Texas Instruments TI-Nspire Manual Book
Read Online
Read the Texas Instruments TI-Nspire Manual Book online using the built-in PDF viewer.
Text of the manual
Getting Started with
TI-Nspire™ Navigator™
Teacher Software
This guidebook applies to TI-Nspire™ software version 3.0. To obtain the
latest version of the documentation, go to education.ti.com/guides.
Except as otherwise expressly stated in the License that accompanies a
program, Texas Instruments makes no warranty, either express or
implied, including but not limited to any implied warranties of
merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose, regarding any
programs or book materials and makes such materials available solely on
an "as-is" basis. In no event shall Texas Instruments be liable to anyone
for special, collateral, incidental, or consequential damages in connection
with or arising out of the purchase or use of these materials, and the sole
and exclusive liability of Texas Instruments, regardless of the form of
action, shall not exceed the amount set forth in the license for the
program. Moreover, Texas Instruments shall not be liable for any claim of
any kind whatsoever against the use of these materials by any other
party.
License
Please see the complete license installed in C:\Program Files\TI
Education\TI-Nspire CAS.
© 2011 Texas Instruments Incorporated
Macintosh®, Windows®, Excel®, PowerPoint®, Microsoft® Internet
Explorer®, Mozilla® FireFox®, Java™, Google® Chrome®, Apple®
Safari®, Vernier EasyLink®, EasyTemp®, Go!Link®, Go!Motion®,
Go!Temp®, DataQuest™, and Blackboard™ are trademarks of their
respective owners.
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software ...1
Unpacking the boxes...................................................................... 2
Charging the cradles ...................................................................... 5
Installing the handheld software .................................................. 6
Setting up your TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ network
the first time ............................................................................. 8
Connecting the handhelds to the wireless adapters.................. 14
Connecting the handhelds to the cradles................................... 16
Storing the wireless adapters and cradles .................................. 18
Checking the status of wireless adapters and cradles................ 18
Creating and managing your teacher account........................... 20
Logging in to the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ system
from the handheld ................................................................. 24
Getting started with the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™
Teacher Software ............................................................27
Exploring the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher software.......... 29
Exploring workspaces................................................................... 31
Changing language...................................................................... 31
Using help..................................................................................... 32
Using the Content Workspace..............................................35
Exploring the Resources pane ..................................................... 37
Exploring the Content pane ........................................................ 38
Working with Links ...................................................................... 41
Using Web Content ...................................................................... 44
Working with connected handhelds........................................... 48
Working with lesson bundles ...................................................... 53
Sending files to a class ................................................................. 61
Understanding the rules of content transfer ............................. 62
Using the Class Workspace...................................................65
Adding classes............................................................................... 66
Removing classes .......................................................................... 69
Adding students to classes........................................................... 69
Removing students from classes.................................................. 71
Beginning and ending a class session ......................................... 72
Changing the student view ......................................................... 73
Arranging the seating chart ........................................................ 74
Checking student login status ..................................................... 74
Sorting student information........................................................ 75
Changing the classes assigned to a student ............................... 75
Changing student names and identifiers....................................77
Moving students to another class................................................78
Copying students to another class...............................................79
Exploring the Class Record...........................................................80
Sending files to a class..................................................................81
Collecting files from students ......................................................83
Managing Unprompted actions...................................................85
Saving files to a Portfolio record .................................................87
Deleting files from handhelds .....................................................88
Checking the status of file transfers............................................89
Canceling file transfers.................................................................90
Deleting items from the Class Record .........................................90
Viewing file properties.................................................................91
Resetting student passwords .......................................................91
Using the Documents Workspace........................................ 95
Using the Documents Toolbox.....................................................96
Using the workspace ..................................................................104
Viewing and changing document settings ...............................106
Sending files to a class................................................................110
Sending files to a handheld .......................................................111
Working with Lesson Bundles....................................................112
Updating the handheld OS ........................................................117
Using the Review Workspace............................................. 119
Using the Review toolbox ..........................................................121
Exploring the Data View pane...................................................126
Opening documents for review.................................................129
Viewing data...............................................................................131
Organizing responses .................................................................133
Hiding and showing responses ..................................................137
Marking responses as correct or incorrect ................................141
Adding teacher data...................................................................145
Saving to the Portfolio workspace ............................................148
Using the Portfolio Workspace.......................................... 149
Exploring the Assignments pane ...............................................150
Using the Workspace..................................................................151
Saving an item to the Portfolio workspace...............................153
Importing an item to Portfolio ..................................................154
Editing scores ..............................................................................155
Exporting results.........................................................................156
Sorting information in Portfolio................................................157
Opening a Portfolio item in another workspace......................157
Opening a Master Document.....................................................158
Adding a Master Document ...................................................... 159
Redistributing a Portfolio item.................................................. 160
Collecting missing files from students ...................................... 160
Sending missing files to students .............................................. 160
Renaming a Portfolio item ........................................................ 161
Removing files from Portfolio ................................................... 161
Polling students ..................................................................163
Opening the Quick Poll tool...................................................... 164
Sending a Quick Poll .................................................................. 166
Stopping polls............................................................................. 166
Saving polls................................................................................. 167
Viewing poll results.................................................................... 167
Responding to polls (student instruction) ................................ 169
Capturing Screens...............................................................173
Accessing Screen Capture .......................................................... 173
Using Capture Class.................................................................... 174
Setting Teacher Preferences for Capture Class ......................... 178
Setting view options in Capture Class....................................... 179
Comparing selected screens....................................................... 183
Using Make Presenter ................................................................ 184
Saving screens when using Capture Class ................................. 184
Printing captured screens .......................................................... 185
Using Capture Page.................................................................... 187
Using Capture Selected Handheld............................................. 188
Viewing captured screens .......................................................... 189
Saving captured pages and handheld screens.......................... 191
Copying and pasting a screen.................................................... 193
Using Live Presenter ...........................................................195
Before starting Live Presenter ................................................... 195
Starting Live Presenter............................................................... 195
Exploring Live Presenter mode.................................................. 196
Hiding and showing student names ......................................... 198
Hiding and showing the presenter handheld .......................... 199
Viewing Keypress History........................................................... 200
Showing the handheld screen only........................................... 202
Recording the live presentation................................................ 203
Stopping Live Presenter ............................................................. 204
Regulatory Information .....................................................205
USA FCC Information Concerning Radio Frequency
Interference .......................................................................... 205
Canadian IC Information............................................................207
Texas Instruments Support and Service .....................................215
For U.S. and Canada: ..................................................................215
Index ................................................................................... 217
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
1
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™
Teacher Software
This Getting Started with TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
guide is designed to help you get started with your TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ classroom learning system. This guide gives you information
on setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software for the first
time, setting up the hardware, creating and managing classrooms,
managing student accounts; and guides you through an introduction of
using some of the features included in the software.
For more detailed information on using these features and to see all of
the features of the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software, refer to
the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software Guidebook available at
education.ti.com/guides.
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ classroom learning system provides the
hardware and software tools you need to set up a wireless classroom
network.
The system is composed of two parts, hardware and software. The
hardware creates a wireless communications network so that your
computer can communicate with your students’ handhelds. The
hardware includes TI-Nspire™ CX Wireless Network Adapters, TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Cradles, and the TI-Navigator™ access point.
The wireless adapters are used with the TI-Nspire™ CX handhelds. The
cradles are used with the TI-Nspire™ CX, TI-Nspire™ CX CAS, TI-Nspire™,
or TI-Nspire™ CAS handhelds. The access point is the communication link
used in all wireless classroom setups.
The software contains a number of tools to enhance your classroom,
including:
•
Quick Poll. Lets you send polls to your students, receive the students’
responses to the polls, and review the poll results with your students.
•
Screen Capture. Lets you capture your students’ handheld screens
automatically or at specific time intervals.
•
Live Presenter. Lets you display work as it is being performed on
your handheld screen or your students’ handheld screens.
•
Review and Analysis. Lets you collect and review student
assignments, and analyze data for the entire class or for individual
students.
You can obtain educational content on the Web at TI’s Activities
Exchange (education.ti.com/activities).
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
There are a few ways to learn to set up and use the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher Software:
•
The Start Here Guide—a short version of the setup process with fewer
details.
•
This Getting Started with the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher
Software guide, provided in both printed and PDF formats. The
Getting Started Guide introduces you to the software and walks you
through setting up classrooms.
•
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software Guidebook, provided
in PDF format and available at education.ti.com/guides. The
TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software Guidebook gives you
complete information on all functions of the software.
After you install the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software on your
computer, you can use the Getting Started Guide or the Software
Guidebook as a reference for the software tools.
The process of unpacking the equipment, setting up the hardware, and
installing the software will probably require about two hours of your
time.
Unpacking the boxes
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ system product consists of TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher Software, an access point, and either 15 or 30
cradles or wireless adapters, depending on your specific order. If
necessary, you can purchase additional kits to accommodate as many as
40 students.
Identify each item, and check the items against the following lists to
make sure your order is complete.
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
3
Each TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ system comes with the following items.
•
1 TI-Navigator™ access point
•
1 AC9930 power adapter (includes power supply and power cord)
•
1 USB computer cable
•
1 DVD containing system software
•
The Getting Started with the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher
Software guide
Access point
USB cable
AC9930 power adapter for the access point
One DVD
Getting Started guide
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
If you purchased the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ System for use with the
TI-Nspire™ CX, TI-Nspire™ CX CAS, TI-Nspire™, or TI-Nspire™ CAS
handhelds, your contents include the following items:
•
TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Cradles
•
AC9940 power adapter (includes power supply and power cord)
•
TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Cradle Charging Bay
If you purchased the TI-Nspire™ CX Navigator™ System for use with the
TI-Nspire™ CX or TI-Nspire™ CX CAS handhelds exclusively, your contents
include the following items. Quantities will vary, depending on the
system you purchased.
•
TI-Nspire™ CX Wireless Network Adapaters
•
TI-Nspire™ CX Wireless Network Adapter storage cases
Cradle charging bay
Cradles
AC9940 power adapter
(for the charging bay)
Wireless network
adapter
Storage case for
the TI-Nspire™ CX Wireless Network
Adapters
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
5
Charging the cradles
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Cradles contain rechargable batteries. You
must charge the batteries overnight before using them in your class.
When the cradles are fully charged, they will function all day under
continuous use. You should recharge them each night.
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Cradle Charging Bay can hold from one to
five cradles. After you place the cradles in the charging bay, they are
charged simultaneously until all are fully charged. If the batteries are
fully discharged, it may take up to 12 hours to fully charge the batteries.
