm +0.75mm
10mm
(2) Press the [Fn] key.
The numerical values input screen
will be displayed.
(3) Enter the function number of the
paper feed tray to be set.
z
z For the multi-purpose tray
Press the function number [2], [2], [0],
and press the [OK] button.
z
z For Tray1
Press the function number [2], [2], [1],
and press the [OK] button.
Memo
z
z The function numbers for trays 2 to 5 are described
below.
–
–
For Tray 2
Press the [Fn] key, [2], [2], [2], and [OK].
–
–
For Tray 3
Press the [Fn] key, [2], [2], [3], and [OK].
–
–
For Tray 4
Press the [Fn] key, [2], [2], [4], and [OK].
–
–
For Tray 5
Press the [Fn] key, [2], [2], [5], and [OK].
- 31 -
Printing on color paper
(4) Select [Overprint X Adjust], and
press the [OK] button.
(5) Set the X direction adjustment
value verified in step 8-(1) by
pressing the scroll button
or
,
and then press the [OK] button.
Memo
z
z The adjustment range is from -2.00 mm to +2.00
mm in the step of 0.25 mm.
(6) Press the [BACK] button.
(7) Press the scroll button
or
,
select [Overprint Y Adjust], and
press the [OK] button.
Memo
z
z The adjustment range is from -2.00 mm to +2.00
mm in the step of 0.25 mm.
(8) Set the Y direction adjustment
value verified in step 8-(1) by
pressing the scroll button
or
,
and then press the [OK] button.
(9) Press the [ONLINE] button.
9
Check the degree of shrinkage of white
image size of color image from the print
result of Step 6 (Test Print 3).
(1) Select both outermost black lines
from among the lines along the
direction of the paper.
X-Direction
Paper
operation
direction
(2) Measure the black line interval
and the corresponding white line
interval, and work out the shrinking
percentage of X-direction by using
the following formula.
"White line interval ÷ Black line
interval"
White line interval: 238.3mm
Black line interval: 239.8mm
238.3 ÷ 239.8 = 99.37% :
Shrinking percentage of X-direction
- 32 -
Printing on color paper
(3) Select the two black lines
separated as much as possible
from among the lines intersecting
the direction of the paper.
Paper
operation
direction
Y-Direction
(4) Measure the black line interval
and the corresponding white line
interval, and work out the shrinking
percentage of Y-direction.
Black line interval:
160.0mm
White line interval:
159.2mm
159.2 ÷ 160.0 = 99.50% :
Shrinking percentage of Y-direction
Memo
z
z If the black line is hard to read, use the white line
that corresponds to the line of color easy to read (the
two lines must be of the same color).
10
Open the file to be printed.
11
Select [Print] in the [File] menu.
12
Click [Advanced] (or [Preferences]).
13
Specify the shrinking percentage of
X-direction as adjusted value of X,
shrinking percentage of Y-direction as
adjusted value of Y (Calculated in Step
9) in [White size adjustment] of [Order
of superposition] in the Spot Color toner
setting screen of the printer driver.
Memo
z
z The adjustment range is from 99.00% to 100.00% in the
step of 0.01%.
z
z [White Size Adjustment] can only be specified when [Print
White Under The Color] is enabled.
z
z Windows PS printer driver screen is used as an example.
Reference
z
z To display the Spot Color toner setting
screen for each printer driver, refer to the
"Printer driver functions table" (P.13).
14
Print out the opened file, and check the
print result.
15
If misalignment of registration is not
resolved, readjust following Step 8
based on the print result of Step 14.
Memo
z
z If the misalignment is not resolved after performing the
adjustment several times, use the setting value with the
fewest misalignment.
- 33 -
Printing on color paper
Printing on color paper
Adjusting the White Image from
Application
By adjusting the file from the application, the
registration misalignment may not be noticeable.
If the misalignment is not fixed after adjusting
the position and size, adjust the white image
with the application. Adobe Illustrator will be
used as an example for the adjustment method.
1
Open the data with white misalignment.
2
Create a new layer. Name the layer
"SpotColor", and create this at the top.
3
Open the swatch window, and click the
"New Swatch" button.
