Texas Instruments TI-84 PLUS series Manual 

Specifications

Brand: Texas Instruments
Category: Calculator
Model: TI-84 PLUS series
File Type: PDF
File Size: —
Pages: 35

Read Online

Read the Texas Instruments TI-84 PLUS series Manual  online using the built-in PDF viewer.

Text of the manual

for the TI-84 Plus Family

Learn more about TI Technology through the online help at education.ti.com/eguide.

Texas Instruments makes no warranty, either expressed or implied, including but not

limited to any implied warranties of merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose, regarding any programs or book materials and makes such materials available solely on an “as-is” basis. In no event shall Texas Instruments be liable to anyone for special, collateral, incidental, or consequential damages in connection with or arising out of the purchase or use of these materials, and the sole and exclusive liability of Texas Instruments, regardless of the form of action, shall not exceed the purchase price of this product. Moreover, Texas Instruments shall not be liable for any claim of any kind whatsoever against the use of these materials by any other party. This graphing product application (APP) is licensed. See the terms of the license agreement. © 2006 - 2019 Texas Instruments Incorporated Microsoft and Vernier are trademarks of their respective owners.

What's New in TI-SmartView™CE Software v5.4.0

1 Introduction to TI-SmartView™CE Software 2 Using the TI-SmartView™CE Calculator Emulator Workspace 5 Parts of the TI-SmartView™CE Software Workspace 6 Using the TI-SmartView™CE Emulator Keyboard 7 Dragging and Dropping a Screen to Another Application 8 Connecting a Calculator as a Remote Keypad 9 Resetting the Emulator 11 Saving and Loading a CE Emulator State 12 Choosing a Display Option 14 Copying the Key Press History to Another Application 16 Changing the Size of the TI-SmartView™CE Screen 19 Emulator and Toolbar positions 19 Always in Front 20 Using Screen Capture 21 Parts of the Screen Capture Workspace 22 Dragging and Dropping a Screen to Another Application 22 Using TI-SmartView™CE Emulator Explorer Workspace 23 Parts of the TI-SmartView™Emulator Explorer Main Workspace 24 Copying Emulator Files to the Computer 24 Deleting Emulator Files 25 Computer Keyboard Shortcuts 25 Compatibility with Graphing Calculators 27 Data Collection Using Vernier EasyData® App on the TI-84 Plus CE Emulator 28 Using Vernier Sensors with TI-SmartView™CE and EasyData® CE App 28 Using TI-SmartView™CE to Demonstrate Data Collection 30 General Information 32 Online Help 32 Contact TI Support 32 Service and Warranty Information 32 Updates 32 iii

What's New in TI-SmartView™CE Software v5.4.0

TI-SmartView™CE 84 Plus CE What’s New • TI-84 Plus CE default emulator state updated. - OS v5.4.0 - EasyData v5.3.6 (minor fix) - Transformation Graphing App v5.3.1 (minor fix) - TI-Innovator™Hub App v5.4.0 (menu updates) For more information about the new and updated functionality, go to education.ti.com/84ceupdate. TI-SmartView CE for the TI-84 Plus Family Please update the software at education.ti.com/84ceupdate to the latest version for improvements and the CE emulator with the latest calculator files for this release.

Introduction to TI-SmartView™CE Software

The TI-SmartView™CE software allows you to display a TI graphing calculator for your entire classroom. Two workspaces are included to help enhance your classroom presentations. Calculator Emulator Workspace Allows you to: • Display a Full Emulator View or a Keypad with Large Display Screen View. With optional views to open or close. • Key Press History – Displays images of keys pressed so students can follow along with the keys pressed. • View3™ – Teacher controlled update of up to three additional emulated screens such as Graph, Table and Equation for multiple representations. • Calculate and Graph – Same experience as on physical graphing calculator. • Drag and Drop any emulated screen to your class presentation software.** – Build out your lessons with screens created during your class. • Press emulator keys using a Remote Keypad! – Run SmartPad™CE App*** on your TI-84 Plus CE connected to the computer with your USB cable. When the TI-SmartView™CE window is in focus on your computer, your calculator becomes a Remote Keypad. • Launch a separate Screen Capture Window – Capture and save emulator screens as computer files similar to TI Connect™CE Screen Capture which captures screens from the graphing calculator. **Software such as Microsoft™Office or other presentation software supported. ***SmartPad™CE App for TI-84 Plus CE comes pre-loaded on the calculator. If not on your TI-84 Plus CE, SmartPad CE App is also available to load to your calculator at education.ti.com/84ceupdate. Note: The Large Display Screen is not touch enabled. Use emulator keys as on the calculator. Introduction to TI-SmartView™CE Software 2

