National Instruments PXI-7830R Getting Started
Read Online
Read the National Instruments PXI-7830R Getting Started online using the built-in PDF viewer.
Text of the manual
Getting Started with the NI 783x R
This document explains how to install and configure the
National Instruments 783xR.
Introduction
The NI 783xR devices are R Series Reconfigurable I/O (RIO) devices with
16-bit analog input (AI) channels, 16-bit analog output (AO) channels, and
digital I/O (DIO) lines.
•
The NI PXI-7830R and NI PCI-7830R have four independent AI
channels, four independent AO channels, and 56 DIO lines.
•
The NI PXI-7831R/7833R and NI PCI-7831R/7833R have eight
independent AI channels, eight independent AO channels, and 96 DIO
lines.
Traditional I/O devices have a fixed functionality provided by an
application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), but the NI 783xR has a
field-programmable gate array (FPGA) that allows you to define device
functionality and timing.
You can use the LabVIEW FPGA Module to graphically design the
NI 783xR timing and functionality without having to learn a low-level
programming language or a hardware description language (HDL)
traditionally used for FPGA design. With the LabVIEW FPGA Module,
you create or download a custom virtual instrument (VI) to the FPGA.
You can reconfigure the NI 783xR with a new VI at any time.
You can use the LabVIEW Real-Time Module to communicate with and
control the NI 783xR while performing additional tasks, such as real-time
floating-point processing and data logging.
Note If you are using LabVIEW but not the LabVIEW FPGA Module, you can create VIs
that run in LabVIEW to control existing FPGA VIs, but you cannot create new FPGA VIs.
The NI 783xR has Flash memory that you can use to store a startup VI.
You can configure the VI to load to the FPGA and to run when the device
powers up.
Getting Started with the NI 783xR
2
ni.com
Required Components
This section lists the items necessary for using the NI 783xR with Windows
2000/XP and the LabVIEW Real-Time Module.
Documentation
The NI 783xR User Manual describes the electrical and mechanical aspects
of the NI 783xR and contains information about device operation and
programming. This document is included on the NI-RIO CD and is also
available at ni.com/manuals.
LabVIEW Help is available in LabVIEW by selecting Help»VI, Function,
& How-To Help.
Hardware and Software
PXI-783x R with Windows 2000/XP
The following items are necessary to set up and use the PXI-783xR on a
computer running Windows 2000/XP:
❑
NI PXI-783xR.
❑
The following software packages:
–
LabVIEW 7.1 or later.
–
LabVIEW FPGA Module 1.1 or later—required to develop
custom FPGA VIs.
–
NI-RIO 1.3 or later—included with the PXI-783xR.
Note The PXI-7831R supports LabVIEW 7.0 or later, LabVIEW FPGA Module 1.0 or
later, and NI-RIO 1.0 or later.
❑
PXI/CompactPCI chassis and PXI/CompactPCI embedded controller
running Windows 2000/XP, or a computer running Windows 2000/XP
and a MXI-3 link to a PXI/CompactPCI chassis.
❑
At least one cable and device for connecting signals to the PXI-783xR.
© National Instruments Corporation
3
Getting Started with the NI 783xR
PXI-783x R with the LabVIEW Real-Time Module
(ETS)
The following items are necessary to set up and use the PXI-783xR with the
LabVIEW Real-Time Module for ETS:
❑
NI PXI-783xR.
❑
The following software packages:
–
LabVIEW 7.1 or later.
–
LabVIEW FPGA Module 1.1 or later—required to develop
custom FPGA VIs.
–
LabVIEW Real-Time Module 7.1 or later.
–
NI-RIO 1.3 or later—included with the PXI-783xR.
–
Ardence (formerly Venturcom) Phar Lap Embedded Tool Suite
(ETS).
Note The PXI-7831R supports LabVIEW 7.0 or later, LabVIEW FPGA Module 1.0 or
later, and NI-RIO 1.0 or later.