Enter [SpotColor_White] as its name,
and select [Spot Color] for the color
type.
Note
z
z Please enter the name as given above. White toner will
not be recognized if you make a mistake in the entries.
4
Copy the object to be filled with spot
color white to the "SpotColor" layer.
5
Select the copied object, and set the
fill to "SpotColor_White:100%" and the
border to "SpotColor_White:0%".
For outlines, select "Object" > "Path" >
"Path Outline", and set the fill and
border after it been changed to Object.
6
Open the attribute window, and select
[Overprint Fill] and [Overprint Stroke].
7
Select [File] > [Print].
8
Go to [Printer], and select [OKI C941
(PS)].
9
Go to [Advanced] > [Overprints], and
select [Simulate].
10
Click [Setup].
- 34 -
Printing on color paper
11
Click [Preferences].
12
Go to the [Color] tab, and click [Spot
Color].
13
Go to [Usage Methods] and select
[Application specification], and select
[Printing white under the color] for the
order of superposition.
14
Click [OK] to print.
- 35 -
Printing on transparent film
z
z Printing on transparent film
Before printing, check that white toner has been mounted to the device, and that white toner has been
selected using the printer drivers.
Memo
z
z For how to check the Spot Color toner selected using the printer drivers, see "Checking the printer drivers" (P.11).
Transparent films that can
be used
Use transparent film that satisfies the following
conditions.
z
z Recommended media: OKI TRANSPARENCY
FILM
A4Nobi (OKI Color Page Printer Paper,
Model Name: PPR-SW4AEB)
A3Nobi (OKI Color Page Printer Paper,
Model name: PPR-SW3AEB)
Setting the media weight in the printer
driver: [OKITRANSFILM]
When setting from the control panel:
Media weight: Auto
Paper type: OKITRANSFILM
z
z Transparent film used in e-photo printers or
dry PPC.
z
z Film that is heat-resistant to 230ºC.
z
z Paper of width 210mm min.
z
z Thoroughly test the print quality and paper
traction beforehand, and check that there are
no impediments before use.
z
z If you set the media type to [OKITRANSFILM]
and print on paper other than excellent
transparent films, thoroughly test the print
quality and paper traction beforehand, and
check that there are no impediments before
use.
Note
z
z Do not use shrink film for soft packaging printing.
z
z Light film may have poor absorption, multiple feeding, and
paper jams.
z
z It is possible that staining will occur on the OKI
TRANSPARENCY FILM.
Setting transparent film in
the device
Note
z
z Excellent clear film cannot be set in Tray 1 or an
additionally provided tray (Option).
1
Open the multi-purpose tray (
)
towards you.
2
Open the auxiliary supporter (
).
- 36 -
Printing on transparent film
3
Pull the setting lever (
) on the right
side of the paper supporter (
) towards
you.
4
Adjust the paper guide (
) to the width
of the paper that has been set.
5
Set the paper so the indentation mark
of the transparent film is positioned as
shown in the diagram.
Note
z
z Do not set the paper beyond the paper guide (
).
When using OKI TRANSPARENCY FILM
For A3 Nobi
For A4 Nobi
6
Adjust the paper guide to fit the width
of transparent film that has been set.
7
Release and return the setting lever (
)
to its original position.
- 37 -
Printing on transparent film
8
Press the [Fn] key.
The numerical values input screen will
be displayed.
9
Press [9] and [0], and press the [OK]
button.
10
Select the paper size, and press the
[OK] button.
Memo
z
z When using an A4 Nobi transparent film, select [A4
Wide
].
11
Check that
is displayed to the left of
the selected paper size, and press the
[BACK] button.
12
Select [Media Type], and press the [OK]
button.
13
Select [OKITRANSFILM], and press the
[OK] button. Check that
is displayed
to the left of [OKITRANSFILM].
14
Press the [ONLINE] button to return to
the standby screen.
- 38 -
Printing on transparent film
Preparing output destination
of transparent films
Transparent films will be output to the face-up
stacker.
Note
z
z Multiple excellent transparent films cannot be stacked in
the face-up stacker. Remove each printed transparent film
after it is output, and then start the next print.