Emulator Explorer Workspace

Allows you to: • Add single or multiple files to the emulator to set up for your classes: – Drag selected calculator files and/or your images (jpg, png, etc.) from your computer to your emulator for quick emulator setup even during class instruction. • Save files from the emulator to save or share to your students calculators: – Drag selected calculator files to your computer to save files from a class presentation. – Tip: Once files are saved to your computer, you can drag those files to multiple connected student calculators using TI Connect™CE Calculator Explorer for classroom sharing. TI Connect™CE is free at education.ti.com/downloads. Emulator Explorer default screen Introduction to TI-SmartView™CE Software 4

Using the TI-SmartView™CE Calculator Emulator Workspace

Using the TI-SmartView™CE Calculator Emulator Workspace The TI-SmartView™CE Calculator Emulator workspace contains tools you can use to input calculations, plot variables, and display graphs, tables, and lists.

Parts of the TI-SmartView™CE Software Workspace

Menu Bar - Use these menus to perform all emulator functions, including: • File - file management • Actions - such as screen capture • Edit - include copy key as font • Help - Help and links • View - change the displays Note: You can complete most of the actions in these menus by clicking icons in the toolbar. Toolbar- Use these toolbar icons to: • Select a different calculator model • Toggle displays of Large Display Screen, Key Press History on or off, and, View3™ • Capture current emulator screen Workspace Panel - Use this panel to navigate between the Calculator Emulator workspace and the Emulator Explorer workspace. Choose Emulator and Tool Bar Positions • Emulator position Left/Right - to switch between left and right hand display of the graphing calculator screen. This is convenient when projecting an Interactive White Board. • Tool Bar Top/Bottom - to toggle the tool bar between the top and the bottom of the screen. This is convenient when projecting an Interactive White Board. Note: You can change the visual layout and/or position of elements to optimize access especially when using an Interactive White Board. Emulator Panel - Use this panel to use the full emulator or the emulator keypad only view. Large Display Screen Panel/Key Press History Panel - Use this panel to display a large version of the calculator screen and/or to display key press history. You have the following display options: • Large Display Screen only • Key Press History only • Large Display Screen + Key Press History • Hide panel View3™Panel - Use this panel to show three additional screens simultaneously. (This panel is hidden by default. Click to show the View3™Panel.) You can select any three of the following screens: Using the TI-SmartView™CE Calculator Emulator Workspace 6

Using the TI-SmartView™CE Calculator Emulator Workspace

• Equation (Y= editor) • List (Stat List editor) • Window • Table • Stat Plot • [Blank] • Graph Resize Panels - Click and drag the vertical bar at the side of a panel to resize it. Using the TI-SmartView™CE Emulator Keyboard The mouse takes the place of your finger pressing keys on the computer keyboard. Click the keys on the TI-SmartView™CE emulator as you would press the keys on the graphing calculator. 1. Click the arrow keys on the emulator keyboard to move the cursor to the desired setting. 2. Click to select it. You must first place the keyboard in its alpha typing mode to type text using the computer keyboard. By default, the graphing calculator keyboard is in its normal mode, in which keys are simply shortcuts to graphing calculator keys. For example, pressing [ A ] on your computer keyboard is the same as clicking on the graphing calculator. In this mode, you cannot enter the letters A through Z on the graphing calculator screen by typing these letters on your computer keyboard. To enter a letter or other alpha character, first click on the graphing calculator keyboard (or press [ F7 ] on your computer keyboard) to put the graphing calculator in alpha mode. For example, typing [ F7 ] [ A ] on your computer keyboard enters an A on the graphing calculator screen. After you type the character, the keyboard returns to its normal mode. You can lock the alpha key to type more than one character in succession. To lock the alpha key: ▶ Click on the graphing calculator keyboard or press [ F6 ] [ F7 ] on your computer keyboard. To return to the normal mode: ▶ Click or press [ F7 ].

