Texas Instruments TI-Nspire Manual Book
Read Online
Read the Texas Instruments TI-Nspire Manual Book online using the built-in PDF viewer.
Text of the manual
TI-Nspire™ Data Collection
and Analysis Guidebook
This guidebook applies to TI-Nspire™ software version 3.1. To obtain the
latest version of the documentation, go to education.ti.com/guides.
Except as otherwise expressly stated in the License that accompanies a
program, Texas Instruments makes no warranty, either express or
implied, including but not limited to any implied warranties of
merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose, regarding any
programs or book materials and makes such materials available solely on
an "as-is" basis. In no event shall Texas Instruments be liable to anyone
for special, collateral, incidental, or consequential damages in connection
with or arising out of the purchase or use of these materials, and the sole
and exclusive liability of Texas Instruments, regardless of the form of
action, shall not exceed the amount set forth in the license for the
program. Moreover, Texas Instruments shall not be liable for any claim of
any kind whatsoever against the use of these materials by any other
party.
FCC Statement
Note: This equipment has been tested and found to comply with the
limits for a Class B digital device, pursuant to Part 15 of the FCC Rules.
These limits are designed to provide reasonable protection against
harmful interference in a residential installation. This equipment
generates, uses and can radiate radio frequency energy and, if not
installed and used in accordance with the instructions, may cause
harmful interference to radio communications. However, there is no
guarantee that interference will not occur in a particular installation.
If this equipment does cause harmful interference to radio or television
reception, which can be determined by turning the equipment off and
on, the user is encouraged to try to correct the interference by one or
more of the following measures:
•
Reorient or relocate the receiving antenna.
•
Increase the separation between the equipment and receiver.
•
Connect the equipment into an outlet on a circuit different from that
to which the receiver is connected.
•
Consult the dealer or an experienced radio/TV technician for help.
Modifications not expressly approved by the manufacturer could void the
user’s authority to operate the equipment under FCC rules.
© 2011 Texas Instruments Incorporated
Mac® and DataQuest™ are trademarks of their respective owners.
Important Information................................................................... ii
Getting Started .......................................................................1
About Vernier DataQuest™........................................................... 1
Exploring the Screens..................................................................... 2
Learning about Collection Devices................................................ 5
Performing an Experiment.....................................................9
Starting a Document...................................................................... 9
Connecting Sensors ...................................................................... 10
Modifying Sensor Settings ........................................................... 10
Setting the Collection Mode........................................................ 12
Collecting Data ............................................................................. 16
Storing a Data Set ........................................................................ 21
Saving an Experiment .................................................................. 21
Working in the Graph View..................................................23
Displaying Graphs......................................................................... 23
Customizing the Graph................................................................ 28
Analyzing the Data in Table View ........................................41
Defining Column Options ............................................................ 41
Creating a New Data Set.............................................................. 42
Changing a Data Set Name.......................................................... 42
Adding a New Column................................................................. 43
Adding a New Calculated Column .............................................. 45
Striking and Restoring Data ........................................................ 47
Analyzing Data in Graph View .............................................51
Viewing Data for Analysis............................................................ 51
Interpolating the Value Between Two Data Points.................... 53
Finding the Slope ......................................................................... 53
Finding the Area Under a Data Plot............................................ 54
Removing Analysis Options ......................................................... 60
Using Advanced Data Collection Options ...........................63
Setting Up Offline Sensors........................................................... 63
Setting Up a Remote Collection Unit .......................................... 64
Setting Up the Sensor for Triggering .......................................... 65
Using the Manual Trigger to Start the Collection ...................... 67
Using a Delay to Start the Collection.......................................... 68
Retrieving Remote Data...............................................................70
Working with Advanced Analysis Features ........................ 71
Replaying the Data Collection .....................................................71
Adjusting Derivative Settings.......................................................73
Drawing and Clearing a Predictive Plot ......................................74
Using Motion Match.....................................................................75
Printing Data ........................................................................ 77
Selecting Print All Options ...........................................................77
Printing Data Views......................................................................77
Using the Sensors and Data with Other Applications........ 79
Collecting Data in Other Applications.........................................79
Opening the Sensor Console Application Menus .......................80
Viewing Existing Data ..................................................................81
Analyzing Data in the Data & Statistics Application ..................83
Compatible Sensors ............................................................. 85
TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle .......................................................... 89
Exploring the Lab Cradle..............................................................90
Setting up the Lab Cradle for Data Collection............................91
Using the Lab Cradle ....................................................................91
Learning About the Lab Cradle ...................................................92
Viewing Data Collection Status ...................................................94
Managing Power ..........................................................................95
Charging the Lab Cradle ..............................................................97
Upgrading the Operating System................................................98
Appendix: Service and Support......................................... 103
Texas Instruments Support and Service .....................................103
Service and Warranty Information ............................................103
Precautions for Rechargeable Batteries ....................................104
Index ................................................................................... 105
The Vernier DataQuest™ application is built into the TI-Nspire™ software
and the operating system (OS) for handhelds. Use the Vernier
DataQuest™ application to collect, view, and analyze data.