Note: You cannot damage the batteries by leaving them in the charging
bay beyond the time needed to fully charge them. Also, it is not
necessary to fully discharge the batteries before recharging them.
Make sure you have enough (3–4) power outlets for the equipment you
received. If necessary, obtain a plug strip so that you have plenty of
grounded outlets.
1. Insert the small end of the AC9940 power adapter cord into the
charging bay’s power jack.
2. Plug the other end of the adapter into a power outlet.
3. Insert each TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ wireless cradle into the
TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Cradle Charging Bay. Make sure the LED is
amber.
Note: You can charge a single wireless cradle using an AC9926 adapter
(sold separately).
Checking the LEDs
Two LEDs (small lights) at the top of each TI-Nspire™ Navigator™
wireless cradle blink or change colors to indicate various operations or
status.
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
The
LED indicates network activity. The
LED indicates battery-
charging status.
When the cradles are still in the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Cradle Charging
Bay:
•
A solid amber
LED means the wireless cradle is currently
recharging.
•
A solid red
LED means the wireless cradle does not have good
contact with the charging bay. Reposition the cradle so it has good
contact and the LED turns amber.
•
A solid green
LED means the wireless cradle is fully charged.
Installing the handheld software
Before you use the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software with your
handhelds, make sure you have the latest operating system installed on
all of the handhelds in order for the software to work properly.
You can use the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software to update the
handheld operating system.
Note: After you install the latest OS on one handheld, you can use that
handheld to install the OS on other handhelds.
1. Make sure you have connected a TI-Nspire™ handheld to your
computer.
2. Open the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software.
3. Make sure you are in the Content workspace.
The software displays a list of connected handhelds in the Resources
pane and lets you select one.
Note: You can communicate with only one handheld at a time.
LEDs
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
7
4. If multiple handhelds are connected, click the handheld to which you
want to connect.
5. Click Help >Check for Handheld OS Update.
TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software displays a dialog box asking
if you want to install the OS on the handheld, save it to your
computer, or both.
6. Click Browse if you want to change the location to save the handheld
operating system.
7. Click Continue.
8. Accept the license agreement and click Continue.
TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software displays a message box
warning you that any unsaved data will be lost. Click Yes to continue.
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
A progress screen is displayed.
9. When the operating system software has transferred to your
TI-Nspire™ handheld, click OK. You may now disconnect the
handheld from your computer, and the operating system software
will install itself onto your handheld.
Note: Consider keeping one or two spare handhelds with the latest
operating system and ample memory. It is also a good idea to have spare
cradles on hand. If a problem occurs, you can substitute a spare part.
Setting up your TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ network
the first time
A Network Setup wizard helps you activate the access point and wireless
adapters and cradles for wireless communication.
If you have not used the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
before, a prompt opens asking if you want to set up your classroom. You
can choose to set up your classroom or continue on to the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ computer home screen.
Before you begin
1. Make sure you have installed and activated the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher Software on your computer.
2. If you are using TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Cradles, make sure each
cradle is charged (
LED is solid amber or solid green).
Note: If you are using TI-Nspire™ Wireless Network Adapters, you do not
need to charge them. The wireless network adapters are powered by the
TI-Nspire™ CX or TI-Nspire™ CX CAS handheld.
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
9
Connecting the cables to the access point
1. Identify the cables.
2. Connect the AC9930 power adapter to the power jack on the access
point.
3. Connect the USB cable to the access point.
4. Make sure the access point power light is on.
AC9930 Power adapter
USB cable
USB connection
Access point, side view
Power adapter
jack
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
Checking the access point LEDS
POWER – Indicates that the access point is receiving power from the
power adapter.
TEST – The access point is in self-test mode. This LED should blink for a
minute and then stop.
STATUS: 100 LINK/ACT – Indicates data transfer.
SIGNAL: 802.11 b/g – Indicates wireless link activity.
Starting the wizard
When you complete the installation of the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™
Teacher Software, open TI-Nspire™ Network Manager to set up your
system.
`
To open Network Manager, click Tools > Network Manager.
A setup wizard helps you through the next steps.
Note: You can run the setup wizard later by opening TI-Nspire™
Network Manager and clicking Actions > Network Setup Wizard.
1. Confirm that the AC9930 power adapter is connected to the access
point.
2. Plug the AC adapter into a power outlet.
3. Plug the USB cable into the computer.
4. Click Next to proceed with the wizard.
TI-Nspire™ Network Manager displays a dialog box to select a country
and channel.
Power
Test
Status
Signal
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
11
5. Select your country. The operating channel is automatically set to a
default setting.
6. Click OK.
TI-Nspire™ Network Manager sends signals to the access point to add
it to the network.
After the access point is found, the wizard displays a message.
7. Click OK.
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
The software may display a message saying the access point firmware
needs to be updated. Click Yes to update the access point firmware.
The next step is to add the TI-Nspire™ CX Wireless Network Adapters
or TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Cradles to your classroom network. The
wireless adapters are used to communicate between the TI-Nspire™
CX handhelds and the access point. The cradles are used to
communicate between any of the TI-Nspire™ handhelds and the
access point. Both the wireless adapters and the cradles allow
teachers to communicate with the students’ handhelds to transfer
files, update the OS, and other actions.
Note: The TI-Nspire™ Network Manager wizard automatically guides
you through the process for adding wireless adapters or cradles. You
can automatically or manually add wireless adapters or cradles at any
time by following the procedures below.
Adding wireless adapters or cradles automatically
Before you use the auto-discover feature, make sure the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Cradles are charged.
1. Click Auto-Discover Wireless Client(s).
2. Turn on each TI-Nspire™ handheld.
3. Attach the wireless adapter or the wireless cradle to each handheld.
(See the instructions below for connecting wireless adapters or
cradles to a TI-Nspire™ handheld.)
After a brief search for existing wireless adapters or cradles, a dialog
box opens, listing all adapters and cradles that were found.
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
13
4. Highlight each wireless adapter or wireless cradle you want to add,
and click Add.
To add all of the wireless clients listed in the Available Wireless Clients
column, click Add All.
Note: If the adapter or cradle does not appear in the Available
Wireless Clients column after 6 minutes, try these tips:
•
Check the ID numbers of the wireless adapters or cradles to see
which ones are not connecting.
•
Detach and reattach the wireless adapter or wireless cradle to the
handheld.
•
Verify that the cradle is locked. (The lock on the back of the cradle
is in the ON position.)
5. When all of the adapters and cradles are added, click Finish.
Adding wireless adapters or cradles manually
When you add a wireless adapter or cradle manually, it immediately
appears in the TI-Nspire™ Network Manager window.
1. Click Manually Add Wireless Client(s).
The Add Wireless Clients by ID Number dialog box displays.
2. For each wireless adapter or cradle you are adding, identify the ID
number on the back of the adapter or cradle, and enter it in the
Wireless Client ID box. The ID is six digits.
Wireless network
adapter ID
Cradle ID
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
3. Enter a nickname in the Wireless Client Nickname box (optional).
Nicknames can consist of letters, spaces, and numbers. A nickname
must contain a minimum of 1 character and can contain a maximum
of 64 characters.
4. Click Add Next to add another adapter or cradle if you have more
than one wireless client to add.
5. When you are finished adding all of the adapters and cradles, click
Finish.
Removing adapters or cradles from an existing network
Even though a classroom network has been set up correctly, sometimes
you may need to remove TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Wireless Network
Adapters or TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Cradles from the network.
You might need to remove adapters or cradles because your access point
has been associated with wireless clients that should belong to another
classroom.
1. In the TI-Nspire™ Network Manager window, select the wireless
adapters and cradles that you want to remove from the network.
2. Click Actions > Remove Selected or click
.
3. Click Remove at the prompt.
The wireless client is no longer listed in the Network Manager
window.
Connecting the handhelds to the wireless
adapters
The TI-Nspire™ CX wireless network adapters work with the TI-Nspire™
CAS and TI-Nspire™ CX CAS handhelds. To connect the handheld to the
wireless adapter, follow these steps.
1. Position the wireless adapter on top of the handheld so the connector
on the adapter lines up with the connector on top of the handheld.
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
15
2. Slide the adapter into position, making sure the guides on the sides
of the adapter slide into the grooves on the sides of the handheld.
3. Firmly press the adapter into place.
Guides for aligning with
handheld
Connector
Grooves to
align wireless
adapter
Sideview of
handheld
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
Connecting the handhelds to the cradles
The cradles work with the TI-Nspire™, TI-Nspire™ CAS, TI-Nspire™ CX
and TI-Nspire™ CX CAS handhelds. To connect the handheld to the
cradle, follow these steps.
1. Slide the lock on the back of the cradle to the OFF position.
2. To attach the handheld, face the screen upward and slide the
handheld onto the top of the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ wireless cradle.
Be sure that both sides of the handheld are inserted into both of the
side guides.
Lock in OFF position.
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
17
3. Press firmly to make a good connection. When properly connected,
the TI-Nspire™ handheld appears to be sitting on top of the cradle.
4. Lock the handheld in place by sliding the lock on the back of the
cradle to the ON position.
5. Insert each cradle into the charging bay. Make sure the LED is amber.
At the end of the school day, return the wireless cradle to the charging
bay and charge them overnight. The cradles are charged when all the
(power status) LEDs are solid green or amber.
Lock in ON position.
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
Storing the wireless adapters and cradles
When you charge the handhelds overnight, you can leave the TI-Nspire™
Wireless Network Adapters attached to the handhelds before placing the
handhelds in the TI-Nspire™ CX Docking Station. When you are ready to
use the handhelds the next morning, the handheld should be fully
charged, and the adapter is ready for use.
You can remove the wireless adapter from the handheld, and store the
adapters in the adapter storage case overnight.
If you need to store the wireless adapters for more than two weeks,
remove the wireless adapter from the handheld, and store the adapters
in the adapter storage case. Place the storage case in a cool, dry place.
If you need to store the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Cradles for more than
two weeks, remove the handhelds from the cradles, and store the cradles
in a cool, dry place. You cannot damage the batteries by leaving them in
the charging bay beyond the time needed to fully charge them, or by
leaving them in the charging bay while the charging bay is unplugged.
Checking the status of wireless adapters and
cradles
After you have added wireless adapters or cradles automatically or
manually, all of the adapters or cradles you added appear in the
TI-Nspire™ Network Manager window. If the wireless adapter or cradle is
charged and attached to a TI-Nspire™ handheld that is powered on,
TI-Nspire™ Network Manager shows the status as connected. It may take
up to 30 seconds to recognize the wireless client and show its status as
connected. The status window also displays the battery status and signal
strength.