❑
Host computer running Windows 2000/XP for developing your
application.
❑
PXI/CompactPCI chassis and real-time embedded controller running
the Phar Lap ETS real-time operating system.
❑
CAT 5 Ethernet crossover cable if the real-time PXI system is not
configured on a network. To connect the PXI system to a network port,
use a standard CAT 5 10/100Base-T Ethernet cable.
❑
At least one cable and device for connecting signals to the PXI-783xR.
PXI-783x R with the LabVIEW Real-Time Module
(RTX)
The following items are necessary to set up and use the PXI-783xR with the
LabVIEW Real-Time Module for RTX:
❑
NI PXI-783xR.
❑
The following software packages:
–
LabVIEW 7.1 or later.
–
LabVIEW FPGA Module 1.1 or later—required to develop
custom FPGA VIs.
Getting Started with the NI 783xR
4
ni.com
–
LabVIEW Real-Time Module 7.1 or later.
–
NI-RIO 1.3 or later—included with the PXI-783xR.
–
Ardence (formerly Venturcom) RTX 5.5 or later.
Note The PXI-7831R supports NI-RIO 1.1 or later.
❑
PXI/CompactPCI chassis and real-time embedded controller running
Windows 2000/XP and RTX.
❑
CAT 5 Ethernet crossover cable if the real-time PXI system is not
configured on a network. To connect the PXI system to a network port,
use a standard CAT 5 10/100Base-T Ethernet cable.
❑
At least one cable and device for connecting signals to the PXI-783xR.
PCI-783x R with Windows 2000/XP
The following items are necessary to set up and use the PCI-783xR on a
computer running Windows 2000/XP:
❑
PCI-783xR.
❑
The following software packages:
–
LabVIEW 7.1 or later.
–
LabVIEW FPGA Module 1.1 or later—required to develop
custom FPGA VIs.
–
NI-RIO 1.3 or later—included with the PCI-783xR.
Note The PCI-7831R supports NI-RIO 1.1 or later.
❑
Development computer running Windows 2000/XP.
❑
At least one cable and device for connecting signals to the PCI-783xR.
© National Instruments Corporation
5
Getting Started with the NI 783xR
PCI-783x R with the LabVIEW Real-Time Module
(ETS)
The following items are necessary to set up and use the PCI-783xR with the
LabVIEW Real-Time Module for ETS:
❑
PCI-783xR.
❑
The following software packages:
–
LabVIEW 7.1 or later.
–
LabVIEW FPGA Module 1.1 or later—required to develop
custom FPGA VIs.
–
LabVIEW Real-Time Module for ETS 7.1 or later.
–
NI-RIO 1.3 or later—included with the PCI-783xR.
–
Ardence (formerly Venturcom) Phar Lap Embedded Tool Suite
(ETS).
Note The PCI-7831R supports NI-RIO 1.1 or later.
❑
Host computer running Windows 2000/XP for developing your
application.
❑
Target computer running the Phar Lap ETS real-time operating
system.
❑
At least one cable and device for connecting signals to the PCI-783xR.
PCI-783x R with the LabVIEW Real-Time Module
(RTX)
The following items are necessary to set up and use the PCI-783xR with the
LabVIEW Real-Time Module for RTX:
❑
PCI-783xR.
❑
The following software packages:
–
LabVIEW 7.1 or later.
–
LabVIEW FPGA Module 1.1 or later—required to develop
custom FPGA VIs.
–
LabVIEW Real-Time Module for RTX 7.1 or later.
–
NI-RIO 1.3 or later—included with the PCI-783xR.
–
Ardence (formerly Venturcom) RTX 5.5 or later.
Getting Started with the NI 783xR
6
ni.com
Note The PCI-7831R supports NI-RIO 1.1 or later.
❑
Computer running Windows 2000/XP and RTX.
Note RTX 5.5 does not support Hyper-Threading enabled processors. Refer to the RTX
documentation for information about disabling multiprocessor access.