To use the Vernier DataQuest™ application, the TI-Nspire™ handheld OS
must be 3.0 or higher. To update the OS, go to education.ti.com.
About Vernier DataQuest™
•
Run the application on either a TI-Nspire™ handheld or a Windows™
or Mac™ computer.
•
Choose from multiple sensor interfaces and sensors, such as the
TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle, to collect data.
•
Collect data with up to five connected sensors (three analog and two
digital) using the TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle. For a complete list of
compatible sensors, see Compatible Sensors.
Important: The TI-Nspire™ CM-C Handheld is not compatible with
the Lab Cradle and only supports the use of a single sensor at a time.
•
Collect data either in the classroom or at remote locations using
collection modes such as time-based or event-based.
•
Select and focus on a subset of collected data.
•
Collect several data runs for comparison.
•
Create a graphical hypothesis using the Draw Prediction feature.
•
Play back the data set to compare the outcome to the hypothesis.
•
Analyze data using functions such as interpolation, tangential rate, or
modeling.
•
Display results in a graph or a table.
•
Customize the way results are displayed.
•
Link the data to other TI-Nspire™ applications.
Using Vernier DataQuest™ Data in Other TI-Nspire™
Applications
Data obtained during a data collection run is written to the graph and
table views in the Vernier DataQuest™ application and can be used in
these TI-Nspire™ applications:
•
Calculator
•
Graph
Data & Statistics
This graphic shows how data can be shared among the applications.
Exploring the Screens
The Vernier DataQuest™ application screen is identical in the handheld
and the TI-Nspire™ software. The following graphic shows the
application screen.
Lists & Spreadsheet
Data & Statistics
Vernier DataQuest™
Sensor
Data in
Calculator
Graphs
Geometry
Notes
Insert a Notes page to add
notes about a data set,
experiment, and so on.
À
Á
Â
Ã
Ä
Learning About Menus
Like other TI-Nspire™ applications, the Vernier DataQuest™ application
has its own application and context menus.
When you first open a document or problem, insert the Vernier
DataQuest™ application to open the application menu.
Click Insert > Vernier DataQuest.
The Vernier DataQuest™ application opens with the Meter view
active and the application menu open.
Important! If you connect a sensor before starting the Vernier
DataQuest™ application, the connected sensor automatically
launches the Vernier DataQuest™ application screen.
À
Vernier DataQuest™ application view tabs. The
application provides three views:
•
Meter. Displays the list of sensors connected or set up to
use offline.
•
Graph. Displays collected data in a graphical
representation, or displays the prediction before a data
collection run.
•
Table. Displays collected data in columns and rows.
Á
Data Set selection tool. This tool is displayed in the Graph
view only and lets you choose which data set to graph.
Â
View Details area. This area contains information about the
data appropriate for the current view.
Ã
Data work area. The primary display of the data. The type
of data displayed depends on the view.
Ä
Data collection controls. Use these buttons to start and
stop collections, store data sets, and capture data points.
Workspace Selector. In the TI-Nspire™ Teacher Software,
click these tabs to switch from the Content Workspace to the
Documents Workspace. These tabs are not shown in the
student software.
Á
Toolbar. Contains shortcuts to tools used to create folders,
save files, create lesson bundles, send files to handhelds, and
copy/paste. Options available from the toolbar change
depending on which workspace is open.
Â
Application menu. Contains commands specific to the
Vernier DataQuest™ application. Use these commands to
collect and analyze data, set up sensors, view data in a graph
or table, and so on.
Ã
Context menu. Provides access to the tools most commonly
used with the selected objects. Different options can appear
on the context menu depending on the active object or the
task you are performing.
Open the context menu by right-clicking an object or a work
area.
Handheld: Move the cursor to the desired object, and then
press / b.
À
Á
Â
Ã
Ä
Exploring the Status Bar
Learning about Collection Devices
You can select from a variety of sensors and interfaces to collect data
while running the Vernier DataQuest™ application with TI-Nspire™
software.
Ä
Status bar. Provides information about the active document
and allows you to switch between the handheld view and the
computer view.
À
Problem and page number. Displays the current page
number and problem number in an active document.
Á
Settings. Displays the current settings. Click here to change
General or Graphs & Geometry settings.
Â
Handheld: Lets you view documents as they appear on a
handheld screen. The screen size is limited as it would be on
the handheld.