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
19
If the cradle is not charged, or the adapter or cradle is not connected to a
TI-Nspire™ handheld that is powered on, TI-Nspire™ Network Manager
displays the status as disconnected. TI-Nspire™ Network Manager
remembers the adapter and cradle IDs you added, and the next time you
turn on the TI-Nspire™ handheld that is connected to the adapter or
cradle, TI-Nspire™ Network Manager recognizes it.
Note: To refresh the TI-Nspire™ Network Manager window, click
View > Refresh or click
.
Identifying selected cradles
At times you may have a problem with one or two TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Cradles in your network that aren’t responding. When you
look at the list of cradles in the TI-Nspire™ Network Manager window,
you can identify which ones are not responding by the Status message,
and you can see the serial numbers.
You could match the serial numbers in the window with the ones printed
on the back of each wireless cradle. However, TI-Nspire™ Network
Manager gives you an easier way to physically locate them. You can use
the Identify selected command to quickly tell which cradles are working
properly in your classroom.
1. From the list of hardware components in the TI-Nspire™ Network
Manager window, click to select all of the working cradles. To select
more than one cradle, press and hold the Shift or Ctrl key
(Macintosh®: “key), and click the items you want to select.
2. Click Actions > Identify Selected.
3. Look around your classroom at the cradles in your network. Both LEDs
on the cradles that you selected will blink rapidly with a green color.
You can identify the cradles that are not working because their LEDs
are not blinking.
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
Now that you know where the non-working cradles are, you can add the
cradles to the network again.
Cradle LEDs
The LEDs on each cradle use various colors and blink patterns to indicate
data activity or power status. This can occur either when the cradles are
seated in the charging bay or when they are outside the charging bay.
The LEDs indicate status as follows.
Activity LED
Battery (Power Status) LED
Creating and managing your teacher account
You can create your teacher account in the Teacher Preferences section of
the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software. Your teacher account lets
you log in to the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ network from your handheld.
Color and pattern
Meaning
Blinking green
Indicates data transfer to and from the
access point.
Color and pattern
Meaning
In the charging bay
Solid amber
The battery is charging.
Solid green
Power on; charged and powered by a
charging bay or power adapter.
Solid red
The battery is charging, but does not have
good contact with the charging bay.
Reposition the cradle so it has good contact.
The LED should then turn amber to indicate
it is recharging.
Outside the charging bay
Blinking green
Power on; battery powered. The battery is
30% to 99% charged.
Blinking amber
Low battery (less than 30% charged).
Blinking red
Battery is critically low (less than 8%
charged).
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
21
After you create your teacher account, you can later change your
password or your user name.
Creating your teacher account
1. Use the Workspace selector to choose the Class workspace.
2. Click File > Settings > Teacher Preferences
.
The Teacher Preferences dialog box opens.
3. Enter a username.
4. Enter a password.
5. Select or deselect the preference for the teacher icon to appear in the
classroom view.
If you select this preference, the teacher icon will appear in the
classroom view, and you will be included as a recipient in Send to
Class, Collect from Class and Delete from Class operations. The
teacher handheld screen will be included in screen captures of the
class.
6. Select or deselect the options to randomize the order in Screen
Capture, and to individualize the teacher handheld in Screen Capture.
•
Randomize order in Screen Capture: selecting this option captures
and displays student screens in a random order, not the order on
the class listing. This enables students to concentrate on the
assignment, not whose screen they are viewing.
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
•
Individualize Teacher Handheld in Screen Capture: selecting this
option shows the teacher’s screen in the screen capture.
7. Click OK.
Changing the password of your teacher account
1. Make sure you are not logged in to the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™
network on your handheld.
2. Click File > Settings > Teacher Preferences
.
The Teacher Preferences dialog box opens.
3. Click Reset.
TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ software clears the current password.
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
23
4. Enter a new password.
5. Click OK.
Changing the user name of your teacher account
1. Make sure you are not logged in to the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™
network on your handheld.
2. Click File > Settings > Teacher Preferences
.
The Teacher Preferences dialog box opens.
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
3. Enter a new user name.
4. Click OK.
Logging in to the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ system
from the handheld
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ classroom learning system uses both your
computer and your students’ handhelds. In order for you and your
students to communicate using the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ network,
your students must log in to the network from their handhelds.
Note: You do not have to log in to communicate with your students’
handhelds; you can use the Transfer Tool to delete files or send files and
operating systems to the students handhelds. However, if you plan to
participate from your handheld during the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ class
session, then you must log in to the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ network
from your handheld.
For more information on using a handheld, refer to the handheld
guidebooks available at education.ti.com/guides.
Before you log in, make sure these items are ready:
•
You have created your teacher account in Teacher Preferences.
•
You have started a class session on your computer.
•
The TI-Nspire™ handheld is ready for login. (The
icon is
blinking.)
Before your students log in, make sure you have completed these items:
•
Create your students’ accounts.
•
Provide your students with their usernames and, if necessary, their
passwords.
Logging in to the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ network
1. To log in, do one of the following:
–
From the home screen of your TI-Nspire™ handheld, select
5:Settings & Status > 5:Login.
–
From a screen other than the home screen:
On a TI-Nspire™ Touchpad, press ~ > 8:Login.
On a TI-Nspire™ Clickpad, press / c > 8:Login.
2. Type your username and password. (Press e to move to the next
field.)
Setting up the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
25
3. Select Login.
The Login Successful screen displays.
TI-Nspire™ handheld login status icons
The icons on the TI-Nspire™ CX, TI-Nspire™ CX CAS, TI-Nspire™, and
TI-Nspire™ CAS handheld screens indicate the communication status
between the handheld and the access point, wireless adapter, wireless
cradle, or TI-Navigator™ network. The icons indicate status as follows.
Icon
Status
Meaning
Blinking
The handheld is searching for an access
point.
Solid
The handheld has found an access point.
Solid
The handheld is not communicating
with the adapter or cradle. Unattach the
handheld from the adapter or cradle,
wait for the icon to disappear, and then
reattach the handheld to the adapter or
cradle.
Blinking
The handheld is connected to the
network and is ready to login.
Solid
The handheld is logged in to the
network and is fully charged.
Getting started with the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
27
Getting started with the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher Software
The DVD that comes with your classroom kit contains TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher software and TI-Nspire™ CAS Navigator™ Teacher
software. When you install the software, both versions of the software
are installed on your computer.
The software automatically opens upon installation, or you can start the
software at any time by clicking the Start > Programs > TI Tools menu
on a PC, or the Applications menu on a Macintosh®, and then choosing
the software you purchased.
To help you get started quickly when you open the software, the
Welcome Screen appears with some common task options.
To begin working with documents, click on an icon or link, or close this
screen manually. Any normal action that takes place automatically, such
as upgrade prompts or the ability to begin using connected handhelds,
appears after you close the Welcome Screen.
À Name. Shows software name.
À
Á
Â
Ã
Ä
Å
Getting started with the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
Á Quick Start icons. Click one of these icons to create a new document
in the chosen application. The icon applications are Calculator,
Graphs, Geometry, Lists & Spreasheet, Data & Statistics, Question,
Notes, and Vernier® DataQuest. The Welcome Screen automatically
closes and the chosen application opens.
 Preview area. When your mouse is hovering over an application icon
or a link in Teacher Tools, this area shows a preview of the application
or tool. A brief description of the icon or link is also displayed at the
top of the area.
à Always show this at startup. Deselect this checkbox to skip this
screen when you open the software.
Ä Close the Welcome Screen. Click here to close this screen and begin
working in the software.
Å Teacher Tools. Click one of these links to close the Welcome Screen
and open the software in the chosen tool.
•
View content. Opens the Content workspace, where you can find
content on your computer, the web, or connected handhelds.
•
Manage handhelds. Opens the Content workspace where you
can see every handheld connected to your computer as well as the
status of each.
•
Transfer documents. Opens the Transfer Tool application in the
Content workspace, where you can send documents, folders, or
new handheld OS files to the connected handhelds.
•
View classes and students. Opens the Class workspace where you
can see the students in a class, or add new classes and students.
•
Open. Opens a dialog box where you can select an existing file on
your computer to open.
•
Recent Documents. Lists the names of recently opened
documents. As your mouse hovers over each document name, the
first page of that document is displayed in the Preview Pane. Click
the name of a document in the list to open that document.
Navigating through the Welcome Screen icons
`
Press Tab to navigate through the icons.
`
Press Shift + Tab to go backward through the icons.
`
Click to act on the selected icon.
As you move through the icons, the Preview area displays a preview of
the application.
Getting started with the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
29
Opening the Welcome Screen manually
The Welcome Screen opens automatically when you open the software.
To open the screen manually, do the following:
`
Click Help > Welcome Screen.
Exploring the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher
software
When you close the Welcome Screen, the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™
Teacher software is open to the last workspace you used. If this is your
first time using the software, the Content workspace is open by default.
Workspaces are explained in more detail below.
The tools described below are available in all workspaces of the
TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher software. For more details on other
areas of the software, see the chapter for each workspace.
Getting started with the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
À Title bar. Shows the name of the current document and the name of
the software. The minimize, maximize, and close buttons are located
in the right corner.
Á Menu bar. Contains tools for working with documents in the current
workspace, and for modifying system settings.
 Workspace Selector. Use these tabs to switch between the Content,
Class, Documents, Review, and Portfolio workspaces.
Note: Some tasks you perform may prevent you from immediately
changing workspaces. If a dialog box awaits a response from you,
enter your response and then change workspaces.
à Tools menu. Shows tools frequently used when working in each
workspace. Every workspace has the Quick Poll, Capture Page, and
Student Name Format icons. Other tool menu options change
depending on which workspace is open. Those tools are covered in
their respective chapters.
•
The Quick Poll tool lets you send a poll to students that they
immediately receive on their handhelds, and receive student
responses. For more information on the Quick Poll tool, see the
Polling Students chapter.
•
The Capture Page tool lets you take a picture of an active
document on the computer, or capture the screen of one or all
connected handhelds. You can take several pictures, and you can
copy/paste and save the images. For more information on
capturing screens, see the Capturing Screens chapter.
•
Student Name Format lets you choose how student names are
displayed, either by Last Name, First Name; or hidden.
Ä Class list. Lists classes that are currently available.
Å Class Actions button. Use this to begin, pause, resume, or end a class.
Understanding the status bar
The status bar gives you information about the network status and the
student login status.
À
Á
Â
Ã
Ä
Å
Getting started with the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
31
Note: Some workspaces have additional information on their status bars.
Any additional status bar information is covered in the respective
workspace chapter.
