Apple iMac (Summer 2000) Operation & User’s Manual
Read Online
Read the Apple iMac (Summer 2000) Operation & User’s Manual online using the built-in PDF viewer.
Text of the manual
Once you’ve set up your iMac and followed the onscreen
guide to connect to the Internet, what’s next? In this
booklet you’ll find more information to help you get the
most out of your iMac:
2 Features
4 Basics
6 Internet and email
14 Desktop video
18 Productivity
20 Learning more
and solving problems
26 Installing memory and an AirPort Card
28 Ergonomics and safety
What can my iMac do?
Your computer has these built-in features:
f Headphone ports
CD-ROM or
DVD-ROM drive
Install software, use
applications, and listen to
music CDs. If your computer
has a DVD drive, you can
also play DVD videos.
Two internal
stereo speakers
® Power button
Turn your computer on
or put it to sleep.
Microphone
CD/DVD eject
Eject a CD or DVD from
your keyboard.
Hot function keys
Set the keyboard function keys
to automatically open your Web
browser, email application, or
other favorite application.
Volume controls
Apple Pro Mouse
An optical mouse you
can use on almost
any surface
(on some models)
Transfer video from
a DV camera. Connect
external hard disk drives,
printers, and scanners.
Modem
Connect to the Internet,
browse the World Wide
Web, and send email.
Ethernet
Share files with another
computer and access
a computer network,
printer, or the Internet.
USB
Connect printers, Zip
and other disk drives,
digital cameras, joysticks,
and more.
Access door
Install additional memory
and an AirPort Card (on
some models) for wireless
networking.
VGA output
(on some models)
Connect an external
monitor or television for
video mirroring.
Reset button
Use during troubleshooting
to restart your computer.
Sound input
Record sounds using
an analog microphone
or other audio device.
Sound output
Connect headphones,
external speakers, and
analog audio devices.
Use this for
convenient access to
often-used settings.
Application menu
Click here to switch
between open applications.
Remote Access
Use this Control Strip button
to connect to and disconnect
from the Internet.
Disc
This appears when a
CD or DVD is in the disc
drive. Double-click the
icon to see what’s on
the disc. Drag the
disc’s icon to the Trash
to eject it.
Apple menu
Use this to select
often-used applications
and tools. To see the
menu, click the apple ()
in the menu bar.
Trash
Drag items here to
delete them. Items remain
here until you choose
Empty Trash from the
Special menu.
What are the basics?
The Macintosh desktop is your starting place.
. For a quick tutorial on mouse and
desktop skills, choose Mac Tutorials
from the Help menu.
Window close box
Click this to close
a window.
Hard disk
All of your files and
applications are kept here.
Double-click the icon to
open it.
Folder
Folders help
organize your files
and applications.
Double-click
a folder to open it.
Document
Documents are files that you create with
an application (such as a letter you
create with your word processor).
Double-click the icon to open the file in
the application used to create it.
Application
Applications are software programs
(such as a game or word processor)
that you use with your computer.
Double-click an application’s icon
to open the application.
How do I find something on the Internet?
If you know the Internet address, you can go there directly.
61
Double-click
“Browse the Internet”
to open your Web browser.
2
Type the Internet address
and press Return on
your keyboard.
Type what you want to find and
click the Search button (
). Then
double-click an item in the list of sites.
. Click the other buttons to find people,
read the news, shop, and more.
Or you can search the Internet with Sherlock 2.
1
Choose Search Internet
from the File menu.
How can I get started on the World Wide Web?
These Apple Web sites will help you get the most out of your computer.
www.apple.com/support
Product support, software updates, and
technical information
. From these Web sites you can quickly
link to other Apple Web sites around
the world.
www.apple.com/store
Purchase the latest Apple hardware,
software, and accessories.
www.apple.com/guide
For great hardware and software
products for your Mac, check this
Web site or look for the Mac symbol.