1
Open the face-up stacker (
) located
on the left side of the device.
2
Open the paper supporter (
) as
shown in the diagram.
3
Rotate the auxiliary supporter (
) in
the direction of the arrow into the lock
position.
Mirror reverse printing
If printing on transparent film, print in the order
color (CMYK) and then white, and print using
mirror reverse for correct appearance when
turned over.
Using Windows PS printer drivers
1
Open the file to be printed.
2
Click [Page Setup] in the [File] menu.
3
Select the paper size and print
orientation, and click [OK].
4
Select [Print] in the [File] menu.
5
Click [Advanced] (or [Properties]).
6
Select [Stacker (Face-up)] from [Output
Bin] in the [Job Options] tab.
7
Select [Multi-Purpose Tray] in [Paper
Source] in the [Paper/Quality] tab.
8
Select [OKITRANSFILM] in [Media].
- 39 -
Printing on transparent film
9
Click [Spot Color] in the [Color] tab.
10
Select [Data portion (Including white)]
in [Usage Methods].
11
Select [Printing white on the color] in
[Order of superposition].
12
For reverse printing, enable [Mirror
Print], and click [OK].
13
Click [OK] to return to the [Print]
screen.
14
Click [Print] in the [Print] screen to
print.
Using Windows PCL printer drivers
1
Open the file to be printed.
2
Click [Page Setup] in the [File] menu.
3
Select the paper size and print
orientation, and click [OK].
4
Select [Print] in the [File] menu.
5
Click [Advanced] (or [Properties]).
6
Select [Stacker (Face-up)] from [Output
Bin] in the [Job Options] tab.
7
Select [Multipurpose Tray] in [Source]
in the [Setup] tab.
8
Select [OKITRANSFILM] in [Type].
9
Click the [Spot Color] tab.
10
Select [Data portion (Including white)]
in [Usage methods].
11
Select [Printing white on the color] in
[Order of superposition].
- 40 -
Printing on transparent film
12
For reverse printing, enable [Mirror
Print], and click [OK].
13
Click [Print] in the [Print] screen to
print.
Using Windows XPS printer drivers
1
Open the file to be printed.
2
Click [Page Setup] in the [File] menu.
3
Select the paper size and print
orientation, and click [OK].
4
Select [Print] in the [File] menu.
5
Click [Advanced] (or [Properties]).
6
Select [Stacker (Face-up)] from [Output
Bin] in the [Job Options] tab.
7
Select [Multipurpose Tray] in [Source]
in the [Setup] tab.
8
Select [OKITRANSFILM] in [Type].
- 41 -
Printing on transparent film
9
Click [Spot Color] in the [Color] tab.
10
Select [Data portion (Including white)]
in [Usage Methods].
11
Select [Printing white on the color] in
[Order of superposition].
12
For reverse printing, enable [Mirror
Print], and click [OK].
13
Click [OK] to return to the [Print]
screen.
14
Click [Print] in the [Print] screen to
print.
Using Mac OS X Printer Drivers
1
Open the file to be printed.
2
Click [Page Setup] in the [File] menu.
3
Select the paper size and print
orientation using the page setup dialog
box, and click [OK].
4
Select [Print] in the [File] menu.
5
Select [Multipurpose Tray] in the
[Source] panel.
6
Select [Stacker (Face-up)] from [Output
Bin] in the [Paper] tab of the [Print
Options] panel.
7
Click the [Feed] tab in the [Print
Options] panel, and select
[OKITRANSFILM] in [Media Type].
8
Select [Data portion (Including white)]
in [Usage Methods] in the [Spot Color]
panel.
9
Select [Printing white on the color] in
[Order of superposition] in the [Spot
Color] panel.
- 42 -
Printing on transparent film
10
For reverse printing, enable [Flip
horizontally].
11
Click [Print] to print.
- 43 -
Printing by using applications to specify Spot Color toner (PS printer drivers only)
z
z Printing by using applications to specify Spot
Color toner (PS printer drivers only)
Using Illustrator
This explanation uses Illustrator CS6 as an
example.