The network status shows how many TI-Nspire™ CX wireless network
adapters and TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ wireless cradles are currently
connected to the system. You can click here to launch the Network
Manager window.
The student login status shows how many students are currently logged
into class, and how many students are assigned to the current class.
If class is not in session, the student login status shows "Class not
started."
Exploring workspaces
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher software uses workspaces to help
you easily access the tasks you most commonly perform. The TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher software has five predefined workspaces. Each
workspace is explained in additional detail in their respective chapters.
•
Content Workspace. Find and manage content on your computer,
links to websites, connected handhelds, or Texas Instruments web
content.
•
Class Workspace. Manage classes and students, use the class record
panel, and exchange files with students.
•
Documents Workspace. Author documents and demonstrate
mathematical concepts.
•
Review Workspace. Review a collected set of documents; mark,
show, or hide student responses; switch data views; and organize
data.
•
Portfolio Workspace. Save, store, review, and manage class
assignments from students.
Changing language
1. Select File > Settings > Change Language.
The Choose a Language dialog box displays.
Network status
Student login status
Getting started with the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
2. Use the drop-down menu to select the desired language.
3. Restart the application for the language change to take effect.
Note: If you select Simplified Chinese or Traditional Chinese as the
language in the TI-Nspire™ software, you should see Chinese characters
in the menus and dialogs. If your computer uses the Windows® XP
operating system and you do not see Chinese characters, you may need
to install the Windows® XP East Asian Language Support package.
Using help
The Help menu is available in all workspaces. From the Help menu, you
can perform tasks and get useful information to help you use the
software more productively. You can:
•
Open the help file (Press F1 or select Help > TI-Nspire™ Navigator™
Teacher Software Help)
•
Activate or update the software license
•
Manage your subscription
•
Register your TI product
•
Download the latest guidebooks
–
Find information easily and quickly
–
Learn how to perform new tasks more easily and efficiently
•
Visit knowledge sites on the Internet to improve your proficiency with
the product. On these sites, you can find information about how to
use TI products as well as lessons, quizzes, and other instructive
activities shared by educators.
Note: Activities may vary depending on your geographical language.
•
Explore online troubleshooting
•
Run TI-Nspire™ diagnostics
•
Check for updates to the software and handheld operating systems
•
Find information about the current software version
•
Open the Welcome Screen
Getting started with the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
33
Note: Aside from viewing your current software version, you must be
connected to the Internet to perform any of these tasks. You do not need
to be connected to the Internet to view your current version of software
as shown in the About command.
Using the Content Workspace
35
Using the Content Workspace
Use this workspace to move, copy, and transfer content between your
computer and connected handhelds.
À Menu - Contains tools for working with documents and modifying
system settings.
Á Workspace Selector. Click here to choose between the Content,
Class, Documents, Review, and Portfolio workspaces.
Note: Some tasks you perform may prevent you from immediately
changing workspaces. If a dialog box awaits a response from you,
enter your response and then change workspaces.
 Content Workspace toolbar. Shows frequently performed tasks.
à Resources pane. Select content here. You can select from files on
your computer, web content, and connected handhelds.
Ä Class session controls. Choose a class from a list of available classes.
You can begin, pause, resume, or end a class.
Å Content Pane. Shows what you have selected in Resources. You can
resize this pane by selecting the splitter bar between this pane and
the Preview Pane.
À
Á
Â
Ã
Ä
Å
Æ
Ç
Using the Content Workspace
f Use your context menu or select Options
in the Content pane to
perform common tasks related to the item or area you select, or to
change how the information displays.
f To open an item from the Content pane, double-click on that item.
f To sort on a column of items in the Content pane, click on the top of
that column.
f Search within any item selected in Resources. Type the search
keyword in the Search box at the top right of the Content pane and
press Enter.
Æ Preview Pane. Shows more information about the content you have
selected in the content pane. The content appearing in this pane
varies, depending on the item you have selected. You will see the
name and a description of the selected item; actions you can perform;
and files included, if applicable (such as lesson bundle files).
Ç Status bar. See additional details below.
Understanding the status bar
The status bar gives you information about the network status and the
student login status.
The network status shows how many TI-Nspire™ CX Wireless Network
Adapters and TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Cradles are currently connected to
the system. You can click here to launch the Network Manager window.
The student login status shows how many students are currently logged
into class, and how many students are assigned to the current class.
If class is not in session, the student login status shows "Class not
started."
Network status
Student login status
Using the Content Workspace
37
Exploring the Resources pane
À Local Content. Helps you navigate to the correct file on your
computer. Local Content expands and collapses to show these folders:
•
Desktop
•
My Documents (PC)
•
Documents (Macintosh®)
When you select an item in Local Content, the file structure appears
in the Content pane. When you select an item in the Content pane, it
previews the item in the Preview pane.
You can add your own shortcuts in Local Content.
Á Links. You can add your own links to this section. There are also a few
existing links to Texas Instrument sites. Links from the latest version of
the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher software are added when you
upgrade.
f Click on any link to open the link in a new browser.
Note: You can add your own links to the Links section, but you
cannot save website links to the Web Content section.
f For those users in the United States, you can search US standards or
textbooks by selecting the search option from Links.
Â
Ã
Á
À
Using the Content Workspace
 Web Content. Links to Texas Instruments activities that are available
to a user who is connected to the Internet. You can save material that
you find on these sites to your computer and share items through
Local Content pane and Connected Handhelds. You cannot save
website links to the Web Content section.
Note: The web content available to you varies depending on your
region. If there is no online content, this section will not appear.
When you select an item in Web Content, the list of activities display
in the Content pane, with a preview of the activity selected appearing
in the Preview pane.
à Connected Handhelds. When you select Connected Handhelds in the
left pane, the Content pane displays detailed information about each
handheld including a name, battery status for the rechargeable and
AAA batteries, the storage space, and the OS in use. Error messages
also appear showing, for instance, connection errors.
Exploring the Content pane
By default, the Desktop and My Documents folders are listed. Use the
Content pane as you would a file manager to navigate to folders and
files on a computer.
À Toolbar. Tools used to locate folders and files.
À
Á
Â
Using the Content Workspace
39
Á Content pane. Lists the folders and files from the location you have
selected in Resources: your computer, web content, or connected
handhelds.
 Preview pane. Shows details about a selected folder or file in the
Content pane.
Using the content pane tool bar
The Content pane tool bar provides tools needed to locate folders and
files.
À Options. Click ¤ to open the drop-down menu to access options for
working with files and folders.
Á Look in: field. Contains the path and name of the current folder and
file. Click ¤ to view a history of accessed folders.
 Click
to move up a level in the folder hierarchy.
à Click
to create a new folder. The new folder is added to the list.
Type a name for the folder and and press Enter.
Ä Search. Enter a search keyword or phrase and press Enter to find all
files containing that word or phrase.
Using the Preview pane
In the Content workspace, detail about a selected folder, file, or lesson
bundle is displayed in the Preview pane.
À
Á
 Ã
Ä
Using the Content Workspace
À A thumbnail preview of the selected folder, file, or lesson bundle. If a
lesson bundle is empty, this space is blank. If you selected a folder
that does not contain supported files, an error message is displayed.
Á If a document has multiple pages, use the forward arrow
to
preview the next page. The backward arrow becomes active so you
can move backward through the pages. If working with a lesson
bundle, you can choose to preview a TI-Nspire™ document within the
bundle.
 If a lesson bundle is selected the Files window appears above the
Details window listing the files in the lesson bundle. You can double-
click a file to open it.
à If a folder is selected, the Details window shows the name of the
folder, the path where the folder is located, and the date modified.
À
Á
Â
Ã
Using the Content Workspace
41
For document files and lesson bundle files, the Details window shows
the name, the date the file was modified, the file size, and whether
or not the file is read only.
Using shortcuts
Use this option to add drives, folders, or lesson bundles containing
frequently used files to the Local Content list. If a selected folder does
not contain TI-Nspire™ (.tns or .tnsp) files, an error message is displayed.
Adding a shortcut
To access files on a drive, you must add the shortcut to the Local Content
pane. To add a shortcut:
1. Navigate to the folder that contains the frequently used files.
2. Click
, then select Create Shortcuts.
The folder is added to the list of folders under the Local Content
heading in the Resources pane.
Deleting a shortcut
To delete a shortcut:
1. From the Local Content list, select the folder to be deleted.
2. Right-click on the selected folder to open the context menu, then
click Remove Shortcut.
Note: You cannot remove default shortcuts.
Working with Links
By default, the Links list contains a list of links to Texas Instruments web
sites. Click a link to launch your web browser and access the web site.
Using the Links toolbar
When you select Links in the Resource pane, the tools on the toolbar are
specific to working with links. Use these tools to add, edit, or delete links
from the list. You can also move a link up or down in the list.
Using the Content Workspace
Adding a link
Complete the following steps to add a link to the list of Links in the
Resource pane.
1. Click
to open the Add Link dialog box.
2. Type the name of the link.
3. Type the URL in the Address field.
4. Click Add Link.
The link is added to the bottom of the list of existing links.
Click ¤ to open the drop-down menu to access options for
working with links.
Click this icon to add a link to the list.
Select an existing link, then click this icon to edit the link’s
attributes.
Click this icon to delete a link. You cannot delete a default link.
Select a link and click this icon to move the link up in the list.
Select a link and click this icon to move the link down in the list.
Using the Content Workspace
43
Editing an existing link
Complete the following steps to edit an existing link.
1. Select the link you want to change.
2. Click
to open the Edit Link dialog box.
3. Make needed changes to the name of the link or to the URL.
4. Click Edit Link.
The changes are applied to the link.
Removing a link
Complete the following steps to delete a link.
1. Select the link you want to delete.
2. Click
.
3. Click Remove Link when the confirmation window opens.
The link is removed from the list.
Note: You cannot delete a default link.
Moving links up or down in the list
You can change the order of the links in the list to suit your needs.
f Click
to move a selected link up one place in the list.
f Click
to move a selected link down one place in the link.
f Click
, then select Move to Top of List to relocate a selected link
to the top of the list.
Using the Content Workspace
f Click
, then select Move to Bottom of List to relocate a selected
link to the bottom of the list.
Using Web Content
Web Content provides links to online activities on Texas Instruments web
sites. You can save material found on these web sites to your computer
and share items using the Local Content pane and Connected Handhelds.
Information provided for each activity includes the name of the activity,
the author, the date the activity was posted, the size of the file, and the
source.
Note: An Internet connection is required to access Texas Instruments web
sites.
À Tool bar.
Á Column headings.
 List of available activities.
à List of the files contained in the activity.