Send customized electronic postcards
to your friends and family.
www.apple.com/hotnews
The latest Apple news and events, software
updates for your Mac, and QuickTime hot picks
www.apple.com/ireview
Reviews of hundreds of Web sites: movies,
finance, shopping, sports, and more
What can I do with iTools?
iTools is a new class of Internet services created for Mac users.
iDisk
Your own 20 MB of storage on
Apple’s Internet server. Share
photos, movies, and other files over
the Internet. Create personalized
iCards using photos on your iDisk.
Email
Get your own Mac.com email
address. It’s easy and works with
your favorite email programs.
KidSafe
Make the Internet a safer place
for your kids. KidSafe gives them
access to more than 75,000
educator-approved Web sites,
and blocks the rest.
HomePage
Build a personal Web site in
three easy steps. Create a photo
album, publish an iMovie, post your
resumé, and more. Now anyone can
view your page on the Internet.
Follow the simple instructions
to sign up for a free account.
. If you signed up with EarthLink and got
a Mac.com email address using the Setup
Assistant when you first turned on your
computer, you already have an iTools
account. Go to www.apple.com/itools and
enter your member name and password.
1
Go to www.apple.com/itools
and click the Free Sign Up button.
To learn more about iTools:
m
after you sign up for an account, go to www.apple.com/itools
and click Help on the iTools menu bar
11
To get started using iTools:
How do I use email?
Follow these steps to create and send a message:
1
Double-click the Mail icon
on the desktop to open your
email application.
. The first time you open the application,
a setup assistant helps you connect to
your email account.
. To check for new messages,
click the Send & Receive button.
To view a message, click its subject.
To create a new email message,
click the New button.
3
Type the email address and
a subject. Then type your
message and click Send Now.
How can I watch movies and videos?
Watch live video on the Internet using QuickTime TV.
2
Double-click the
QuickTime Player icon
on the desktop.
3
Pull the tab to open
the Favorites drawer.
Then click a channel.
. With QuickTime, you can
also watch movies you make with
iMovie, listen to MP3 music files,
and much more.
To learn more about QuickTime:
m
see QuickTime Help, available in the Help menu
m
go to www.apple.com/quicktime
1
Connect
to the Internet.
If your computer has a DVD drive, you can watch DVD video.
2
Use the controller to play
the movie or see the DVD’s
special features.
. To use the whole screen to watch the
movie, choose Present Video on Screen from
the Video menu.
. To learn more about the Apple DVD Player,
see Apple DVD Player Help, available in the
Help menu.
1
Insert a DVD video disc.
Then choose Apple DVD Player
from the Apple (K) menu.
How can I make a movie?
If your computer has FireWire, use iMovie 2.
2
In iMovie, bring in your video
clips, then edit and polish them
into movies.
To learn more about iMovie:
m
open the iMovie application, then go through
the tutorial, available in the Help menu
m
see iMovie Help, available in the Help menu
m
go to www.apple.com/imovie
to find compatible DV cameras
1
Shoot video with a digital video
camera. Then connect the DV camera
using a FireWire cable.
3
Export your finished movie
back to tape in your DV camera
or to a QuickTime file.
With iMovie 2, you can add music, voice-overs, titles, transitions, and more.
Editing buttons
Click these to open panels
for adjusting and selecting
sounds, video effects,
titles (text), and scene
transitions. Click the Clips
button to see the shelf.
iMovie monitor
Preview your movie or
view video directly
from a connected
DV camera.
Shelf
To make clips part of your
movie after you import
them, move them from the
shelf to the clip viewer.
Viewers
Click the clip viewer
(eye tab) to edit and place
clips. Click the timeline
viewer (clock tab) to
edit sound.
Mode switch
Use this to switch between
importing from a DV
camera and editing.
Scrubber bar
Use this to select sections of video.
Playback controls
Use these to play the movie
in the iMovie monitor. Click the
Play Full Screen button to
use the entire screen.
What can I do with AppleWorks?
Use AppleWorks for writing, drawing, making presentations, and more.
18
Layout capabilities
Add photos, tables,
charts, and sidebars.
Link text frames, layer
graphics, and wrap text.