Click
to activate the handheld view.
Ã
Computer: Lets you view documents as they appear in the
software. Computer is the default view in the software.
Click
to activate the computer view.
Ä
Scale. A slider that lets you manage contrast (computer) or
the size of the document (handheld).
•
Used in the computer view to make the lines lighter or
darker. Slide left to decrease the boldness. Slide right to
increase the boldness.
•
Used in the handheld view to change the size of the
document and work area. Slide left to make the document
smaller. Slide right to make the document larger.
À
Á
 Ã
Ä
Multi-Channel Sensor Interfaces
Multi-channel sensor interfaces let you connect more than one sensor at
a time.
Single-Channel Sensor Interfaces
Single-channel sensor interfaces can only connect to one sensor at a time.
These sensors have either a mini-USB connector for use with a handheld
or a standard USB connector for use with a computer. For a complete list
of compatible sensors, see Compatible Sensors.
Sensor Interface
Description
Texas Instruments
TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle
This sensor is used with handhelds,
computers, or as a stand-alone sensor.
This sensor interface allows you to connect
and use one to five sensors at the same time.
It can be used in the lab or at a remote
collection location.
The Lab Cradle supports two digital sensors
and three analog sensors.
The Lab Cradle also supports high-sample
data collection sensors, such as a hand-grip
heart rate monitor or a blood pressure
monitor.
When used as a remote sensor, you can
download data to either a handheld or a
computer.
For more information, see the TI-Nspire™
Lab Cradle Guidebook.
Sensor Interface
Description
Vernier EasyLink®
This sensor interface is used with
handhelds. It has a mini-USB connector
so it can be plugged directly into the
handheld.
Connect sensors to Vernier EasyLink® to:
•
Measure barometric pressure.
•
Measure the salinity of a solution.
•
Investigate the relationship between
pressure and volume (Boyles’ Law).
You can select from three types of sensors.
•
Analog sensors. Temperature, light, pH, and voltage sensors are
analog sensors and require a sensor interface.
•
Digital sensors. Photogates, radiation monitors, and drop counters
are digital sensors. These sensors can only be used with the
TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle.
•
Direct-connect USB sensors. These sensors connect directly to a
handheld or computer and do not require a sensor interface.
For a complete list of compatible sensors, see Compatible Sensors.
Sensors for Handhelds
The following lists some sensors you can use with a handheld.
Vernier Go!Link®
This sensor interface is used with
computers. It has a standard connector
so it can be plugged into a Windows® or
Mac® computer.
Connect sensors to Vernier GoLink® to:
•
Measure the acidity or alkalinity of a
solution.
•
Monitor greenhouse gases.
•
Measure sound level in decibels.
Sensor
Description
Texas
Instruments
CBR 2™
This analog sensor connects directly to TI-Nspire™
handhelds through the mini-USB port. It is used to
explore and graph motion.
This sensor automatically launches the Vernier
DataQuest™ application when you connect it to a
handheld. Data collection begins when you select
the Motion Match function.
This sensor collects up to 200 samples per second.
Use this sensor to:
•
Measure position and speed of a person or
object.
•
Measure the acceleration of an object.
Sensor Interface
Description
Sensors for Computers
The following table lists some sensors you can use with a computer.
Vernier
EasyTemp®
temperature
sensor
This analog sensor connects directly to TI-Nspire™
handhelds through the mini-USB port and is used
to collect temperature ranges. You can design
experiments to:
•
Collect weather data.
•
Record temperature changes due to chemical
reactions.
•
Perform heat fusion studies.
Sensor
Description
Vernier Go!Temp®
temperature sensor
This analog sensor connects to the
computer’s USB port and is used to collect
temperature ranges.
You can use this sensor to:
•
Collect weather data.
•
Record temperature changes due to
chemical reactions.
•
Perform heat fusion studies.
Vernier Go!Motion®
motion detector
This analog sensor connects to the
computer’s USB port and is used to measure
acceleration, speed, and velocity.
Use this sensor to:
•
Measure position and speed of a person
or object.
•
Measure the acceleration of an object.
Sensor
Description
Performing an Experiment
9
Performing an Experiment
When performing an experiment, these basic steps are the same no
matter which type of experiment you perform.
1. Start a new document or problem.
Important! If you connect a sensor before starting the Vernier
DataQuest™ application, the software automatically opens the
Vernier DataQuest™ application.
2. Connect a sensor.
3. Modify sensor settings. (Optional, if using default settings)
4. Set the collection mode. (Optional, if using default settings)
5. Collect data.
6. Stop collecting data.
7. To save the data for future use, store the data set.
8. Save the experiment.
9. Analyze data.
10. Print data. (Optional, if you do not need a paper copy.)
Starting a Document
TI recommends starting a new document for each new experiment.