In alpha typing mode, pressing [ 0 ] through [ 9 ] on your computer keyboard act as

shortcuts to the alpha functions associated with these keys on the graphing calculator keyboard. Pressing [ 1 ] enters Y (the alpha character associated with À) on the graphing calculator screen. To type a number, be sure the keyboard is not in the alpha typing mode. These keys do enter the digits 0 through 9 in the normal mode. You can hold down an arrow key to scroll the cursor continuously. When you use an arrow key to move the cursor, you can hold down the key to scroll the cursor continuously, instead of having to press the key repeatedly. In the key press history, the icon for a repeating arrow key has a clock symbol attached to it. Pressing an arrow key multiple times in a row displays an arrow with a repeat counter. When you press an arrow key multiple times in a row, one arrow key is displayed in the key press history; this arrow key has a number attached to it that shows the number of times the arrow key was pressed. Tip: When tracing along graphs or using Cabri™Jr App to draw geometric shapes, the computer keyboard arrows may give you smoother continual action as opposed to using a mouse to click on the emulator arrows. Dragging and Dropping a Screen to Another Application You can drag and drop and paste any TI-SmartView™CE screen into another application. The TI-SmartView™CE screens that you can drag and paste include the following: • The screen above the keyboard in the Emulator Panel • Large Screen • View3™panel screens Note: You can drag a View3™screen into Screen Capture and use Screen Capture as a history of important screens during a class session. • Saved or unsaved screen captures Using the TI-SmartView™CE Calculator Emulator Workspace 8

Using the TI-SmartView™CE Calculator Emulator Workspace

Connecting a Calculator as a Remote Keypad The SmartPad™CE App is available for the TI-84 Plus CE. To use the TI-84 Plus CE as a remote keypad for TI-SmartView™CE: 1. SmartPad™CE App for TI-84 Plus CE comes pre-loaded on the calculator. If not on your TI-84 Plus CE, SmartPad CE App is also available to load to your calculator at education.ti.com/84ceupdate. 2. Connect your TI-84 Plus CE to your computer using a USB Computer cable which came with your calculator. 3. Launch TI-SmartView™CE. Make sure the TI-SmartView™CE window is in focus by clicking on the TI-SmartView™CE window. 4. Run SmartPad™CE App on your TI-84 Plus CE. Press [apps] and select SmartPad™ CE from the Apps menu. Read the information on the splash screen. 5. Press keys on the calculator's keypad which remotely press the emulator keypad on the TI-SmartView™CE. 6. Disconnect USB cable from calculator to stop the App and remote keypad feature. 7. Reconnecting the USB cable and running the App again may be needed if the remote keypad connectivity is no longer responding. Notes: • The TI-84 Plus CE running the SmartPad™CE App will not display the calculations or graphs. The calculator becomes a remote USB keypad for the emulator only. • The TI-84 Plus CE will remain a remote keypad when the TI-SmartView™CE window is in focus. Click on the TI-SmartView™CE window prior to pressing keys on the calculator. • The TI SilverLink cable is not supported in TI-SmartView™CE. USB Computer Cable You must use the USB Computer Cable that comes with your TI-84 Plus CE graphing calculator to use SmartPad™CE App. Other TI Connectivity Cables are not supported.

Additional information on connectivity

• Emulator Link Menu - No Send/Receive The Link feature, y 8 on the emulators is disabled. To link files between a connected calculator and an emulator, please use Calculator Explorer in TI Connect™CE and Emulator Explorer in TI-SmartView™CE. Drag calculator or emulator files to the computer first when transferring between Emulator Explorer in TI-SmartView™CE and Calculator Explorer in TI Connect™CE. • TI-SilverLink cable The TI SilverLink cable is not supported in TI-SmartView™CE. • Bringing a calculator out of a TEST MODE setting TI-SmartView™CE will not transfer a file to a connected calculator. To quit TEST MODE (EXAM MODE) setting, please use one of these methods. - Connect a CE to TI Connect CE v5.4.0 or higher - Select Actions > Quit Exam Mode on Connected CE Calculators - Send a file between two calculators - Connect to TI Connect CE v5.4.0 or higher and send a file to a connected calculator(s) Using the TI-SmartView™CE Calculator Emulator Workspace 10

Using the TI-SmartView™CE Calculator Emulator Workspace

Resetting the Emulator To reset the emulator: 1. Click Actions. 2. Click Reset Emulator. 3. Click Reset. Resetting the emulator: • Overwrites the current emulator state • Returns the TI-SmartView™CE Software to the factory-default setting • Clears key press history Update Emulator OS In the future, if there is a CE calculator OS update but TI-SmartView™CE emulator is not updated, then the Emulator can be updated with Actions > Update Emulator OS…. TI-SmartView™CE will require a special emulator state file to update the Emulator OS available at education.ti.com/84ceupdate. This file will be different than the file you use to update the calculator OS.