Word processing
Write letters, create
brochures, make
greeting cards and
party invitations.
Presentation tool
Create an onscreen slide
presentation. Add movies,
art, graphs, and charts.
Database
Keep records, save
addresses, make
inventories. Merge mailing
information with the
word processor to send
form letters.
Customizable
templates
Choose from a wide
range of predesigned
documents and modify
them as needed.
Spreadsheet
Compute data easily
using over 100 built-in
functions, then use
formatting options to
make it stand out.
Painting
Create art from scratch
or apply effects to
existing pictures
or scanned photos.
Extensive
clip art libraries
Choose from over
25,000 high-quality
clip art images.
To get started using AppleWorks:
1
Open AppleWorks,
in the Applications folder
on your hard disk.
2
Click the type of document you want
to create, or click the Templates tab
to modify a ready-made document.
. Click the Web tab to download more templates
from the Internet.
To learn more about AppleWorks:
m
see AppleWorks Help, available in the Help menu
m
open the AppleWorks Getting Started file
(on your hard disk in the AppleWorks folder)
m
go to the AppleWorks Web site at
www.apple.com/appleworks
Where do I go to learn more?
Look in Mac Help for more information on using your computer.
2
Type a question and
click Search.
. If you don’t see Mac Help
in the Help menu, choose Finder
from the Application menu and
try again.
. You can browse through
information about your computer
by clicking one of the blue
underlined items in the window.
. If you want to look at all
of the Help available for
your computer, choose Help
Center from the Help menu.
1
Choose Mac Help
from the Help menu.
. Underlined items are links. When you click a link,
it will go to another Help topic, automatically do
something for you, or take you to more information
on the Internet.
3
Click an item in the list
of Help topics.
. If you didn’t find what you were
looking for, try rewording your question.
If you don’t find the answer to your problem
on the following pages:
Look in Mac Help.
m In Mac Help (see page 20), you can find a great deal of
troubleshooting advice, including information to help you solve
problems with
m Connecting to the Internet
m Using software installation and restore discs
m System performance
m Turning extensions off and on
m And more
m Choose Finder from the Application menu, then choose Mac Help
from the Help menu. Look at the section on preventing and solving
problems, or type the problem you’re having in the search window
(for example, type “I can’t eject a disc”) and click Search.
If the computer won’t respond or the
pointer won’t move:
First, make sure the mouse and keyboard are connected.
m Unplug and then plug in the connectors and make sure they
are secure.
Then try to cancel what the computer is doing.
m Press the Command (x) and period (.) keys at the same time.
If a dialog box appears, click Cancel.
m If that doesn’t work, hold down the Option and Command (x)
keys, then press the Esc key.
If the computer still doesn’t respond, restart it.
m Hold the Power button on the computer for several seconds. When
the computer turns off, press the Power button again to restart it.
m If that doesn’t work, press the Reset button (see page 3).
m If that doesn’t work, unplug the power cord from the computer.
Then plug the power cord back in and press the Power button on
the computer to turn it on.
Then do this:
If the problem occurs frequently when you use a
particular application:
m Check with the application’s manufacturer to see if it is compatible
with your computer.
If the problem occurs frequently:
m Choose Mac Help from the Help menu. Look at the section on how
to prevent and solve problems. You may need to check for
extension conflicts or reinstall your computer’s system software.
22
What if I have a problem?
If the computer “freezes” during startup
or you see a flashing question mark:
Turn off system extensions.
m Start up your computer while holding down the Shift key.
If that doesn’t work, start up using the software install CD.
m Insert your software install CD and start up while holding down
the C key. (Make sure the Caps Lock key is not engaged.)
Then do this:
After the computer starts up:
m Make sure that the hard disk that contains the System Folder is
selected in the Startup Disk control panel.
m Choose Mac Help from the Help menu. Look at the section on
how to prevent and solve problems. You may need to check for
extension conflicts or reinstall your computer’s system software.
If you notice that the background picture is different:
m You probably started up your computer using the system software
on a CD instead of your hard disk. If this is the only way that you
can start up your computer, reinstall the system software on your
hard disk. Look for instructions in Mac Help or use the Installer
application on your software install CD.