Starting a new document ensures that the Vernier DataQuest™
application is set to its default values.
Important: The handheld can only have one document open. You are
prompted to save it before creating a new document. TI also
recommends that you have only one document open so the system
assigns the sensor to the correct document.
Starting a New Document
To start a new document:
1. Click File > New TI-Nspire Document.
Handheld: Press c, and then select New Document.
A new document opens.
2. Click Add Vernier DataQuest.
The Vernier DataQuest™ opens.
Performing an Experiment
Adding a Problem to a Document
You can add a new problem to an existing document. TI recommends
adding a new problem to the document, which ensures that the Vernier
DataQuest™ application is set to its default values.
1. Click Insert > Problem.
Handheld: Press ~, and then select Insert > Problem.
2. Click Add Vernier DataQuest.
A new problem is added to the document.
Connecting Sensors
Some sensors require a sensor interface. For sensors that require an
interface, you must connect the sensor to the interface first.
To connect a sensor and sensor interface:
1. Attach the sensor to the sensor interface using either the mini-USB,
USB, or BT connector and the appropriate cable.
2. Attach the interface to a computer or handheld using the
appropriate connector and cable.
Note: To attach a handheld to a TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle, slide the
handheld into the connector at the bottom of the Lab Cradle.
Direct-connect USB sensors such as the Vernier Go!Temp® temperature
sensor (for computers) or the Vernier EasyLink® temperature sensor (for
handhelds) connect directly to the computer or handheld and do not
need a sensor interface.
Modifying Sensor Settings
You can modify how the sensor values are displayed and stored. For
example, when using a temperature sensor, you can change the unit of
measure from Centigrade to Fahrenheit.
Changing Sensor Measurement Units
The unit options that can be changed vary depending on the selected
sensor. For example, options for the Vernier Go!Temp® Temperature
sensor are Fahrenheit, Celsius, and Kelvin. Options for the Vernier Hand
Dynamometer (a specialized force sensor) are Newton, Pound, and
Kilogram.
To change a unit of measure:
1. Click Experiment > Set Up Sensors.
Performing an Experiment
11
2. Click Change Units, and then select the sensor you want to change.
Note: The sensors displayed are those you attached or selected to use
offline.
3. Click the unit type from the unit menu.
The measurement unit is changed.
Note: You can change the units before or after you collect data. The
collected data reflects the new measurement unit.
Calibrating a Sensor
When the software or handheld detects a sensor, the calibration for that
sensor automatically loads. You can calibrate some sensors manually.
Other sensors, such as the Colorimeter and the Dissolved Oxygen Sensor,
must be calibrated to provide useful data.
There are three options for calibrating a sensor:
•
Manual Entry
•
Two Point
•
Single Point
For more information, see the sensor’s documentation for calibration
values and procedures.
Setting a Sensor to Zero
Not all sensors can be set to zero. You cannot set sensors in which relative
measurements such as force, motion, and pressure are common to zero.
Sensors designed to measure specific environmental conditions, such as
Temperature, pH, and CO2 also cannot be set to zero.
Performing an Experiment
To set the standing value to zero:
1. Click Experiment > Set Up Sensor.
2. Click the sensor, and then click Zero.
Note: The sensors displayed in the sensor list are those attached or
selected to use offline.
The sensor value is now at zero.
Reversing a Sensor Reading Display
Use this feature to change the display of the reading.
By default, pulling with a force sensor produces a positive force and
pushing produces a negative force. Reversing the sensor allows you to
display pushing as a positive force.
If more than one sensor can be reversed, choose the one to reverse from
the list.
To reverse the display of the sensor reading:
1. Click Experiment > Set Up Sensor.
2. Click the sensor, and then click Reverse.
The sensor display is now reversed. If you are in Meter View, the
reverse indicator appears “
” after the sensor name.
Setting the Collection Mode
Use Collection Mode to select the appropriate mode for the experiment.
The default Collection Mode is Time Based for new experiments.
If you have unsaved data when you change the mode, a warning
message states that changing modes clears unsaved data.
You can only use the Photogate timing mode with the Vernier Photogate
sensor.
You can only use the Drop Counting mode with the Vernier Drop Count
sensor.
Reverse indicator
Performing an Experiment
13
Setting a Time Based Collection Mode
The Time Based collection mode captures data using timing as a guide.
Set this mode to collect either samples per second (Rate) or seconds per
sample (Interval) to determine how often data points are collected. Rate
and Interval are simply reciprocals of each other. To set the Collection
Mode to Time Based:
1. Click Experiment > Collection Mode > Time Based.
The Configure Time Based Data Collection window opens with either
Interval or Rate selected. (It uses previous settings as the opening
value.)