Saving and Loading a CE Emulator State

When you save the CE emulator state, a file is created that stores the emulator settings with all of the changes that you have made. For example, you might want to set up a class presentation by entering functions in the Y= editor and changing Window and Zoom settings. When you save your changes in an emulator state file, you simply load the file to show your presentation. If you want to create different presentations for different classes, you can create multiple emulator state files. Note: The key press history, screen capture shots, the emulator view, and the emulator size are not saved in the emulator state file. Please take note the CE Emulator state files may be large. Contact your IT department if your storage capacity is an issue. Saving the CE Emulator State Managing, saving and loading an emulator state file is only available for the CE emulator. The TI-84 Plus CE Emulator State file can only be loaded on the TI-84 Plus CE emulator. 1. Click Actions > Save Emulator State.... 2. In the dialog box: a) Navigate to the folder in which you want to store the CE emulator state file. b) Type a file name. Use a name that describes the CE emulator state. Using the TI-SmartView™CE Calculator Emulator Workspace 12

Using the TI-SmartView™CE Calculator Emulator Workspace

The CE emulator state files will have a pre-configured filename TI84PCE Emulator State_OS x-x-x_date.s84 where the file extension, *.s84 indicates that the file is a TI-84 Plus CE emulator state created by the TI-SmartView™CE software. A CE emulator state file created in TI-SmartView™CE v5.4.0 or higher will not load on previous versions of TI-SmartView™CE. c) Click Save. Loading an CE Emulator State Because CE emulator state files are specific to each calculator model, you can only load an emulator state file for the active calculator model. 1. Click Actions > Load Emulator State. 2. In the dialog box: a) Navigate to the folder that contains the emulator state file. Note: Only the CE emulator state files for the active calculator model will be displayed. b) Click the CE emulator state name to highlight it. c) Click Open.

Choosing a Display Option

You can customize your display to show or hide optional panels and change the type of information displayed in each one. By default, the TI-SmartView™CE software displays the calculator emulator workspace in Large Display Screen. Displaying the Calculator Screen 1. Click to view the calculator screen above the keyboard in the Emulator Panel. 2. Click again to show the Keypad + Large Display Screen. Choosing an Emulator Type Click the down arrow on to choose an emulator type. Using the TI-SmartView™CE Calculator Emulator Workspace 14

Using the TI-SmartView™CE Calculator Emulator Workspace

Each emulator type displays its relevant calculator model. Changing the Calculator Faceplate To change the faceplate: 1. Click View. 2. Hover over Calculator Faceplate. 3. Click on a calculator faceplate name. Light Outline Dark

Showing or Hiding the Key Press History

Click to show or hide key press history. Click CLEAR in the panel next to Key Press History to clear the history. Click here and drag to resize the Key Press History panel. Click here to clear the Key Press History. When you press clear, you will see this information box: Copying the Key Press History to Another Application You can copy all or only a selected portion of the key press history to another application such as a word processor. You can copy the key graphics as they are shown in the key press history panel, or you can copy the key presses as font text characters · j ¸. Note: When you copy keys as font text characters, those characters use the TI84PlusCEKeys font. This font is installed on your computer automatically when you install the TI- SmartView™CE software. Copying Keys as Graphics or Font Characters 1. Select the key(s) you want to copy. To select keys in the Key Press History Panel, use one of the following methods: Key Method – A single key: Click on a key. – Multiple keys: Click on a key. Press and hold Ctrl on your computer keyboard. Click other keys to select multiple keys. Using the TI-SmartView™CE Calculator Emulator Workspace 16

Using the TI-SmartView™CE Calculator Emulator Workspace

Key Method – Multiple keys in a sequence: Click on a key. Press and hold Shift on your computer keyboard. Press another key. Note: This allows you to select those two keys plus all of the keys in between them. – All keys: Click on a key. Right click. Click Select All. Note: This is what a key looks like before and after you select it. Before: After: 2. Right-click the selected key(s). 3. Click Copy (to copy keys as graphics). -or- Click Copy As Font (to copy keys as font characters). · j ¸ 4. Switch to another application. 5. Paste the keys at the appropriate location. Note: • You can also drag the selected keys as graphics to the other application. • You can re-size the key graphics after you paste them into a new application. • In some applications, the characters pasted as a font may be shown in the font that is in effect at that location, so they may not look anything like graphing calculator keys. If necessary, apply the TI84PlusCEKeys font to the characters. See the help file for the destination application you are using for details on how to apply a font to the characters. Displaying the View3™Panel 1. Click to display the View3™panel. 2. Click the title bar of each screen to choose from these display options: – Equation (Y= – List (Stat List editor) – Window