❑
At least one cable and device for connecting signals to the PCI-783xR.
Installing Software
Complete the following sets of steps in the order listed to successfully
install LabVIEW, the LabVIEW Real-Time Module, the LabVIEW FPGA
Module, and the NI-RIO device drivers.
If you are using NI-RIO without LabVIEW, skip these steps and proceed to
the NI-RIO Device Drivers Installation section.
LabVIEW Installation
Complete the following steps to install LabVIEW. Refer to the LabVIEW
Release Notes for additional information about installing LabVIEW.
1.
Insert the LabVIEW CD into the CD-ROM drive to display the
LabVIEW installation screen.
2.
Click Install LabVIEW.
3.
Follow the installer prompts through the rest of the installation.
LabVIEW Real-Time Module Installation
Complete the following steps to install the LabVIEW Real-Time Module.
Refer to the LabVIEW Real-Time Module Release Notes for additional
information about installing the LabVIEW Real-Time Module.
Note If you are using the NI 783xR with Windows 2000/XP only, it is not necessary to
install the LabVIEW Real-Time Module.
1.
Insert the LabVIEW Real-Time Module CD into the CD-ROM drive
to display the LabVIEW Real-Time Module installation screen.
2.
Click Install LabVIEW Real-Time Module.
3.
Follow the installer prompts through the rest of the installation.
© National Instruments Corporation
7
Getting Started with the NI 783xR
LabVIEW FPGA Module Installation
Complete the following steps to install the LabVIEW FPGA Module. Refer
to the LabVIEW FPGA Module Release Notes for additional information
about installing the LabVIEW FPGA Module.
1.
Insert the LabVIEW FPGA Module CD into the CD-ROM drive to
display the LabVIEW FPGA Module installation screen.
2.
Click Install LabVIEW FPGA Module.
3.
Follow the installer prompts through the rest of the installation.
NI-RIO Device Drivers Installation
Complete the following steps to install the NI-RIO device drivers that are
included with the NI 783xR device.
Note You must install LabVIEW and the LabVIEW modules you will use before you
install the NI-RIO device drivers.
1.
Run setup.exe from the NI-RIO CD and follow the setup
instructions.
2.
Follow the on-screen instructions until the Feature Tree window
appears.
3.
In the Feature Tree window, select the components to install. You must
install NI-VISA, NI-RIO, and NI Measurement & Automation
Explorer (MAX).
4.
Follow the on-screen instructions to complete the driver installation.
5.
Restart the computer.
Getting Started with the NI 783xR
8
ni.com
Installing Hardware
This section describes how to unpack and install the PXI-783xR and
PCI-783xR devices.
Note You must install the NI-RIO device drivers before installing the NI 783xR.
Unpacking
The NI 783xR is shipped in an antistatic package to prevent electrostatic
discharge from damaging device components. To prevent such damage
when handling the device, take the following precautions:
•
Ground yourself using a grounding strap or by holding a grounded
object, such as your computer chassis.
•
Touch the antistatic package to a metal part of the computer chassis
before removing the device from the package.
Caution Never touch the exposed pins of connectors.
Remove the device from the package and inspect the devices for loose
components or any other sign of damage. Notify NI if the device appears
damaged in any way. Do not install a damaged device into the computer.
Store the NI 783xR in the antistatic envelope when not in use.
PXI-783x R Installation
You can install the PXI-783xR in any available peripheral slot in the PXI
or CompactPCI chassis. Complete the following instructions to install the
PXI-783xR:
Note You must install the software before installing the hardware. For software
installation instructions, refer to the Installing Software section.
1.
Power off and unplug the PXI or CompactPCI chassis.
2.
Make sure there are no lit LEDs on the chassis. Wait for any lit LEDs
to go out before continuing the installation.
3.
Remove the filler panel for the peripheral slot.
4.
Ground yourself using a grounding strap or by touching a grounded
object, such as the PXI or CompactPCI chassis.