2. Select Rate or Interval from the list.
•
Rate (samples/second): Type the number of samples per second.
The interval is calculated.
•
Interval (seconds per sample): Type the number of seconds per
sample. The rate is calculated.
3. Type the number of seconds the data collection should last in the
Duration field.
4. Review the value in the Number of points field to ensure the rate and
duration are reasonable.
Note: The Number of points field is a calculated field. This value is
determined by the formula, Rate * Duration + 1.
Important: Collecting too many data points impacts system
performance.
5. Select one of the following, if needed.
or
Rate (samples/second)
Interval (seconds/sample)
Performing an Experiment
•
Strip Chart (Optional): Strip Chart continuously collects samples
but only retains the last x data points collected. (“x” represents
the number of points defined in the Number of Points field.)
•
Data Marker (Optional): Selecting this option places the Add Data
Marker
in the Data collection controls area.
Click the Add Data Marker icon to emphasize specific points, such
as when you observe a change or when you change a condition.
Some examples of change are:
–
Ice begins to form.
–
You stir the solution.
–
You add a chemical to the solution.
6. Click OK.
The settings are saved for the next run.
Setting the Events with Entry Collection Mode
Use the Events with Entry collection to capture samples manually by
defining the independent value for each point you collect.
To set the collection mode as Events with Entry:
1. Click Experiment > Collection Mode > Events with Entry.
The Events with Entry Setup dialog box opens.
Data Markers
Performing an Experiment
15
2. (Optional) Type a name for the label.
3. (Optional) Type the units for the independent variable.
4. (Optional) Select the Average over 10 s (seconds) option.
Use this option when sensor values fluctuate. The system collects ten
seconds of data and retains the average reading.
5. Click OK.
The settings are saved for the next run.
The Keep current reading icon
now appears (inactive) in Data
collection controls.
Setting the Selected Events Collection Mode
Use the Selected Event collection mode to capture samples manually by
defining the independent value for each point you collect.
To set the collection mode as Selected Events:
1. Select Experiment > Collection Mode > Selected Events.
The Selected Events Setup dialog box opens.
2. (Optional) Type a name for the label.
Use any meaningful value.
3. (Optional) Type the units for the independent variable.
Performing an Experiment
4. (Optional) Select the Average over 10 s (seconds) option.
Use this option when sensor values fluctuate. The system collects ten
seconds of data and retains the average reading.
5. Click OK.
The settings are saved for the next run.
Keep current reading
now appears (inactive) in Data collection
controls.
Setting the Photogate Timing Collection Mode
Select the Photogate Timing collection mode only when using the
Vernier Photogate sensor. The Photogate is for motion timing. It can time
objects that pass through the gates or as a laser gate outside of the
gates. It can also be used to time motion in any of these states:
•
Pulse
•
Pendulum
•
Gate and pulse
•
Gate state only
Setting the Drop Counting Collection Mode
Select the Drop Counting collection mode only when using the Vernier
Drop Counter optical sensor.
Collecting Data
After you set up the sensor and select the collection mode, start
collecting the data for the experiment. The collection mode determines
the steps required for collecting data.
If you are in Meter View when you start data collection, the Vernier
DataQuest™ application changes to Graph View and begins recording
sensor data. The graph updates to show the data as it is collected.
Important: When you use either Events with Entry mode or the
Selected Events mode, data points are not recorded until you click
Experiment > Keep or click
.
Performing an Experiment
17
Stopping the Data Collection
In most data collection modes, the collection ends automatically. If using
the Events with Entry collection mode, you must stop data collection
manually. You can also end data collection for any other mode manually
at any time.
To stop a collection:
Click Experiment > Stop Collection.
The current run stops.
Collecting Data in the Time Based Mode
To collect data using the Time Based mode:
1. Click Experiment > New Experiment to reset the sensor to its default
values.
This step removes any existing data and ensures the connected sensor
is set to its default values.
2. Connect a sensor.
Note: When you connect a sensor, the sensor name is added to the
sensor list.
3. Assign Time Based as the collection mode.
4. Click Experiment > Start Collection.
5. Click Experiment > Stop Collection.
The data set run is complete.
Collecting Data in the Events with Entry Mode
Use this procedure only after you assign Events with Entry as the
collection mode.
To collect data using the Events with Entry mode only:
1. Click Experiment > New Experiment to reset the sensor to its default
values.
This step removes any existing data and ensures the connected sensor
is set to its default values.
2. Connect a sensor.
Note: When you connect a sensor, the sensor name is added to the
sensor list.
3. Assign Events with Entry Mode as the collection mode.
4. Click Experiment > Start Collection.
Performing an Experiment
The Keep current reading icon
becomes active. The sensor shows
the data point in the center of the screen.