Click the green teacher controlled update button in the View3™panel to refresh the

View3™screens. This updates the view for your students during investigations. Update detected Updating or cancel No update detected 4. View content in the selected screens, or repeat step 2 to change the screen type. Using the TI-SmartView™CE Calculator Emulator Workspace 18

Using the TI-SmartView™CE Calculator Emulator Workspace

Changing the Size of the TI-SmartView™CE Screen Click and drag the edge of a panel to change the size of the Emulator Panel, the Large Display Screen, or the View3™Panel. Note: All of these are left/right actions except the Key Press History which is pull up or down to size. Emulator and Toolbar positions Emulator position Left/Right - to switch between left and right hand display of the graphing calculator screen. This is convenient when projecting an Interactive White Board. Tool Bar Top/Bottom - to toggle the tool bar between the top and the bottom of the screen. This is convenient when projecting an Interactive White Board.

Always in Front

Select this option in the View Menu to keep the TI-SmartView™CE windows in front of any other computer software window open. Similar to having the calculator sitting on your desk on top of your papers! Position the window on your computer desktop where it is best to remain "Always in Front." To turn off "Always in Front," deselect the menu item in the View menu. There is no toolbar icon for this feature and no indicator other than the menu check mark when active. Notes: The TI-SmartView™CE Emulator Workspace window and Screen Capture windows will both be "Always in Front" and toggle in front depending on their position. "Always in Front." is not recommended when in full screen since all other windows will be behind the full screen of TI-SmartView™CE. Using the TI-SmartView™CE Calculator Emulator Workspace 20

Using Screen Capture

Using Screen Capture You can capture the current graphing calculator screens using the TI-SmartView™CE screen capture tool. To use screen capture: ▶ Click on the toolbar. This window appears:

Parts of the Screen Capture Workspace

Capture Click here to take an emulator screen capture. Actions > Capture Screen Note: A border is automatically added to each image when you capture it, but you can remove the border by clicking View > Hide Screen Capture Borders. (If you have multiple images, this removes the border from every image.) With screen capture you can: • capture up to 44 screens at a time, (to capture additional images, delete images from the Screen Capture window) • automatically store screen captures in memory until you close the main TI-SmartView™CE window. Closing Screen Capture gives a prompt to save your screen captures. You can start a new Screen Capture session during a TI-SmartView™CE session. Save Click here to save selected screen captures. File > Save As Copy Click here to copy selected screen captures to the clipboard. Edit > Copy Delete Click here to delete selected screen captures. Edit > Delete Resize Slide the dot along the bar to adjust the current screen capture preview size. View > Scale Screen Captures Note: Screens save at the percentage in view. Rename Rename a screen capture by highlighting the title and typing in a new name. View View screen captures here. Dragging and Dropping a Screen to Another Application You can drag and drop and paste any TI-SmartView™CE screen into another application. The TI-SmartView™CE screens that you can drag and paste include the following: • The screen above the keyboard in the Emulator Panel • Large Screen • View3™panel screens Note: You can drag a View3™screen into Screen Capture and use Screen Capture as a history of important screens during a class session. • Saved or unsaved screen captures Using Screen Capture 22

Using TI-SmartView™CE Emulator Explorer Workspace

Using TI-SmartView™CE Emulator Explorer Workspace Emulator Explorer workspace allows you to manage emulator files, add content from your computer to your emulator, and send selected content to your computer.