5.
Insert the PXI-783xR into the slot. Use the injector/ejector handle to
fully inject the PXI-783xR into place.
© National Instruments Corporation
9
Getting Started with the NI 783xR
6.
Screw the front panel of the PXI-783xR to the front panel mounting
rails of the chassis.
7.
Visually verify the installation. Make sure the PXI-783xR is not
touching other devices or components and that the PXI-783xR is fully
inserted into the slot.
8.
Plug in and power on the PXI or CompactPCI chassis.
PCI-783x R Installation
You can install the PCI-783xR in any available PCI expansion slot in the
computer. To achieve the best noise performance, leave as much room as
possible between the PCI-783xR and other boards.
Complete the following instructions to install the PCI-783xR:
Note You must install the software before installing the hardware. For software
installation instructions, refer to the Installing Software section.
1.
Power off and unplug the computer.
Caution To protect both yourself and the computer from electrical hazards, the computer
must remain off and unplugged until the PCI-783xR is completely installed.
2.
Remove the computer cover. Make sure there are no lit LEDs on the
motherboard. Wait for any lit LEDs to go out before continuing the
installation.
3.
Touch the metal part of the power supply case inside the computer to
discharge any static electricity that might be on your clothes or body.
4.
Locate the metal bracket that covers the cut-out in the back panel
of the chassis for the slot you have selected. Remove and save the
bracket-retaining screw and the bracket cover.
5.
Align the PCI-783xR card-edge connector with the expansion
slot receptacle. Using slow, evenly distributed pressure, press the
PCI-783xR straight down until it seats in the expansion slot.
6.
Reinstall the bracket-retaining screw to secure the PCI-783xR to the
back panel rail.
7.
Visually verify the installation.
8.
Replace the computer cover, and plug the computer in.
Getting Started with the NI 783xR
10
ni.com
Using the NI 783x R with the LabVIEW Real-Time
Module for RTX
You can use the LabVIEW Real-Time Module for RTX with the NI 783xR.
After you have installed RTX, the LabVIEW Real-Time Module for RTX,
and RTX support from the NI-RIO Driver CD, complete the following
steps:
Note The NI-RIO device drivers and NI 783xR must be installed before adding RTX
support for the R Series device.
1.
If necessary, close all NI software.
2.
Select Start»Program Files»Ardence RTX»RTX»RTX Properties.
3.
On the Plug and Play tab, right-click the name of your device and
select Add RTX INF Support.
4.
Click the Apply button. RTX Properties returns a Warning dialog box.
Click OK.
5.
In the RTX Properties window, click OK.
6.
Right-click My Computer and select Properties.
7.
Select the Hardware tab and click Device Manager.
8.
For Windows XP, expand NI-RIO Devices, right-click the name of
your device and select Update Driver. In the Hardware Update
Wizard window, select Install the software automatically and click
Next. When the wizard finishes installing the software, click Finish.
For Windows 2000, expand NI-RIO Devices, right-click the name of
your device, and select Properties. On the Driver tab, click Update
Driver. In the Upgrade Device Driver Wizard window, click Next.
Select Search for a suitable driver for my device and click Next
three times. When Windows finishes installing the software, click
Finish.
9.
In the Device Manager window, select View»Resources by
connection.
10. In the Device Manager window, expand Interrupt Request (IRQ).
Make sure that the NI 783xR is not sharing an IRQ with any other
devices. Refer to the RTX Runtime Help for information about
modifying a device.
11. Reboot your computer.
12. Select Start»Run. In the Run window, enter net start nirtrtx
and click OK.
© National Instruments Corporation
11
Getting Started with the NI 783xR
The NI 783xR now supports RTX. When you launch LabVIEW, the
NI 783xR appears in the LabVIEW Execution Target menu as FPGA
Device [device name] visa://localhost::RTRTX::0/RIO0::INSTR.
Removing RTX Support
Complete the following steps to remove RTX support from the NI 7831R.