5. Click Experiment > Keep for each data point you want to keep.
The Events with Entry dialog box opens.
6. Type the value of the data point.
7. Click OK.
The data point is saved in the appropriate location on the graph. The
next point appears in the center of the graph.
8. Repeat steps four, five, and six until you collect all of the desired data
points.
9. Click Experiment > Stop Collection.
The data set run is complete.
Collecting Data in the Events with Entry Mode Average
over 10 Option
Use this procedure only after you assign Events with Entry as the
collection mode and select the option Average over 10 option.
To collect data using the Events with Entry mode Average over 10 s
option:
1. Click Experiment > New Experiment to reset the sensor to its default
values.
This step removes any existing data and ensures the connected sensor
is set to its default values.
2. Connect a sensor.
Note: When you connect a sensor, the sensor name is added to the
sensor list.
3. Assign the Events with Entry mode Average over 10 s option.
4. Click Experiment > Start Collection.
Performing an Experiment
19
The Keep current reading icon
becomes active. The sensor shows
the data point in the center of the screen.
5. When you are ready, click
.
The Averaging dialog box opens, counting down to zero seconds.
When the counter reaches zero, the system records the data point in
the appropriate location on the graph.
6. Repeat steps four and five until you collect all of the data points.
7. Click Experiment > Stop Collection.
The data set run is complete.
Collecting Data in the Selected Events Mode
To use the Selected Events collection mode:
1. Click Experiment > New Experiment to reset the sensor to its default
values.
This step removes any existing data and ensures the connected sensor
is set to its default values.
2. Connect a sensor.
Note: When you connect a sensor, the sensor name is added to the
sensor list.
3. Assign Selected Events mode as the collection mode.
4. Click Experiment > Start Collection.
Keep current reading becomes active. The sensor shows the data
point in the center of the screen when in Graph View.
5. Click Experiment > Keep for each data point to keep.
The data point is saved in the appropriate location on the graph. The
next point appears in the center of the graph.
6. Repeat step five until you collect all of the data points.
Performing an Experiment
7. Click Experiment > Stop Collection.
The data set run is complete.
Collecting Data in the Photogate Timing Mode
Use this procedure only after you assign Photogate Timing as the
collection mode.
1. Click Experiment > New Experiment to reset the sensor to its default
values.
This step removes any existing data and ensures the connected sensor
is set to its default values.
2. Connect a sensor.
Note: When you connect a sensor, the sensor name is added to the
sensor list.
3. Assign Photogate Timing mode as the collection mode.
4. Click Experiment > Start Collection.
5. Collect your data set.
6. Click Experiment > Stop Collection.
The data set run is complete.
Collecting Data in the Drop Counting Mode
Use this procedure only after you assign Drop Counting as the collection
mode.
1. Click Experiment > New Experiment to reset the sensor to its default
values.
This step removes any existing data and ensures the connected sensor
is set to its default values.
2. Connect a sensor.
Note: When you connect a sensor, the sensor name is added to the
sensor list.
3. Assign Drop Counting mode as the collection mode.
4. Click Experiment > Start Collection.
5. Collect your data set.
6. Click Experiment > Stop Collection.
The data set run is complete.
Performing an Experiment
21
Storing a Data Set
For most experiments data is collected for multiple trials (runs). You can
store the data set from the latest run before performing a new run.
Storing the data prevents it from being overwritten and retains the data
by creating a new data set for the next run. The data set is not saved
outside the application until you save the data set as a TI-Nspire™ or
PublishView™ document.
Important: You must save the document if you want to keep the data
after the application has been closed.
Note: The PublishView™ application is only available in the computer
software.
If you do not need to retain the data from the previous run, overwrite
the data set by starting another collection without storing the current
data run.
To store a data set:
Click Experiment > Store Data Set.
The first data set is stored as “Run 1" by default and “Run 2" opens
for collecting additional data. You can change the data set names.
Saving an Experiment
After you complete the experiment, save it as a TI-Nspire™ document
(.tns file) or as a TI-Nspire™ PublishView™ document (.tnsp).
Important: The PublishView™ application is only available in the
computer software.
1. Select the document you want to save.
2. Select File > Save Document.
Handheld: Press ~, and then click File > Save.
The document is saved.
Working in the Graph View
23
Working in the Graph View
When you collect data, it is written in both the Graph and Table views.
Use the Graph view to analyze data.
Important: The Graph menu and Analyze menu items are only active
when working in Graph View.
To display the Graph view:
Click View > Graph.
The Graph View screen opens.
.
Displaying Graphs
Use the Show Graph menu to show separate graphs when using:
•
A sensor that plots more than one column of data.
•
Multiple sensors with different defined units at the same time.