If the computer won’t turn on or start up:
First, make sure the power cord is connected.
m Make sure both ends of the power cord are plugged in securely.
Make sure the power cord is plugged into a working
electrical outlet.
m If your computer is plugged into a power strip, make sure the
power strip is turned on.
If that does not work, reset the computer’s PRAM memory.
m Start up the computer and immediately hold down the Command
(x), Option, P, and R keys until you hear the startup sound a
second time. After resetting PRAM, you may have to reset the
settings in some of your control panels.
If that doesn’t work, or if you hear several musical tones
during startup:
m If you recently installed additional memory, make sure that it is
correctly installed and that it is compatible with your computer.
m See the service and support information that came with your iMac
for information on having your computer serviced.
If your printer won’t respond
or work correctly:
Check all cables and connections.
m Make sure the printer is plugged into the computer and an
electrical outlet. Make sure the printer is turned on.
Make sure your computer is set up to use your printer.
m Install the software that came with your printer. See the
documentation that came with the printer for instructions.
m Choose the Chooser from the Apple menu and select your
printer. You may also need to select the specific printer in the
“Connect to” window.
If you can’t eject a CD or DVD:
Make sure the disc is not in use.
m Quit all applications that are using files on the disc.
m Then press the Eject key (
) at the top-right corner of the
keyboard.
m If that doesn’t work, drag the disc’s icon to the Trash.
m If that doesn’t work, restart the computer, then hold down the
mouse button. To restart, choose Restart from the Special menu.
If the disc still won’t eject, eject it manually:
m Locate the small emergency eject hole on the right side of the CD
or DVD drive slot. Carefully insert the end of a straightened paper
clip into the hole.
Important After ejecting a disc manually, restart the computer. You
must restart to enable the drive to eject discs.
If you have a problem with a USB device:
Make sure there isn’t a software conflict.
m Many USB devices work automatically with Apple’s USB software.
If you installed the software that came with the device, open the
Extensions Manager control panel and turn off the software
extensions that came with the device. Then restart your computer.
m If that doesn’t work, contact the manufacturer of the device
to make sure the device and software are compatible with
your computer.
If you have a problem with a third-party
software program:
Make sure the software is compatible with your version
of system software.
m See the documentation that came with the software. You can
check the version of system software you have by choosing
About This Computer from the Apple menu.
If you have a problem with your
dialup Internet connection:
First, make sure the telephone line is properly connected
to your computer.
m Wait a while, then try connecting again.
If that doesn’t work, make sure your Internet settings are
configured correctly.
m Choose Mac Help from the Help menu. There you can find out
how to locate and change your Internet settings.
m If you’re not sure of the correct information for your Internet
settings, contact your Internet service provider.
If the Apple Pro Mouse isn’t
responding properly:
First, make sure the mouse and keyboard are connected.
m Unplug and then plug in the connectors and make sure they
are secure.
If that doesn’t work, try using the mouse on another surface,
like a mouse pad or a notebook.
m Non-reflective, opaque surfaces without repetitive patterns
work best.
If you run out of room and want to keep the mouse clicked
while you lift it:
m Click the mouse, then squeeze the sides with your thumb and
fingers and lift the mouse.
If the mouse clicks too easily or not easily enough:
m Turn the ring on the bottom of the mouse to adjust the tension
of the click. Turn the ring to 1 for greater tension, 2 for medium
tension, or 3 for less tension.
For the latest troubleshooting information, go to the
Apple Support Web site at www.apple.com/support
25
How do I add memory and an AirPort Card?
For detailed instructions, refer to Mac Help (see page 20).
Before installing:
m
shut down the computer
m
unplug all cables, except the power cord
m
place the computer face down on a soft cloth
1
Open the access door using
a coin to turn the latch.
2
Touch the metal shield inside
the recessed latch area. Then
unplug the power cord.