Adding Swatches
If using Spot Color (white or clear), specify the
swatches added for the objects to be Spot Color
printed.
1
Open the swatch panel, and select new
swatch.
2
Enter the name in [Swatch Name] as
shown below.
For white toner: SpotColor_White
For clear toner: SpotColor_Clear
3
Select [Spot Color] in [Color Type].
Printing
If printing Spot Color, make the settings using
the application print dialog box.
1
Click [Advanced] from the menu on the
left of the print dialog box.
2
Select [Simulate] in [Overprints].
3
Click [Print].
- 44 -
Printing by using applications to specify Spot Color toner (PS printer drivers only)
Using Windows
(1) Select Windows PS printer
drivers, and click [Advanced] (or
[Properties]).
(2) Click [Spot Color] in the [Color]
tab.
(3) Select [Application specification] in
[Usage Methods], and click [OK].
(4) Implement printing.
Using Macintosh
(1) Select the [Spot Color] panel.
(2) Select [Application specification] in
[Usage Methods], and click [Print].
(3) Implement printing.
Using Photoshop
This explanation uses Photoshop CS6 as an
example.
Adding Spot Color Channels
If using Spot Color (white or clear), specify the
Spot Color channels added for the objects to be
Spot Color printed.
1
Open the channel panel, and select a
new Spot Color channel.
2
Enter the name in [Name] as shown
below.
For white: SpotColor_White
For clear: SpotColor_Clear
Saving in PDF Format
Spot Color printing directly from Photoshop
is not possible, so initially save the file in PDF
format.
- 45 -
Printing by using applications to specify Spot Color toner (PS printer drivers only)
Printing
1
Open the file that has been saved in
PDF format using Acrobat or Adobe
Reader.
2
Select [File]-[Print] to open the print
dialog box.
3
Click [Advanced].
4
Select [Color] from the menu on the
left of the print dialog box, and select
[Simulate overprint]. (If using Adobe
Reader, click [Advanced], and then
select [Simulate overprint].)
5
Click [OK] to return to the print dialog
box.
Using Windows
1
Select Windows PS printer drivers, and click
[Advanced] (or [Properties]).
2
Click [Spot Color] in the [Color] tab.
3
Select [Application specification] in
[Usage Methods].
4
Implement printing.
Using Macintosh
1
Select the [Spot Color] panel.
2
Select [Application specification] in
[Usage Methods].
3
Implement printing.
- 46 -
Fine-tuning the white gradation
z
z Fine-tuning the white gradation
Finely adjust the shade for each white highlight, dark, mid-tone gradation using the printer control
panel.
Memo
z
z Displayed when using white toner.
This section explains the procedure for slightly
darkening the white highlights.
1
Press the scroll button
or
.
2
Select [Calibration], and press the [OK]
button.
3
Select [White Tuning], and press the
[OK] button.
4
Select [Highlight], and press the [OK]
button.
5
For the white highlight value, specify a
larger value than the current set value,
and press the [OK] button. Check
that
is displayed to the left of the specified
value.
Memo
z
z Increase the value to darken, and lower the value to
lighten.
6
Press the [ON LINE] button to return to
the standby screen.
- 47 -
Replacing Spot Color kits (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only)
z
z Replacing Spot Color kits (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only)
Note
z
z For C942/ES9542/Pro9542, it is not possible to exchange
the Spot Color kit.
WARNING
•
• Do not throw toner, toner cartridge or
spot color duct in fire. Toner may fly
off causing burn injury.
•
• Do not store toner cartridge or spot
color duct in a place with fire. It may
catch fire causing fire damage or burn
injury.
•
• Do not clean up spilled toner using an
electric vacuum cleaner. When spilled
toner is cleaned up using an electric
vacuum cleaner, there is a risk of
fire due to sparks from the electrical
contacts. Wipe off and remove the
toner spilled on the floor using a wet
cloth.
CAUTION
•
• There are high temperature parts
in side the device. Do not touch
near the places with "Caution: High
Temperature" label. It may cause burn
injury.
•
• Keep the toner cartridge or spot color
duct away from children's reach.