You can display the top graph (Graph1), bottom graph (Graph 2), or
both.
In this example, two sensors (the Gas Pressure sensor and the Hand
Dynamometer) were used in the same run. The following image shows
the columns Time, Force, and Pressure in the Table view to illustrate why
two graphs are shown.
Select View > Graph.
Working in the Graph View
Displaying One Graph
When two graphs are displayed, the top graph is Graph 1 and the
bottom graph is Graph 2.
To display only Graph 1:
Select Graph > Show Graph > Graph 1.
Only Graph1 is displayed.
To display only Graph 2:
Select Graph > Show Graph > Graph 2.
Only Graph 2 is displayed.
Working in the Graph View
25
Displaying Multiple Graphs
To display both Graph 1 and Graph 2 together:
Select Graph > Show Graph > Both.
Graph1 and Graph 2 are displayed.
Displaying Graphs in the Page Layout View
Use the Page layout view when Show Graph is not the appropriate
solution for showing more than one graph.
The Show Graph option is not applicable when:
•
You have multiple runs using a single sensor.
•
You use two or more of the same sensors.
•
You use multiple sensors that use the same column(s) of data.
To use Page Layout:
Working in the Graph View
1. Open the original data set you want to see in two graph windows.
2. Click Edit > Page Layout > Selected Layout.
Handheld: Press ~, and then select Page Layout > Select Layout.
3. Select the type of page layout you want to use.
In this example, the top and bottom
page symbol was selected.
4. Select “Click here to add an application.”
Handheld: Press b.
5. Select Add Vernier DataQuest.
The Vernier DataQuest™ application is added to the second view.
This example shows two Vernier DataQuest™ applications running at
the same time.
Working in the Graph View
27
6. To see separate views, click the view you want to change, and then
select View > Table.
The new view is displayed.
7. To show the same view, click the view to change.
8. Click View > Graph.
The new view is displayed.
Note:
Selection
in one
view is
reflected
in the
other.
Working in the Graph View
Customizing the Graph
You may customize the graph by adding a title, changing colors, and
setting ranges for the axis.
Adding a Title
When you add a title to a graph, the title is displayed in the View Details
area. When you print the graph, the title prints on the graph.
1. Click Graph > Graph Title.
The Graph Title dialog box opens.
If there are two graphs in the work area, the dialog box has two title
options.
Working in the Graph View
29
2. Type the name of the title in the Title field.
—or—
a) Type the name of the first graph in the Graph 1 field.
b) Type the name of the second graph in the Graph 2 field.
3. Select Enable to show the title.
Note: Use the Enable option to hide or show the graph title as
needed.
4. Click OK.
The title is shown.
Setting Axis Ranges for One Graph
To modify the minimum and maximum range for the x and y axis:
1. Click Graph > Window Setting.
The Window Setting dialog box opens.
Working in the Graph View
2. Type the new values in one or more of these fields:
–
X Min
–
X Max
–
Y Min
–
Y Max
3. Click OK.
The application uses the new values for the graph visual range until
you modify the range or change data sets.
Setting Axis Ranges for Two Graphs
When working with two graphs, enter two y axis minimum and
maximum values, but only one set of minimum and maximum values for
the x axis.
1. Click Graph > Window Setting.
The Window Setting dialog box opens.
2. Type the new values in one or more of these fields:
–
X Min
Working in the Graph View
31
–
X Max
–
Graph 1: Y Min
–
Y Max
–
Graph 2: Y Min
–
Y Max
3. Click OK.
The application uses the new values for the graph visual range until
you modify the range or change data sets.
Setting the Axis Range on the Graph
You can modify the minimum and maximum range for the x and y axis on
the graph.
1. Select the text you want to change.
2. Type a new value for the text.
Handheld:
a) Place the cursor over the value until the cursor changes to an
I-beam
.
b) Highlight the text you want to change.
c)
Type a new value for the text.
d) Press ·.
The text is changed, and the graph redrawn to reflect the change in
value.
Working in the Graph View
Selecting a Data Set to Plot
To save data sets or run multiple trials, select the data set to plot.
1. Click Graph > Select Data Set.
The list of available data sets opens.
2. Select one of the following:
•
Data Set name. Plot one specific data set.
•
All. Plot all data sets.
•
More. Choose a combination of data sets to plot.
When you use the More option and select more than one data set
but not all data sets, the Data Set selection tool states Custom.
3. Click OK.
The data set you selected is displayed.
Working in the Graph View
33
Autoscaling a Graph
Use the autoscale option to show all the points plotted. Autoscale Now is
useful after you change the x and y axis range or zoom in or out of a
graph. You can also define the automatic autoscale setting to use during
and after a collection.
Autoscale Now Using the Application Menu
Click Graph > Autoscale Now.