. Touch this metal before you touch any
parts inside the computer. Don’t walk
around the room until you’ve finished
installing memory or an AirPort Card. 3
To install memory, insert
a memory module into one
of the two lower slots.
. Be sure to align the notches on the
module with the small notches inside
the slot.
To install an AirPort Card, detach
the antenna from the guide rail,
then remove the protective
plastic cap.
. You must have an AirPort-compatible
iMac to install an AirPort Card. If you don't
see the guide rail, your iMac is not
compatible with AirPort.
5
Connect the antenna firmly to
the AirPort Card and insert the
card sideways into the slot.
. For instructions on using the AirPort
software, look in the Help Center, available
in the Help menu.
6
Close the access door and use
a coin to close the latch.
. Never turn your computer on unless
all of its internal and external parts are
in place.
The guidelines in this section can help you work more comfortably
with your computer. For detailed information about ergonomics,
see Apple’s Environmental Health and Safety Web site at
www.apple.com/about/ergonomics
Keyboard
m When you use the computer keyboard, your shoulders should be
relaxed. Your upper arm and forearm should form an approximate
right angle, with your wrist and hand in roughly a straight line.
m You may have to raise your chair so your forearms and hands are at
the proper angle to the keyboard. If this makes it impossible to rest
your feet flat on the floor, you can use a footrest with adjustable
height and tilt to make up for any gap between the floor and your
feet. Or you may lower the desktop to eliminate the need for a
footrest. Another option is to use a desk with a keyboard tray that
is lower than the regular work surface.
m Use a light touch when typing and keep your hands and fingers
relaxed. Avoid rolling your thumbs under your palms.
Mouse
m Position the mouse at the same height as your keyboard. Allow
adequate space to use the mouse comfortably.
Chair
m An adjustable chair that provides firm, comfortable support is best.
Adjust the height of the chair so your thighs are horizontal and
your feet flat on the floor.
m The back of the chair should support your lower back (lumbar
region). Follow the manufacturer’s instructions for adjusting the
backrest to fit your body properly.
Computer
m Arrange the computer so the top of the screen is slightly below
your eye level when you’re sitting at the keyboard. The best
distance from your eyes to the screen is up to you, although most
people seem to prefer 18 to 28 inches (45 to 70 cm).
m Position the computer to minimize glare and reflections on the
screen from overhead lights and windows.
28
How do I work comfortably?
Important Don’t lift the computer using the flip-out foot. You could
damage your computer. To move your computer, grab the handle on
the top of the computer with one hand; with your other hand, hold
the bottom of the computer.
Avoiding fatigue
m Change your seated position, stand up, or stretch whenever you
start to feel tired. Frequent short breaks are helpful in reducing
fatigue.
m Use a light touch when typing or using a mouse and keep your
hands and fingers relaxed.
m Some computer users may develop discomfort in their hands,
wrists, or arms after periods of intensive work without breaks.
If you begin to develop chronic pain or discomfort in your hands,
wrists, or arms, consult a qualified health specialist immediately.
m Allow adequate workspace so that you can use your keyboard and
mouse comfortably. Place papers or other items so you can view
them easily while using your computer. A document stand may
make reading papers more comfortable.
m Eye muscles must work harder to focus on nearby objects.
Occasionally focus your eyes on a distant object, and blink often
while you work.
m Clean your screen regularly. Keeping the screen clean helps reduce
unwanted reflections (see page 31).
Thighs tilted slightly
Shoulders
relaxed
Screen positioned
to avoid reflected
glare
Forearms
and hands
in a straight
line
Forearms
level or tilted
down slightly
Lower back
supported
Feet flat on the floor
Top of the screen
at or slightly below
eye level (You may
need to adjust
the height of your
monitor by raising
your work
surface.)
Clearance under
work surface
45–70 cm (18–28 in.)