Ä Details about the selected activity. A description of the file is also
shown.
À
Á
Â
Ã
Ä
Using the Content Workspace
45
Sorting the list of activities
Use the column headings to sort the information in the list of activities or
add additional column headings. By default the list is displayed in
alphabetical order by Name.
•
Click the Name heading to list activities in reverse alphabetical order.
Click the heading again to return to A to Z order.
•
Click the Author heading to list the activities in alphabetical order by
author name.
•
Click the Posted Date heading to list the activities in order from
newest to oldest or from oldest to newest.
•
Click the Size heading to list the activities according to file size.
•
Click the Source heading to list the activities in order by source.
•
Right-click a column heading to add column headings. Choose from
the following options: Description, Grade Level, Subject Area, Device,
Activity Time, Subject, Topic, and Category.
Filtering the list of activities
By default, all available activities are listed in the Content pane. Options
on the tool bar enable you to filter the activities by subject, topic, and
category. You can also search for an activity using a keyword search.
To find all activities related to a particular subject:
1. In the Subject field, click ¤ to open the drop-down menu.
2. Select a subject.
All activities related to the selected subject are listed.
3. To narrow the search, click ¤ in the Topic field to view and select a
topic related to the subject selected.
4. Use the Category field to narrow the search even further. Click ¤ to
select a category related to the selected subject and topic.
Using keywords to search for an activity
Complete the following steps to search for an activity using a keyword or
phrase.
1. Type a keyword or phrase in the "Filter by Keyword" field.
2. Press Enter.
All activities that contain the keyword or phrase are listed.
Using the Content Workspace
Opening an activity
1. Select the activity you want to open.
2. Double-click the activity to open it, or click
, then select Open.
The Open Activity dialog box opens with a list of all documents
related to the selected activity.
You can open a .tns or .tsnp in the TI-Nspire™ software. Other files
such as Microsoft® Word and Adobe® PDF files will open in their
respective applications.
3. Double-click the activity to open it, or click ¢, then select Open.
The selected .tns document opens in the Documents workspace.
Saving an activity to your computer
Complete the following steps to save an activity to your computer.
1. Select the activity you want to save. The file details are displayed in
the bottom half of the window.
2. Click Save this Activity to Computer.
3. When the Save Selected Files dialog opens, navigate to the folder
where you want to save the file.
Using the Content Workspace
47
4. Click Save. A copy of the activity is saved to your computer as a lesson
bundle.
Copying an activity
Complete the following steps to copy an activity. Once the activity is
copied to the clipboard, you can paste the activity into a folder on your
computer, then drag the activity to your list of shortcuts in the Local
Content pane.
1. Click the activity you want to copy to select it.
2. Use one of the following methods to copy the activity to the
clipboard:
•
Select the activity with your mouse, then drag it to a folder in the
Local Content list.
•
Click
, then select Copy.
•
Right-click, then select Copy from the context menu.
•
Right-click on a file in the Files list, then select Copy.
•
Click
, which is located in the tool bar.
The activity is copied to the clipboard.
3. Open a folder on your computer, then select Edit > Paste to copy the
activity to the selected folder.
Sending an activity to a connected handheld
Complete the following steps to send a selected activity to connected
handhelds.
1. Select the file you want to send to connected handhelds. The file
details are displayed in the bottom half of the window.
2. Use one of the following options to send the file to the selected
handhelds:
•
To "drag and drop" the file, click the file to select it, then drag it
to the Selected Handhelds label to transfer to the file to all
connected handhelds. To transfer the file to a specific handheld,
drag the file to a specific handheld name.
•
To transfer the file using Transfer Tool:
Note: You can not use the Transfer Tool to transfer files to
handhelds while a class is in session.
Using the Content Workspace
–
From the tool bar, click
, then select Send to Connected
Handhelds.
–
Click
, then select Send to Connected Handhelds.
The Transfer Tool opens.
3. Select the file, then click Start Transfer.
The Status window opens and the Stop Transfer button is enabled.
The selected files and folders are transferred to the selected
handhelds.
4. When the transfer is complete, close the Transfer Tool.
Working with connected handhelds
You can use the Content workspace to perform a number of tasks. To use
the features described in this section, your handhelds must be turned on
and connected by one of these means:
•
The TI-Nspire™ Docking Station or TI-Nspire™ CX Docking Station
•
TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Cradle
•
TI-Nspire™ CX Wireless Network Adapter
•
A direct connection through a standard USB cable
Note: The tasks in this section can only be performed by TI-Nspire™
handhelds. TI-84 handhelds are not supported in these tasks.
Using the Content Workspace
49
Viewing content on connected handhelds
When you select a handheld in the Resources pane, all files and folders
on the handheld appear in the Content pane. When a .tns file is selected,
you will have to click for screen capture preview within the Preview
pane.
À Workspace selector - Click here to choose between the Content,
Class, Documents, Review, and Portfolio workspaces.
Á Connected Handhelds - Shows all handhelds that are connected
and turned on.
 Options - Available options vary depending on the task you select
under Resources.
à Content pane - When Connected Handhelds is selected, the Content
pane shows details about handhelds that are connected and turned
on:
•
Name of handhelds
•
Li-ion (rechargeable) battery charge (Critical 2%, 25%, 50%, 75%,
100%, or "--" to indicate no battery is present)
•
AAA battery charge (Critical 2%, 25%, 50%, 75%, 100%, or "--" to
indicate no battery is present)
•
Storage / Size - The amount of space left and available on the
handheld
À
Â
Ã
Ä
Á
Using the Content Workspace
•
OS version - The operating system in use
Ä Preview Pane - Illustrates the selected handheld. If you click on a
handheld file in the Content pane, the Preview pane shows a preview
of that file.
When you select a handheld, all files and folders on the handheld appear
in the Content pane. When a file or folder is selected, the details are
displayed in the Preview pane. Click the icon to preview the document.
Details about the selected folder or file are shown in the Preview pane.
f To view the files in a folder, double-click the folder name in the
Content pane. The files in the folder are listed in the Content pane.
f To preview the contents of a .tns file, select Click here to preview
document.
Details for selected folder
Details for selected file
Using the Content Workspace
51
Using Identify Selected to locate handhelds
If you are using the TI-Nspire™ Docking Station or the TI-Nspire™ CX
Docking Station, you can use this feature to locate handhelds.
1. Be sure that the handhelds are turned on and that the docking
station is connected to your computer.
2. Use the Workspace selector to select the Content Workspace.
3. Click Tools > Identify Selected or right-click on the handheld in the
Content pane.
Both LED lights on the TI-Nspire™ CX Docking Station or TI-Nspire™
Docking Station under the slot where the handheld is located will
blink for 30 seconds.
Performing tasks on connected handhelds
You can perform tasks on connected handhelds in the same way you do
in other areas of the software:
•
Toolbar icons
•
Edit menu
•
Drag and drop
•
Keyboard shortcuts
•
Context menu option
Note: For easier reading, descriptions here do not always show every
way to perform a task.
For more information about working with handhelds, including
connecting and saving to handhelds, please see Working with documents
in the TI-Nspire™ Software.
Managing files on a connected handheld
When working with files on connected handhelds in the Content
workspace, use the Options drop-down menu
or the context menu
to manage files.
Option
How it Works
Open
Open a file on a connected handheld:
•
Select the file you want to open.
•
Select Open. The document opens in the Documents
Workspace.
Using the Content Workspace
Save to
Computer
Save a copy of the selected file on your computer.
•
Select the file you want to save.
•
Select Save to Computer. The Save Select File dialog
box opens.
•
Navigate to the folder where you want to save the
file.
•
Click Save.
Copy/Paste
Create a copy of a file:
•
Select the file you want to copy.
•
Select Options > Copy to copy the file to the
clipboard.
•
To paste the file in another location, navigate to the
new location, then select Options > Paste.
Note: If you don’t select a new location, the copied
file is pasted with a new name "Copy of ..."
Delete
Delete a file on a connected handheld:
•
Select the file you want to delete.
•
Select Delete.
•
Click Yes when the Warning dialog opens. Click No
to cancel.
Refresh
To refresh the list of files, select Options > Refresh.
Rename
To rename a file on a connected handheld:
•
Select the file you want to rename.
•
Select Rename
•
Type the new name and press Enter.
Up a Level
Go up a level. This option is available when you select a
file inside a folder.
New Folder
Create a new folder:
•
Click New Folder.
•
Type a name for the new folder.
•
Press Enter.
Option
How it Works
Using the Content Workspace
53
Renaming handhelds
You can rename the handhelds that you store in the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher Software.
Note: Renaming a handheld does not affect student login information.
1. Right-click on the handheld(s) in the Content pane.
2. Select Rename.
3. Edit the name(s).
4. Press Enter to go to the next name to edit.
To exit the Edit mode, click on an area of the screen outside the handheld
names. You will also leave the Edit mode after you click Enter on the last
name you edit.
Working with lesson bundles
Many lessons or activities contain multiple files. For example, teachers
usually have a teacher version of a file, a student version, assessments,
and sometimes supporting files. A lesson bundle is a container that
enables you to group all files needed for a lesson together. Using lesson
bundles enables you to:
•
Add any type of file (for example, .tns, .tnsp, .doc, .pdf, .ppt) to a
lesson bundle. You can send lesson bundles to connected handhelds;
however, only the .tns files are sent to the handheld.
•
View all the files in a lesson bundle using the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™
Teacher Software.
•
Group all files associated with one lesson in one place.
•
E-mail one lesson bundle file to teachers or students instead of
looking for and attaching multiple files.
Using the Content Workspace
Creating a new lesson bundle
Complete the following steps to create a new lesson bundle.
1. In the Content workspace, navigate to the folder in Local Content
where you want to save the lesson bundle.
2. Click
or select File > New Lesson Bundle.
The new lesson bundle file is created with a default name and placed
in your list of files.
3. Type a name for your lesson bundle and press Enter to save the file.
Adding files to a lesson bundle
By default, lesson bundles are empty when created. Use any of the
following methods to add files to a lesson bundle:
•
"Drag and drop" any file into a selected lesson bundle. This method
moves the file to the lesson bundle. If you delete the lesson bundle,
the file is deleted from your computer. You can recover the file from
the Recycle Bin.
•
Copy and paste any file into a selected lesson bundle.
•
Use the "Add files to lesson bundle" option. This method copies the
selected files into the lesson bundle. The file is not moved from its
original location.
Using the Add files lesson bundle option
To add files to the bundle using the Add files to lesson bundle option:
1. In the content pane, select the lesson bundle name. The file details
are displayed in the Preview pane.