If children drink toner cartridge by
mistake, immediately consult the
physician.
•
• When toner is inhaled, gargle with a
lot of water and move the person to a
place with fresh air. Consult a physician
as necessary.
•
• When there is toner on skin of hands
etc., wash it off with liquid soap.
•
• If toner gets into eyes, immediately
wash it off with a large quantity
of water. Consult a physician as
necessary.
•
• When toner is swallowed, dilute the
toner by drinking a large quantity
of water. Consult a physician as
necessary.
•
• When solving paper jam or replacing
toner cartridge or spot color duct, be
careful that your hands and clothes
are not stained with toner. When
there is toner on skin of hands etc.,
wash it off with liquid soap.
•
• When clothes are stained with toner,
wash them in cold water. Heating it
such as washing in hot water will dye
the toner on clothes, and it stains
may not remove easily.
•
• Do not disassemble or forcibly open
the toner cartridge or spot color duct.
It may scatter the toner, which people
may inhale or may stain clothes and
hand.
•
• Store the used toner cartridge or spot
color duct in a bag so that toner does
not scatter.
•
• If toner is spilled on the floor, wipe
it up carefully using a damp cloth to
prevent the toner from scattering.
- 48 -
Replacing Spot Color kits (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only)
This section explains the procedure for replacing Spot Color white kits and Spot Color clear kits. This
section explains the procedure for replacing Spot Color clear kits from Spot Color white kits.
1
Press and hold the power switch for
approx. 1s.
2
Turn the main power supply switch to
the OFF (O) position to turn OFF the
power supply.
3
Open the toner replacement cover.
4
Remove the white toner.
5
Close the toner replacement cover.
6
Open the front cover.
- 49 -
Replacing Spot Color kits (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only)
7
Gently lift up the (blue) handle, and
remove the image drum while taking
care not to touch the bottom of the
drum (i.e., the green cylinder) with
your hands.
Note
z
z To prevent photodegredation of the image drum, do not
leave in direct sunlight or fluorescent light.
z
z Be careful not to touch or scratch the image drum (green
cylinder).
z
z If the toner feed area for the spot color image drum needs
cleaning, wipe it off with a tissue. (Check that no toner
spills onto the drum.)
8
Close the front cover.
9
Lift up and remove the white duct.
- 50 -
Replacing Spot Color kits (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only)
10
Remove the duct for the Spot Color
clear kit to be mounted from its box.
11
Open the front cover.
12
Mount the clear duct to the printer.
13
Close the front cover.
- 51 -
Replacing Spot Color kits (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only)
14
Remove the clear drum to be mounted
from its bag.
Note
z
z Be careful not to touch or scratch the image drum (green
cylinder).
15
Remove the stopper (orange).
16
Align the (red) arrows on the image
drum and printer, and insert gently
into the slot while taking care not to
touch the (green) light sensor on the
underside with your hands, and then
push in firmly as far as it will go.
Note
z
z Be careful not to touch or scratch the image drum (green
cylinder).
17
Close the front cover.
- 52 -
Replacing Spot Color kits (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only)
18
Remove the clear toner to be mounted
from its bag.
19
Shake the toner cartridge up and down,
and side to side.
Note
z
z Do not drop the toner cartridge or tap it against the
floor. Doing so may damage the cartridge.
20
Open the toner replacement cover.
21
Check the position of the slot, and
firmly push in the clear toner as far as
it will go.
22
Close the toner replacement cover.
- 53 -
Replacing Spot Color kits (C941/ES9541/Pro9541 only)
23
Place the removed white toner, white
duct, and white image drum in the bag
before placing the bag in the box for
storage.
24
Turn ON (I) the main power switch.
25
Press and hold the power switch for
approx. 1s.
26
Press the [OK] button.
Memo
z
z Run a test print and check that [Admin Setup] > [Color
Setup] > [Spot Color] is set to the same details as the
installed toner. For how to conduct a test print, see “Test
Printing Using the Printer Only" in the User's Manual
(Basic).
Oki Data Corporation
4-11-22 Shibaura, Minato-ku,Tokyo
108-8551, Japan
August 2015
45602302EE Rev6