Parts of the TI-SmartView™Emulator Explorer Main Workspace

Add calculator files from computer to emulator. Send selected calculator files to computer. Delete selected calculator files. Refresh the view of the emulator's contents. Note: When changing the workspace to Emulator Explorer, refresh the view of the emulator files to update any changes made in the emulator. Copying Emulator Files to the Computer You can copy most data, files, and programs from your emulator to your computer as a backup, to send to others, or to free up emulator memory. To copy a file from the emulator to the computer 1. Click on the file name to select it. 2. Click -or- Drag and drop the file into a folder on your computer or onto your desktop. To copy a file from the computer to the emulator 1. Click . 2. Navigate to the desired calculator file on your computer. Note: You can also drag your images (.jpg, .png, etc.) to convert to emulator/calculator Background Images as well. 3. Click on the file to select it. 4. Click Open. Using TI-SmartView™CE Emulator Explorer Workspace 24

Using TI-SmartView™CE Emulator Explorer Workspace

Deleting Emulator Files You can delete data, files, and programs from your emulator. To delete files from the emulator 1. Click on the file name to select it. 2. Press . Computer Keyboard Shortcuts You can use your computer keyboard to press a key instead of pressing that key on the TI-SmartView™CE keyboard image. For example: If you want to enter the "log" function on the emulator keypad, use the table below to find the computer key to press. ▶ Press [N] on your computer keyboard (and notice that the emulator key upper left is the alpha letter N.) Note: In some instances, pressing the computer keyboard key will display the key on the emulator. The Key Press History icon may not display until the next key press.

Using TI-SmartView™CE Emulator Explorer Workspace

Compatibility with Graphing Calculators Please refer to the TI-84 Plus CE Getting Started Guide for compatibility with graphing calculators. Note: In general, TI-84 Plus CE graphing calculator files are compatible with other TI-84 Plus and TI-83 Plus models. Apps, Operating Systems and some data files with unsupported numeric types do not share between models. TI-Basic programs may need to be modified to correctly display on the high resolution color screen models.

Data Collection Using Vernier EasyData® App on the TI-

84 Plus CE Emulator Vernier EasyData® CE App allows you to use Data Collection on the TI-84 Plus CE emulator. The Vernier EasyData® CE App for TI-84 Plus CE comes pre-loaded on the emulator in TI-SmartView™CE. This App allows you to collect single sensor data similar to using the App on the calculator. Tips: • Make sure you are familiar with collecting data using the EasyData® App on the calculator prior to using TI-SmartView™CE to collect data. • Make sure you are familiar with the EasyData® CE App menu (File>New) or the Scan shortcut key feature. You will use these features in the emulator to connect a sensor to the emulator while the sensor is connected to the computer. Using Vernier Sensors with TI-SmartView™CE and EasyData® CE App If you already use Vernier sensors with the TI-84 Plus CE or TI-8x family calculator with a mini-USB port, the sensor connects to the mini-USB port on the calculator. Vernier sensors used with the TI-8x family (mini-USB) need the appropriate adapter to connect (USB) to the computer for data collections demonstrations. Adapters Connect Sensor Type to Computer Name Adapter Description Easy to Go! Use this adapter to connect an EasyTemp or EasyLink™adapter to a computer for data collection. See more Go!Link Use this single-channelinterface adaptor to connect most Vernier sensors to your computer. See more Go!Motion to Computer Cable Use this cable to connect a Go!Motion or CBR 2 to a computer. It is included with Go!Motion. See more Data Collection Using Vernier EasyData® App on the TI-84 Plus CE Emulator 28

Data Collection Using Vernier EasyData® App on the TI-84 Plus CE Emulator

Connect Sensor Type to Calculator Name Adapter Description EasyLink™ Use this adapter to link Vernier sensors to your TI-84Plus CE graphing calculator. EasyLink™is a single-channelinterface that plugs into the USB port of a TI-84Plus graphing calculator or TI- Nspire™Handheld. See more Go!to Easy Adapter (miniUSB) Use this adapter to connect a Go!Temp or Go!Link™* to the USB port of a TI-Nspire™ handheld or TI-84graphing calculator. See more Go!Motion to Calculator Mini-USB port Use this 72" cable to connect a Go!Motion or CBR 2to the USB port of a TI-Nspire™handheld or TI-84graphing calculator. The cable has a USB Mini-A plug that connects to the calculator and a standard-B USB plug that connects to the Go!Motion or CBR 2. The cable is included with a CBR 2. See more If Using for Classroom Demonstrations Data collection using the EasyData® App is only supported on the TI-84 Plus CE emulator for classroom demonstration purposes. If your class is using any TI-8x Family calculator running the latest Vernier EasyData® App for that calculator, the demonstration of data collection using TI-SmartView™CE and the TI-84 Plus CE will be parallel to the calculator experience on TI-8x Family calculators. Single Sensors Data Collection Single-sensor data collection is supported in the TI-84 Plus CE emulator (similar to the TI-84 Plus CE calculator). If a sensor is supported using the EasyData® App on the calculator via mini-USB, the emulator in TI-SmartView™CE provides a demonstration tool for data collection similar to the experience on the calculator. • CBR 2™(Calculator-Based Ranger™) is supported with the USB cable. • CBL 2™(Calculator-Based Laboratory™system) is not supported. • The latest Vernier EasyData® CE App for TI-84 Plus CE comes pre-loaded in the emulator. • Older versions of the App are blocked in Emulator Explorer for the best data collection experience.