Note: If the lesson bundle already contains files, the first file in the
lesson bundle is also shown in the Preview pane.
Using the Content Workspace
55
2. To open the lesson bundle window:
•
Double-click the lesson bundle file.
-or-
•
Right-click the name of the lesson bundle to open the context
menu, then select Open.
3. Click Add Files to Lesson Bundle to open the Add window.
Note: You can also click Add Files to Lesson Bundle in the Preview
Pane.
Using the Content Workspace
4. Use the file manager in the Add window to navigate to and select the
file you want to add to the lesson bundle.
•
You can select multiple files at one time if they are located in the
same folder by pressing and holding the Ctrl key (Macintosh®: “)
while clicking each file name.
•
If files are located in different folders, you can add them one at a
time.
•
You cannot create a folder within a lesson bundle or add a folder
to a lesson bundle.
•
You cannot add a lesson bundle to a lesson bundle.
5. Click Add to add the file to the bundle.
The file is copied to the lesson bundle and the file name is listed in
the lesson bundle window.
6. Repeat this process until all needed files are added to the lesson
bundle.
Selecting files to create a lesson bundle
Within the software, you can select multiple files in a folder, then create
the lesson bundle. You cannot add a folder or a lesson bundle to a lesson
bundle.
1. In the Content workspace, navigate to the folder that contains the
files you want to bundle.
2. Select the files. To select multiple files, select the first file then hold
down the Shift key and select the last file in the list. To select random
files, select the first file, then hold down the Ctrl key (Macintosh®: “)
and click the other files to select them.
Using the Content Workspace
57
3. Click
, then select Lesson Bundles > Create Lesson Bundle from
selected.
4. A new lesson bundle is created and placed in the open folder. The
lesson bundle contains copies of the selected files.
5. Type a name for the lesson bundle and press Enter.
Opening a lesson bundle
To view and work with files within a lesson bundle, complete one of the
following steps to open the lesson bundle file.
f Double-click the lesson bundle name.
f Select the lesson bundle, then right-click and select Open from the
context menu.
f Select the lesson bundle, click
, then select Open.
f Select the lesson bundle, then press Ctrl + O. (Macintosh®: “ + O).
When you open a lesson bundle, the files in the bundle are displayed in a
separate window.
Note: You cannot open a lesson bundle outside of the TI-Nspire™
software. For example, if you open the folder using the file manager on
your computer and double-click the lesson bundle name, it does not
automatically launch the software.
Opening files within a lesson bundle
You can open any file within a lesson bundle on your computer if you
have the program associated with the file type.
•
When you open a .tns or .tnsp file, the file opens in the Documents
workspace in the TI-Nspire™ software.
•
When you open another file type, it launches the application or
program associated with that file. For example, if you open a .doc
file, it opens in Microsoft® Word.
Use one of the following options to open a file within a lesson bundle:
Using the Content Workspace
f Double-click the lesson bundle, then double-click a file within the
lesson bundle.
f Within a lesson bundle, select the file, then click ¢ or right-click the
file name and select Open from the context menu.
Managing files in a lesson bundle
You can open, copy/paste, delete, and rename files in an existing lesson
bundle. To locate and work with files in an existing lesson bundle:
1. In the content pane, select the lesson bundle name. The Files window
shows the file details in the Preview pane.
2. In the Preview pane, select the file name in the Files window and click
¢ to open the context menu.
3. Select the action you want to perform:
•
Click Open. TI-Nspire™ and PublishView™ documents open in the
Documents workspace. When you open another file type, it
launches the application or program associated with that file.
•
Click Copy to place the file in the clipboard.
•
Navigate to a folder on your computer or select a connected
handheld, then right-click and select Paste to place the copied file
in a new location.
Using the Content Workspace
59
•
Click Delete to delete the file from the lesson bundle. Use caution
when deleting a file from a lesson bundle. You should ensure files
contained in the bundle are backed up if you need the files for
future use.
•
Click Rename to give the file a new name. To cancel this action,
press the Esc key.
•
To add more files to the lesson bundle, click Add Files to Lesson
Bundle.
•
Click Refresh to update the list of files in the bundle.
•
Select Package Lesson Bundle to create a .tilb file. A .tilb file is a
packaged file that contains all the contents of a lesson bundle and
allows you to e-mail it.
•
Click Send to Connected Handhelds to open the Transfer Tool
and send the selected file to a handheld. Only .tns files can be sent
to handhelds.
Managing lesson bundles
Use the options menu or the context menu to copy, delete, rename, or
send a lesson bundle to connected handhelds. You can also create a
shortcut to the lesson bundle.
Note: You cannot add a folder or a lesson bundle to a lesson bundle.
1. Select Local Content in the Resources pane.
2. In the Content pane, navigate to the lesson bundle you want to work
with, then right-click to open the context menu or click
to open
the menu of options.
Using the Content Workspace
3. Select the action you want to perform:
•
Click Open to open the lesson bundle.
•
Click Copy to place the lesson bundle file in the clipboard.
•
Navigate to a folder on your computer or select a connected
handheld, then right-click and select Paste to place the copied file
in a new location.
•
Click Delete to delete the lesson bundle. Use caution when
deleting a lesson bundle. You should ensure files contained in the
bundle are backed up if you need the files for future use.
•
Click Refresh to update the list of files in the bundle.
•
Click Rename to give the lesson bundle a new name. To cancel this
action, press the Esc key.
•
To move up a level in the folder hierarchy, click Up a Level.
•
To add the lesson bundle to the list of shortcuts in Local Content,
select Create Shortcut.
•
To add more files to the lesson bundle, select Lesson Bundles >
Add Files to Lesson Bundle.
•
Select Lesson Bundles > Package Lesson Bundle to create a .tilb
file.
•
Click Send to Connected Handhelds to open Transfer Tool and
send the lesson bundle to connected handheld. Only .tns files are
sent to the handheld.
Packaging lesson bundles
Packaging lesson bundles creates a "package" folder with a .tilb file. This
file contains all contents of the lesson bundle. You must package the
lesson before you can e-mail the lesson bundle (.tilb file) to colleagues or
students.
To package a lesson from the Content workspace:
1. Select Local Content in the Resources pane.
2. Select the lesson bundle you want to package in the Content pane.
The Lesson Bundle details are displayed in the Preview pane.
3. Use one of the following methods to create the package:
•
From the Preview pane, click ¢ in the Files window, then select
Package Lesson Bundle.
•
From the Content pane, Right-click the lesson bundle name, then
select Lesson Bundles > Package Lesson Bundle.
Using the Content Workspace
61
A dialog box opens confirming that the lesson bundle was created.
4. Click Yes to open the folder where the lesson package is stored. Click
No to skip this step and close the dialog box.
E-mailing a lesson bundle
After a lesson bundle is packaged, you can e-mail the .tilb file to other
teachers or students. To attach the lesson bundle to an e-mail:
1. In your e-mail client, select attach, then navigate to the Lesson Bundle
.tilb folder.
2. Make sure you open the package folder and select the .tilb file to
attach to the email. You cannot email the .tilb folder.
Sending files to a class
You can send folders and TI-Nspire™ document files (.tns),
LearningCheck™ files (.edc) and CABRI™ files (.fig) to your whole class,
members of the class currently logged in, or to individual students. Class
must be in session for you to send files.
When you send a file to the whole class, all students currently logged in
will receive the file immediately. Students not logged in will receive the
file when they log in.
Note: File types .edc and .fig are converted to .tns files when they are
sent to the class.
1. From the Content pane, navigate to the file you want to send to the
handheld.
2. Click the file to select it.
3. Click Send to Class
, or Select File >Send to > Send to Class to
send the file to the class.
The Select individual(s) dialog box opens.
Using the Content Workspace
4. Select the student(s) to whom you want to send the file:
•
To send the file to the whole class, click Class
. To send the file
only to class members who are currently logged in, check the
Logged in only checkbox.
•
To send the file to an individual student, click Individuals
and
then click the student.
Note: If you had any students selected in the classroom area, the
software already has them selected.
•
Use the Send to handheld folder drop-down list to toggle
between the class folder or the top level folder on the handheld.
5. Click Finish.
The file transfer appears in the Class Record in the Class workspace.
Understanding the rules of content transfer
Using the Content Workspace, you can transfer content between the
web, your computer, and connected TI-Nspire™ handhelds.
Note: You cannot transfer content to a TI-Nspire™ handheld from a
TI-84 keypad.
Types of content you can transfer
Items you can manipulate include:
Using the Content Workspace
63
•
Folders
•
Supported files
Methods you can use to transfer content
You can transfer content several ways (again, depending on the content):
•
"Drag and drop"
•
Copy and paste
•
Save to Computer
•
Send to Connected Handhelds
You can perform these tasks using the following methods:
•
Dialog boxes that automatically launch when you transfer the
content
•
Menu options
•
Context menu shortcuts (select the content and right-click your
mouse for options)
•
Standard computer keyboard shortcuts such as Ctrl + C to copy and
Ctrl + V to paste, for example.
•
Icons appearing on the workspace
.tco
.tns
.edc
.fig
.tcc
.tnc
.tno
.tilb
Using the Class Workspace
65
Using the Class Workspace
Use this workspace to add and manage classes and students, and to
exchange files with students.
À Menu - Contains tools for working with documents and modifying
system settings.
Á Workspace Selector. Click here to choose between the Content,
Class, Documents, Review, and Portfolio workspaces.
Note: Some tasks you perform may prevent you from immediately
changing workspaces. If a dialog box awaits a response from you,
enter your response and then change workspaces.
 Class Workspace toolbar. Shows frequently performed tasks.
à Class Record. Document actions are shown here. You can open a
document in the Review workspace; save a document to the Portfolio
workspace; send, collect, and delete files; and view document
properties.
Ä Class session controls. Choose a class from a list of available classes.
You can begin, pause, resume, or end a class.
Å Classroom area. Shows the students in your class, which ones are
logged in, and the status of file transfers for selected files in the Class
Record. You can view the students by Seating Chart or by Student List.
À
Á
Â
Ã
Ä
Å
Æ
Ç
Using the Class Workspace
Æ Status bar. See additional details below.
Ç Student View. Lets you display the students in the classroom area in
Seating Chart view or Student List view.
Understanding the status bar
The status bar gives you information about the network status and the
student login status.
The network status shows how many TI-Nspire™ CX Wireless Network
Adapters and TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Cradles are currently connected to
the system. You can click here to launch the Network Manager window.
The student login status shows how many students are currently logged
into class, and how many students are assigned to the current class.
If class is not in session, the student login status shows "Class not
started."