Make sure that you
m keep these instructions handy for reference by you and others who
may use your computer
m follow all instructions and warnings regarding your system
When setting up and using your computer, remember the following:
m Place your computer in a location with adequate ventilation. Never
block the vents on the computer.
m Your computer has a three-wire grounding plug that will only fit a
grounded AC outlet. If you are unable to insert the plug into the
outlet, contact a licensed electrician to replace the outlet with a
properly grounded outlet.
m Make sure you only connect the modem to an analog phone line,
the type commonly used in residences. Do not connect a digital
telephone line to the modem, because it could damage the
modem.
m Never turn on your computer unless all of its internal and external
parts are in place. Operating the computer when it is open or
missing parts can be dangerous and damage your computer.
Important The only way to disconnect power completely is to
unplug the power cord. Make sure at least one end of the power cord
is within easy reach so that you can unplug the computer when you
need to.
For your own safety and that of your equipment, always disconnect the
power plug (by pulling the plug, not the cord) if any of the following
conditions exists:
m you want to remove any parts (leave the cord disconnected as long
as the computer is open)
m the power cord or plug becomes frayed or otherwise damaged
m you spill something into the case
m your computer is exposed to rain or any other excess moisture
m your computer has been dropped or the case has been otherwise
damaged
m you suspect that your computer needs service or repair
m you want to clean the case (use only the recommended procedure
discussed in Mac Help)
Be sure that you always do the following:
m Keep your computer away from sources of liquids, such as drinks,
washbasins, bathtubs, shower stalls, and so on.
m Protect your computer from dampness or wet weather, such as
rain, snow, and so on.
Warning Electrical equipment may be hazardous if misused.
Operation of this product must always be supervised by an adult.
Do not allow children access to the interior of this product and do
not permit them to handle any cables.
Is there anything else I need to know?
Follow these instructions for using your iMac safely and wisely.
Cleaning your computer equipment
To clean your computer equipment, use only the recommended
procedures discussed in Mac Help.
Power supply
The power supply in your computer is a high-voltage component and
not user-serviceable. If you suspect the power supply needs service,
contact your Apple-authorized dealer or service provider.
Power-saving and environmental features
Your display is equipped with energy-saving features that allow the
display to conserve energy when the computer is not in use. For
instructions on adjusting the system and display sleep settings and
additional energy-conservation information, see Mac Help.
ENERGY STAR
®
As an ENERGY STAR® partner, Apple has determined that this product
meets the ENERGY STAR® guidelines for energy efficiency. The
ENERGY STAR® program is a partnership with office product
equipment manufacturers to promote energy efficiency. Reducing
energy consumption of office products saves money and reduces
pollution by eliminating wasted energy.
Warning Do not attempt to access the high-voltage area or
power supply. If you suspect the power supply needs service,
contact your Apple-authorized dealer or service provider.
Warning Do not clean the screen with a cleaner that contains
alcohol or acetone. Never spray cleaner directly onto the screen.
Liquid could drip inside the screen and cause an electrical shock.
Communications, telephone, and modem
regulation information
For information on FCC regulations, radio and television interference, and
telephone and modem information related to this product, see the files in the
Communications Regulations folder, inside the Apple Extras folder on your hard disk.
Laser information
Warning Making adjustments or performing procedures other than those specified
in your equipment’s manual may result in hazardous radiation exposure.
Do not attempt to disassemble the cabinet containing the laser. The laser beam
used in this product is harmful to the eyes. The use of optical instruments, such as
magnifying lenses, with this product increases the potential hazard to your eyes.
For your safety, have this equipment serviced only by an Apple-authorized
service provider.
Service warning label
High-risk activities warning
This computer system is not intended for use in the operation of nuclear facilities,
aircraft navigation or communications systems, or air traffic control machines, or for
any other uses where the failure of the computer system could lead to death, personal
injury, or severe environmental damage.
Camera information
The DV camera pictured on page 16 of this manual is not included with this product.
The model shown may not be available in all areas.
Mouse information
This product complies with the requirements of European Directives 72/23/EEC and
89/336/EEC. Complies with the Canadian ICES-003 Class B specification. This product
is a Class 1 LED device.
Every effort has been made to ensure that the information in this manual is
accurate. Apple is not responsible for printing or clerical errors.
Where’s the fine print?