Using TI-SmartView™CE to Demonstrate Data Collection

1. Launch TI-SmartView™CE. Tip: If you are running any other computer software that also collects data using Vernier USB sensors, we recommend that you close all other data collecting software so TI-SmartView™CE recognizes the single sensor for your data collection session. Otherwise, your computer operating system will “decide” which sensors it will recognize. You may not see your sensor connect to TI-SmartView™CE until you close other software. 2. Click the down arrow on to choose an emulator type. 3. Connect one sensor to your computer via standard USB. Advanced Feature: You can have several sensors connected to your computer ports. You can use the TI-SmartView™CE Actions menu (Actions>Select Data Collection Sensor) to switch between sensors. Use the EasyData® CE App menu (File>New) to connect the new sensor to the emulator. 4. Run the EasyData® CE App on the TI-84 Plus CE emulator. Note: The latest Vernier EasyData App for the TI-84 Plus CE emulator (v 5.2 or higher) comes pre-loaded in TI-SmartView™CE (v 5.2 or higher). 5. EasyData® launches on the emulator. You should see the name of the sensor (or link connection) on the splash screen. The sensor name will then appear in the meter screen similar to the calculator experience. If EasyData® App does not recognize the sensor connected to the computer, use either Scan or File>New in the EasyData® App on the emulator to connect the sensor. 6. Use EasyData® App features as on the CE emulator to collect and analyze the data. 7. When data collection is complete, QUIT the EasyData® App in the emulator to continue to use TI-SmartView™CE. • Data from the data collection experiment is stored to lists in the emulator when quitting the EasyData® CE App. • You may leave the sensor plugged into your computer as needed. Data Collection Using Vernier EasyData® App on the TI-84 Plus CE Emulator 30

Data Collection Using Vernier EasyData® App on the TI-84 Plus CE Emulator

While EasyData® CE App is running on the CE emulator you may do the following: Switch Emulator Workspace You may switch emulators while EasyData® is running; however, the data experiment will stop and the sensor will disconnect from the CE emulator running the EasyData® App. When you return to the CE emulator, you will need to reconnect the sensor to EasyData® CE App using either File>New or the “Scan” shortcut key in the EasyData® App and begin a new data collection experiment. Previous experiment data may or may not be stored. Always “QUIT” the EasyData® CE App to store experiment data to the emulator lists. View3™and Apps View3™is not available (disabled) for all Apps other than the Inequality Graphing App. View3™only displays screens from the ™Operating System and does not display App screens. We recommend that you keep View3™closed when not using this feature or if the feature is disabled as when most Apps are running on the emulator. Switch to Emulator Explorer Workspace If EasyData® is running in the CE emulator and if you need to use Emulator Explorer, please quit the EasyData® App and then use Emulator Explorer. Capture Screens You can capture EasyData® CE App screens while running an experiment using Screen Capture. Close and Re-open TI- SmartView™ CE You may close TI-SmartView™CE while EasyData® is running; however, the data experiment will stop and the sensor will disconnect from the CE emulator running the EasyData® App. When you return to the CE emulator, you will need to reconnect the sensor to the EasyData® CE App using either File>New or the “Scan” shortcut key in the EasyData® App and begin a new data collection experiment. Previous experiment data may or may not be stored. Always “QUIT” the EasyData® CE App to store experiment data to the emulator lists. Additional help If you need additional help using the EasyData® App with the calculator to collect data, please see http://www2.vernier.com/manuals/easydata_guidebook.pdf for details.

Select your country for more product information.

Contact TI Support education.ti.com/ti-cares Select your country for technical and other support resources. Service and Warranty Information education.ti.com/warranty Select your country for information about the length and terms of the warranty or about product service. Limited Warranty. This warranty does not affect your statutory rights. Updates education.ti.com/84ceupdate General Information 32

Other Calculator Manuals