Student view lets you view the current classroom in the seating chart
view or the seating list view. The seating chart view shows your students
as student icons with display names. The student list view shows your
students in a table that contains their display names, first name, last
name, user name, and student ID.
Adding classes
When you start using the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software, one
of the first things you should do is create your classes. Make sure you
create a class for each of the class periods you plan to teach with the
TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software.
You can use a mix of TI-Nspire™CX, TI-Nspire™CX CAS, TI-Nspire™, and
TI-Nspire™CAS handhelds in the same class.
Adding a class
1. Use the Workspace selector to select the Class workspace.
2. Click Class > Add a Class.
The Add Class dialog box opens.
Network status
Student login status
Using the Class Workspace
67
3. Enter a class name.
4. Click Add Class.
The new class appears in the Add Class dialog box.
Note: If you want to import students from a list into a class you have
created, see the instructions below.
5. Continue adding classes, and click Finish when you are done.
Importing students
When you add a class, you can import a list of students into the class. You
must import students while you are adding classes, in the Add Class
dialog box.
Note: You can always add individual students to any class at any time.
See "Adding students to classes" later in this chapter.
You can import a comma-separated value (CSV) file or a *.txt file. The
CSV or .txt file must have all of these headers in this order:
Using the Class Workspace
First Name
Last Name
User Name
Password
Display Name
Student ID
1. Highlight the class you just created.
2. Click Import Students.
The Open dialog box opens.
3. Select the file that contains the students you want to import.
4. Click Open.
The Import Status dialog box opens telling you how many students
the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software successfully imported.
5. Click OK.
Note: If some students did not import successfully, click View Details to
determine the problem.
Using the Class Workspace
69
Removing classes
If you have a class you no longer need, you can remove it from the
TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software. When you remove a class, the
software removes the class and removes the files on the hard drive that
correspond to that class. If you have students who are not part of any
other classes, the software removes those students as well.
Note: You cannot undo the removal of a class.
Removing a class
1. If you have a class session running, end it.
2. From the Class Session list, select the class you want to remove.
3. Click Class > Remove Class.
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software asks if you are sure you
want to remove the class.
4. Click Remove.
Adding students to classes
After you create your classes, you need to add students to the classes.
You can add students to an active class session, or you can add students
to any class at any time.
If this is your first time using the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher
Software, the classroom area may be empty. The software prompts you
to add a class, and to add students to the class. You can click the prompt
in the classroom area to add students, or you can follow the steps
below at any time.
Note: The instructions below explain how to add students after you
create a class. You can also add students when you create a class by
importing them.
1. Select the class to which you want to add students.
•
If class is in session, the student will be added to the current class.
You have the option of adding the student to other classes.
•
If class is not in session, use the Class Session controls to select the
class to which you want to add the student.
Using the Class Workspace
2. Click Class > Add Student or click Add Student
.
The Add Student dialog box opens.
3. Enter the student’s first name and last name.
4. Enter a user name.
Note: The user name you choose must be unique. It cannot exist in
the current class or any other class.
5. If you want your student to create their own password, select
Student Chooses.
-or-
If you want to create a password for your student, select the blank
password entry box and enter a new password.
6. (Optional) Enter a display name.
Note: If you leave the display name blank, the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher Software uses the student’s first name as the
display name.
7. (Optional) Enter a student ID.
8. (Optional) Assign the student to other classes:
a) Click Assign Classes.
The Assign Classes dialog box opens.
Using the Class Workspace
71
b) Select the check boxes of the student’s classes.
c) Clear the check boxes of the classes to which the student does not
belong.
d) Click OK.
9. If you need to add another student, click Add Next Student and
repeat steps 3 - 8.
10. Click Finish.
Removing students from classes
As necessary, you can remove students from your classes. When you
remove students, the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software only
removes them from the selected class. If the students are in other classes,
they remain in those classes until you remove them.
Notes:
•
You cannot remove students who are logged in to the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ network.
•
You cannot undo the removal of students.
•
You can access many of the student account items by right-clicking
the student icon in the classroom area and choosing an action from
the menu.
To remove a student from a class, follow these steps.
1. Click the student you want to remove.
2. Click Class > Remove Student, or click Remove Student
.
The software asks if you are sure you want to remove the student.
Using the Class Workspace
3. Click Yes.
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software removes the student.
Beginning and ending a class session
A class session is the period when the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher
Software is active for a specific class. While a class session is running, you
can perform communication functions with the selected class. You cannot
use TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software to interact with your class
until you begin a class session, and you cannot begin another class until
you end the current one.
Beginning a class session
1. Click Class > Select Class, or click the Classroom Session list.
A list of available classes displays.
2. Select the class you want to begin.
3. Click Begin Class.
Pausing a class session
There are times you may want to pause a class. Pausing a class suspends
all activity on the student’s handhelds, and they receive a message telling
them class is paused. When you resume class, the message clears and the
students are able to use their handhelds. The students remain logged in
when you pause a class.
`
To pause a class in session, click Pause Class.
`
To resume the class, click Resume Class.
Ending a class session
When class is over, or before you start another class, you need to end the
current class session. Ending a class stops all file communication between
your computer or handheld and the students’ handhelds. When you end
a class, the students receive a message on their handhelds saying class is
ended, and the students are automtically logged off.
`
To end a current class session, click End Class.
Using the Class Workspace
73
Changing the student view
In the classroom area, you can view the students in the selected class in
either the Student List view or the Seating Chart view. The Student List
view shows your students in a table that contains their display names,
first name, last name, user name, and student ID. The Seating Chart view
shows your students as student icons with display names. You can change
the class view at any time.
Changing the class view to Student List
`
Click View > Student List or click
in the status bar.
The view changes to Student List.
Changing the class view to Seating Chart
`
Click View > Seating Chart or click
in the status bar.
The view changes to Seating Chart view.
Using the Class Workspace
Arranging the seating chart
Initially, the classroom area arranges the students in the Seating Chart
view in the order that you added them. However, you can rearrange the
students so that they have the same seating arrangement in the
classroom area as they do in your actual classroom. You can rearrange
the seating chart at any time.
Arranging students in the seating chart
1. Select the class from the Class Session list.
2. Click View > Seating Chart.
The classroom area displays your class in the Seating Chart view.
3. Within the classroom area, drag each student’s icon to the location
that you want.
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software moves the student
icons to the new locations.
The software rememebers the student positions the next time you
start the same class.
Note: Do not place one student’s icon on top of another students’
icon. If you do this, you will only be able to see one of the student’s
icons.
Checking student login status
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software lets you view the students’
login status from the Seating Chart view. The color of the icon by your
students’ display names indicates their login status as well as the class
status:
Icon
Class status
Student status
Color
Class session not
started.
N/A
Grey
Class session started.
Student not logged
in.
Light blue
Class session started.
Student logged in.
Dark blue
Using the Class Workspace
75
Sorting student information
The Student List view in the classroom area shows the information for
students in the selected class. It includes your students’ display names,
first names, last names, user names, and student IDs. In the Student List
view, you can sort your students’ information by each of these categories.
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software sorts the information
alphabetically from A-Z or Z-A and numerically from 1-9 or 9-1. You can
sort student information at any time.
Sorting student information
1. Select the class that contains the student information you want to
sort.
Note: If you have a class session running, you must end it to select the
class.
2. In the menu, click View > Student List.
3. Click the column title of the list you want to sort.
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software sorts the selected list.
4. If you want to sort the selected information in the opposite order,
click the column title again.
Changing the classes assigned to a student
Occasionally your students may move to a different class, or they may
take more than one of your classes. The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher
Software lets you change your students’ classes when necessary.
Note: You cannot change the classes of students who are logged in to
the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ network.
Changing a student’s class
1. Select a class to which the student belongs.
2. Click the student you want to edit.
3. Click Class > Edit Student, or click Edit Student
.
The Student Properties dialog box opens.
Using the Class Workspace
4. Click Assign Classes.
The Assign Classes dialog box opens.
5. Select the check boxes of the student’s classes.
6. Clear the check boxes of the classes to which the student does not
belong.
7. Click OK.
8. In the Student Properties dialog box, click OK.
Using the Class Workspace
77
Changing student names and identifiers
After you add your students, you may find that you need to change one
of their names or identifiers. In the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher
Software, there are five different names and identifiers associated with
your students, including:
•
First name
•
Last name
•
User name
•
Display name
•
Student ID
This section covers how to change any of these types of names and
identifiers.
Note: You cannot change the account information of students who are
logged in to the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ network.
Note: You can access many of the student account items by right-clicking
the student and choosing an action from the menu.
Changing a student’s names or identifiers
1. Select a class to which the student belongs.
Note: If you have a class session running, you must end it to select the
class.
2. Click the student you want to edit.
3. Click Class > Edit Student, or click Edit Student
.
The Student Properties dialog box opens.
Using the Class Workspace
4. Click the field of the name or identifier you want to change.
5. Make the necessary changes.
6. Repeat steps 5 and 6 for any other names or identifiers you want to
change.
7. Click OK.
Moving students to another class
If any of your students move to a different class, you can move them
within the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software as well.
Note: You cannot move students who are logged in to the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ network.
Note: You can access many of the student account items by right-clicking
the student and choosing an action from the menu.
Moving a student to another class
1. Select a class to which the student belongs.
Note: If you have a class session running, you must end it to move the
student.
2. Click the student you want to move.
3. Click Edit > Cut or click Cut
.
Using the Class Workspace
79
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ software removes the student from the
class and places his or her student account information on the
Clipboard.
4. From the Class Session list, select the class where you want to move
the student.
5. Click Edit > Paste or click Paste
.
TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ software moves the student to the selected
class.
Copying students to another class
When you have students in more than one of your classes, you may find
it convenient to simply copy them from one class to another. Copying
students saves you the time of entering all of their information again.
Note: You cannot copy students who are logged in to the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ network.
Note: You can access many of the student account items by right-clicking
the student and choosing an action from the menu.
Copying a student to another class
1. Select a class to which the student belongs.
Note: If you have a class session running, you must end it to select the
class.
2. Click the student you want to copy.
3. Click Edit > Copy or click Copy
.
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software copies the student
onto the clipboard.
4. From the Current Class drop-down list, select the class to which you
want to copy the student.
5. Click Edit > Paste or click Paste
.
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ software copies the student to the
selected class.
Using the Class Workspace
Exploring the Class Record
From the Class Record, you can open a document in the Review
workspace; save a document to the Portfolio workspace; send, collect,
and delete files; and view document properties.
À File action. The icons indicate the status of a file as follows.
Sent to class.
Collected from class.
Saved to portfolio.
Redistributed to class.