1.
Close all NI software.
2.
Select Start»Program Files»Ardence RTX»RTX»RTX Properties.
3.
On the Plug and Play tab, right-click the name of your device and
select Remove RTX INF Support.
4.
Click Apply. RTX Properties returns a Warning dialog box. Click OK.
5.
In the RTX Properties window, click OK.
6.
Right-click My Computer and select Properties.
7.
Select the Hardware tab and click Device Manager.
8.
For Windows XP, expand RTX Drivers, right-click [device name]
RTX Supported and select Update Driver.
You have removed RTX support for the NI 783xR.
Getting Started with the NI 783xR
12
ni.com
Connecting Signals
Figure 1 shows the I/O connector locations for the NI PXI-783xR and the
NI PCI-783xR. The NI PXI-7830R and NI PCI-7830R do not have
Connector 2 (DIO).
Figure 1. NI 783x R Connector Locations
CONNECTOR 0 (MIO)
CONNECTOR 1 (DIO)
CONNECTOR 2 (DIO)
CONNECTOR 0 (MIO)
CONNECTOR 1 (DIO)
CONNECTOR 2 (DIO)
© National Instruments Corporation
13
Getting Started with the NI 783xR
Figure 2 shows the I/O connector pin assignments for the I/O connectors on
the NI 783xR. The DIO connector pin assignment applies to connector 1 on
the NI 7830R and connectors <1..2> on the NI 7831R/7833R.
Figure 2. NI 783x R I/O Connector Pin Assignments
Caution Connections that exceed any of the maximum ratings of input or output signals
on the NI 783xR can damage the NI 783xR and the computer. NI is not liable for any
damage resulting from such signal connections. Refer to the NI 783xR User Manual for the
maximum input ratings for each signal.
For detailed information about connecting I/O signals, refer to the
NI 783xR User Manual.
NI 783xR DIO
Connector Pin Assignment
NI 7830R MIO
Connector Pin Assignment
NI 7831R/7833R MIO
Connector Pin Assignment
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
+5V
+5V
DIO28
DIO31
DIO33
DIO35
DIO37
DIO39
DIO0
DIO2
DIO3
DIO5
DIO6
DIO7
DIO8
DIO1
DIO4
DIO9
DIO10
DIO11
DIO12
DIO13
DIO14
DIO15
DIO16
DIO17
DIO18
DIO19
DIO20
DIO21
DIO22
DIO23
DIO24
DIO25
DIO26
DIO27
DIO29
DIO30
DIO32
DIO34
DIO36
DIO38
35
1
36
2
37
3
38
4
39
5
40
6
41
7
42
8
43
9
44
10
45
11
46
12
47
13
48
14
49
15
50
16
51
17
52
18
53
19
54
20
55
21
56
22
57
23
58
24
59
25
60
26
61
27
62
28
63
29
64
30
65
31
66
32
67
33
68
34
+5V
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DIO8
DIO10
DIO12
DIO14
AOGND7
AOGND6
AOGND5
AOGND4
AOGND3
AOGND2
AOGND1
AOGND0
No Connect
No Connect
AIGND7
No Connect
No Connect
AIGND5
No Connect
AI3–
AIGND3
AI2–
AI1–
AIGND1
AI0–
+5V
DIO1
DIO2
DIO4
DIO5
DIO6
DIO7
DIO0
DIO3
DIO9
DIO11
DIO13
DIO15
No Connect
No Connect
No Connect
No Connect
AO3
AO2
AO1
AO0
AISENSE
No Connect
AIGND6
No Connect
No Connect
AIGND4
No Connect
AI3+
AIGND2
AI2+
AI1+
AIGND0
AI0+
35
1
36
2
37
3
38
4
39
5
40
6
41
7
42
8
43
9
44
10
45
11
46
12
47
13
48
14
49
15
50
16
51
17
52
18
53
19
54
20
55
21
56
22
57
23
58
24
59
25
60
26
61
27
62
28
63
29
64
30
65
31
66
32
67
33
68
34
+5V
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DGND
DIO8
DIO10
DIO12
DIO14
AOGND7
AOGND6
AOGND5
AOGND4
AOGND3
AOGND2
AOGND1
AOGND0
No Connect
AI7–
AIGND7
AI6–
AI5–
AIGND5
AI4–
AI3–
AIGND3
AI2–
AI1–
AIGND1
AI0–
+5V
DIO1
DIO2
DIO4
DIO5
DIO6
DIO7
DIO0
DIO3
DIO9