Quick Poll.
Unprompted.
À
Á
Â
Ã
Using the Class Workspace
81
Deleted from student’s handheld.
Á File name. The names of files and folders used in this class.
 Status. The progress of an action. For example, "23 of 25" indicates
that 23 out of 25 students have received a file.
à Menu options. Click
for quick access to certain menu items. This
icon gives you the same options as a right-click.
Sending files to a class
You can send folders and TI-Nspire™ document files (.tns),
LearningCheck™ files (.edc) and CABRI™ files (.fig) to your whole class,
members of the class currently logged in, or to individual students. Class
must be in session for you to send files.
When you send a file to the whole class, all students currently logged in
will receive the file immediately. Students not logged in will receive the
file when they log in.
Note: File types .edc and .fig are converted to .tns files when they are
sent to the class.
1. Click Tools > Send to class or click Send to class
.
The Select file(s) to send dialog box opens.
Using the Class Workspace
2. Click the Files tab to choose files, or click the Folders tab to choose
folders.
Note: You can send only files or folders, not a combination of files
and folders. When you send folders to the students’ handhelds, only
the .tns files will transfer.
3. To choose the files or folders you want to send, do one of the
following:
•
Navigate to the file or folder you want to send and click it. To
select multiple files or folders, press and hold the Ctrl key
(Macintosh®: “) while clicking each file name.
•
Type the name of the file or folder in the File name or Folder
name box. Folder names may use alphanumeric characters. You
can enter slashes ( / and \ ), but double slashes ( // and \\ ) and some
special characters (? | : * " " < > | ) are not allowed.
Note: You can also drag and drop files from a file browser window
onto the Class Record to send files.
4. Click Next.
The Select individual(s) dialog box opens.
5. Select the student(s) to whom you want to send the file:
•
To send the file to the whole class, click Class
. To send the file
only to class members who are currently logged in, check the
Logged in only checkbox.
Using the Class Workspace
83
•
To send the file to an individual student, click Individuals
and
then click the student.
Note: If you had any students selected in the classroom area, the
software already has them selected.
•
Use the Send to handheld folder drop-down list to toggle
between the class folder or the top level folder on the handheld.
6. Click Finish.
The file transfer appears in the Class Record.
Collecting files from students
You can collect handheld-compatible files (such as .tns files) from your
students’ handhelds to your computer. Class must be in session for you to
collect files. If any students are not logged in, the files you collect are
automatically transferred when they log in.
You can collect selected files from the Class Record, or you can collect
recent files that have been sent to the class from the Transfer Tool by
using the Tools menu or icon. When you collect files from the menu or
icon, you have the option of deleting the collected files from your
students’ handhelds.
Collecting files from the Class Record
1. From the Class Record, choose the file or files that have been sent to
class.
Using the Class Workspace
2. Click
on any of the highlighted files and choose Collect from
Class.
The file transfer appears in the Class Record.
Collecting files from the menu or icon
1. Click Tools > Collect from Class or click Collect from Class
.
The Select file(s) to collect dialog box opens.
2. To choose the files or folders you want to collect, do one of the
following:
•
Click Recent Files and navigate to the file you want to collect and
click it. To select multiple files or folders, press and hold the Ctrl
key (Macintosh®: “) while clicking each file name.
•
Click Enter Filename and type the name of the file in the File
name box and then click Add.
3. Click Next.
The Select individual(s) dialog box opens.
Using the Class Workspace
85
4. Select the student(s) from whom you want to collect the file:
•
To collect the file from the whole class, click Class
. To collect
the file only from class members who are currently logged in,
check the Logged in only checkbox.
•
To collect the file from an individual student, click
Individuals
and then click the student.
Note: If you had any students selected in the classroom area, the
software already has them selected.
5. If you want to remove the file from the students’ handhelds after you
collect it, select Delete from handheld after collecting.
6. Click Finish.
The collected file appears in the Class Record.
Managing Unprompted actions
When a student logged into a class session sends you a file outside of a
collection, an Unprompted action is created.
These files, which are stored in a database, display in the Class Record
until they are removed.
Using the Class Workspace
Reviewing and opening Unprompted actions
Unprompted actions are named "Unprompted" followed by the month
and date. Each class session contains all .tns files sent from students in
one Unprompted folder.
The latest Unprompted action appears at the top of the Class Record for
the most recent files sent by a student during a class session. During the
next class session, more recent Unprompted actions appear in the Class
Record above the previous action.
To open the Unprompted action:
1. Double-click the action or right-click and choose Record Item
Properties.
The Unprompted dialog opens. By default, no items in the
Unprompted action are selected.
2. From the Unprompted dialog, you can view one or more items, save
the items to Portfolio, remove the items, export the items to another
file location, or do nothing.
Viewing items in an Unprompted action
1. From the Unprompted dialog, click on the checkbox to the left of the
item(s) you want to view.
Note: You can also click on the View icon beside an item to quickly
access the item.
2. Click View.
The items open as read-only files.
Removing individual items from an Unprompted action
The Class Record displays items in Unprompted actions until you remove
the Unprompted action. Even if you have exported or saved items, its
Unprompted action continues to display until you remove it. To remove
items from an Unprompted action:
1. From the Class Record, double-click on the Unprompted action to
open it.
2. From the Unprompted dialog, click on the checkbox to the left of the
item(s) you want to remove.
3. Click Remove.
Using the Class Workspace
87
Removing an entire Unprompted action
You can remove an Unprompted action from the Class Record. This
removes all items contained within the Unprompted action, as well as
removing the Unprompted action from the Class Record.
1. From the Class Record, click on the Unprompted action to highlight it.
2. Click Remove from Class Record.
Exporting Unprompted action items
You can export items from the database to the file system. To export
items from an Unprompted action:
1. From the Class Record, double-click on the Unprompted action to
open it.
2. Select the files you want to export.
3. Click Export.
A file browser opens.
4. Select the location for the export.
5. Click Select Folder.
Saving files to a Portfolio record
You can save collected, unprompted, and Quick Poll files to a Portfolio
record.
1. From the Class Record, select the files.
2. Click
and select Save selected to Portfolio.
The Save to Portfolio dialog opens.
3. Select to save the files to a new Portfolio column or add them to an
existing Portfolio column.
•
To add the files to a new Portfolio column, click Add as new
portfolio column and type the name for the new portfolio
column.
•
To save the files to an existing Portfolio column, click Add to
existing portfolio column and select the column name you want
from the drop-down list.
4. Click Save.
Note: The files you have saved in Portfolio display in the Class Record
until you remove them using the Remove command.
Using the Class Workspace
Deleting files from handhelds
When necessary, you can delete files from your students’ handhelds. You
can delete files that were sent to the class, collected from the class, or
sent from the Transfer Tool. Class must be in session for you to delete files
from the students’ handhelds.
1. Click Tools > Delete from class or click Delete from class
.
The Select file(s) to delete dialog box opens.
2. To choose the files you want to delete, do one of the following:
•
Click Recent Files and navigate to the file you want to delete and
click it. To select multiple files or folders, press and hold the Ctrl
key (Macintosh®: “) while clicking each file name.
•
Click Enter Filename and type the name of the file in the File
name box and then click Add.
3. Click Next.
The Select individual(s) dialog box opens.
Using the Class Workspace
89
4. Select the student(s) whose files you want to delete.
•
To delete the file from the whole class’s handhelds, click
Class
. To delete the file only from class members who are
currently logged in, check the Logged in only checkbox.
•
To delete the file from an individual student’s handheld, click
Individuals
and then click the student.
Note: If you had any students selected in the classroom area, the
software already has them selected.
5. Click Finish.
The file deletion appears in the Class Record.
Checking the status of file transfers
When you are sending or collecting files, you may want to check to see
which of your students have received or sent their files.
1. In the Class Record, click the file whose status you want to check.
In the classroom area, the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software
indicates the status of your students as follows:
•
A green background indicates that students have
sent/received the file.
Using the Class Workspace
•
A yellow background indicates that a student received the
collect or delete action, but they do not have the file on their
handheld.
•
A red background indicates that students have not yet
sent/received/deleted the file.
Note: You can also see the file transfer status in the file’s Properties
dialog box.
Canceling file transfers
If you change your mind about a file transfer, you can cancel the transfer
in the Class Record. Canceling file transfers stops the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher Software from transferring more files. Any files that
transfer before you cancel remain on the students’ handhelds.
1. In the Class Record, click the file whose transfer you want to cancel.
2. Click Tools > Delete from Class.
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ software asks if you’re sure you want to
remove the action.
3. Click Delete.
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ software stops the file transfer and
removes the file from the Class Record list.
Deleting items from the Class Record
The Class Record maintains a list of all of the actions you have performed
in your class. Items remain in this list until you delete the items or you
delete the class. You can remove items from the Class Record at any time.
Note: If you remove a collected file list from the Class Record without
first saving it to Porfolio, the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ software deletes
those students’ files.
1. In the Class Record, click the item you want to delete.
2. Click Remove from Class Record.
Note: If you are deleting an item that is still in progress, the softwre
asks if you are sure you want to delete the item. Click Delete.
Using the Class Workspace
91
Viewing file properties
Each file that you send or collect has a set of properties that you can
view. These properties include the file’s name, size, date sent, and status.
You can view the file properties at any time.
1. Select the file in the Class Record.
2. Right-click the file in Class Record and select Record Item Properties.
The Properties dialog box opens displaying the file’s properties.
Resetting student passwords
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software maintains the privacy of
your students’ passwords. Because of this, you cannot retrieve passwords
for your students if they forget them. However, if necessary you can reset
your students’ passwords. You can reset passwords for all of the students
in a class or for individual students.
Note: You cannot reset the passwords of students who are currently
logged in to the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ network.
Resetting passwords for all students in a class
1. Select the students’ class.
2. Click Class > Reset Student Password(s).
The Confirm Reset Passwords dialog box opens.
Using the Class Workspace
3. Click OK.
4. The next time your students log in, instruct them to enter passwords
of their choosing.
Resetting passwords for individual students
1. Click the student you want to edit.
2. Click Class > Edit Student, or click Edit Student
, or right-click
the student and choose Edit Student from the menu.
The Student Properties dialog box opens.
3. Click the Reset button next to Password.
4. If you want the student to create his or her own password, select
Student Chooses.
-or-
If you want to create a specific password for the student, select the
blank password entry box and enter a new password.
5. Click OK.
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software resets the student’s
password.
6. The next time the student logs in:
Using the Class Workspace
93
•
If you selected Student Chooses, instruct the student to enter a
password of his or her choosing.
•
If you created a password for the student, tell the student the new
password.