DIO11
DIO13
DIO15
AO7
AO6
AO5
AO4
AO3
AO2
AO1
AO0
AISENSE
AI7+
AIGND6
AI6+
AI5+
AIGND4
AI4+
AI3+
AIGND2
AI2+
AI1+
AIGND0
AI0+
35
1
36
2
37
3
38
4
39
5
40
6
41
7
42
8
43
9
44
10
45
11
46
12
47
13
48
14
49
15
50
16
51
17
52
18
53
19
54
20
55
21
56
22
57
23
58
24
59
25
60
26
61
27
62
28
63
29
64
30
65
31
66
32
67
33
68
34
Getting Started with the NI 783xR
14
ni.com
Cabling Options
Accessing the signals on the I/O connectors requires at least one cable and
one signal accessory. Table 1 summarizes the National Instruments cables
available for use with the NI 783xR device.
Related Documentation
Refer to the following documentation for information about the
LabVIEW FPGA Module, R Series hardware, and VIs necessary
for your application.
•
LabVIEW FPGA Module Release Notes— describes the software
installation and other known software issues.
•
LabVIEW FPGA Module User Manual— describes the LabVIEW
FPGA Module software and techniques for building applications in
LabVIEW with the LabVIEW FPGA Module.
•
NI 783xR User Manual— describes the electrical and mechanical
aspects of the NI 783xR and contains information about its operation
and programming.
Table 1. Cabling Options
Cable
Connector
Description
SH68-C68-S
MIO/DIO
For connecting signals from the MIO or DIO
connector to the NI SCB-68 terminal block.
SHC68-68-RMIO
MIO
For connecting signals from the MIO connector to
the SCB-68 terminal block.
Improves signal integrity and noise immunity.
Provides shielding on all AI channels and an overall
analog shield to reduce digital-to-analog crosstalk.
NSC68-262650
MIO
For direct connection of the NI 783xR to 5B and
SSR analog and digital signal conditioning
backplanes.
Routes signals to connectors that attach directly
to 5B backplanes (for analog signals) and SSR
backplanes (for digital signals).
NSC68-5050
DIO
For direct connection of the NI 783xR and
SSR backplanes.
Routes signals to connectors that attach directly to
SSR backplanes.
© National Instruments Corporation
15
Getting Started with the NI 783xR
•
LabVIEW Help— describes the VIs and function reference
information.
•
CompactRIO R Series Expansion System Installation
Instructions— describes how to install the CompactRIO R Series
Expansion chassis and CompactRIO I/O modules.
Where to Go from Here
Refer to the LabVIEW FPGA Module Release Notes for information about
getting started with LabVIEW FPGA VIs and host VIs. This document also
provides examples for verifying that your software and hardware are
properly installed. To access this document, select Start»Programs»
National Instruments»LabVIEW»Module Documents.
National Instruments, NI, ni.com, and LabVIEW are trademarks of National Instruments Corporation.
Refer to the Terms of Use section on ni.com/legal for more information about National
Instruments trademarks. Other product and company names mentioned herein are trademarks or trade
names of their respective companies. For patents covering National Instruments products, refer to the
appropriate location: Help»Patents in your software, the patents.txt file on your CD, or
ni.com/patents.
© 2003–2005 National Instruments Corporation. All rights reserved.
373256C-01
May05