The graph now displays all the points plotted.
Autoscale Now Using the Context Menu
1. Open the context menu in the graph area.
2. Click Window/Zoom > Autoscale Now.
The graph now displays all the points plotted.
Defining Autoscale During a Collection
There are two options for using the automatic autoscaling that occurs
during a collection. To choose an option:
1. Click Options > Autoscale Settings.
The Autoscale Settings dialog box opens.
2. Click ¢ to open the During Collection drop-down list.
3. Select one of these options:
•
Autoscale Larger - Expands the graph as needed to show all
points as you collect them.
•
Do Not Autoscale - The graph is not changed during a collection.
4. Click OK to save the setting.
Defining Autoscale After a Collection
You have three options for setting the automatic autoscaling that occurs
after a collection. To set your choice:
Working in the Graph View
1. Click Options > Autoscale Settings.
The Autoscale Settings dialog box opens.
2. Click ¢ to open the After Collection drop-down list.
3. Select one of these options:
•
Autoscale to Data. Expands the graph to show all data points.
This option is the default mode.
•
Autoscale From Zero. Modifies the graph so all data points
including the origin point are displayed.
•
Do Not Autoscale. The graph settings are not changed.
4. Click OK to save the setting.
Selecting a Range of Data
Selecting a range of data on the graph is useful in several situations, such
as when zooming in or out, striking and unstriking data, and examining
settings.
To select a range:
1. Place the cursor at the start of the area.
2. Drag the cursor across the graph to the end of the selected region.
The selected area is indicated by gray shading.
Handheld:
a) Place the cursor at the starting point, and then press / x.
The cursor changes to
(double-headed arrow).
b) Move the cursor to the end of the selection.
c)
Press d.
The cursor changes to å (single-headed arrow).
Working in the Graph View
35
3. Perform one of these actions.
–
Zoom in or out
–
Strike or unstrike data
–
Examine settings
Zooming In on a Graph
You can zoom in on a subset of the collected points. You can also zoom
out from a previous zoom or to expand the graph window beyond the
data points collected.
To zoom in on a graph:
1. Select the area you want to zoom into or use the current view.
2. Click Graph > Zoom In.
The graph adjusts to display only the area you selected.
The x range selected is used as the new x range. The y range
autoscales to show all graphed data points in the selected range.
These images show an original view and zoom in performed multiple
times (or as a selected region).
Zooming Out of a Graph
To zoom out of a graph:
Select Graph > Zoom Out.
The graph is now expanded.
If a zoom in preceded a zoom out, the graph displays the settings
prior to the zoom in.
For example, if you zoomed in twice, the first zoom out would display
the window to the first zoom in. To display the full graph with all
data points from multiple zoom ins, use Autoscale Now.
Working in the Graph View
Changing the Point Display
You can adjust the way points are displayed on graphs, change the point
colors, and change the symbols for point markers.
Setting Point Options
To indicate how often marks show on the graph and whether to use a
connecting line:
1. Click Options > Point Options.
The Point Options dialog box opens.
2. Select a Mark option from the drop-down list.
•
None. No point protectors.
•
Regional. Periodic point protectors.
•
All. Every data point as a point protector.
3. Select Connect Data Points to display a line between points.
—or—
Clear Connect Data Points to remove the line between points.
The following graphics show examples of some of the point Mark
options.
Regional
Connect Data Points - Selected
All
Connect Data Points - not selected
None
Connect Data Points - Selected
Working in the Graph View
37
Changing Point Colors
To change the color of the marks from the default settings.
Note: On a TI-Nspire™ handheld, color is represented by different
shades of gray.
1. Right-click the graph to open the menu.
2. Click Color.
Note: The data option is often preceded by the data set name and
column name.
3. Click the column variable to change.
4. Click the color.
The line representing the data changes to the color selected.
In this example, Force was selected and green was the color chosen.
Working in the Graph View
Selecting Point Markers
1. Right-click in the graph to open the menu.
2. Click Point Marker.
Note: If there is only one dependent variable column, the Point
Marker option is preceded by the data set name and column name.
Otherwise, the Point Marker option has a menu.
3. Select the column variable to change.
4. Select the point marker to set.
The Point Marker changes to the option selected.
In this example, Pressure was selected and the inverted fill triangle
was the point chosen.
Working in the Graph View
39
Selecting an Independent Variable Column
Use the option Select X-axis Column to select the column used as the
independent variable when graphing the data. This column is used for all
graphs.
1. Click Graph > Select X-axis Column.
2. Select the variable you want to change.
The x-axis label on the graph changes and the graph is reordered
using the new independent variable for graphing the data.
Selecting a Dependent Variable Column
Use the option Select Y-axis Column to select which dependent variable
columns to plot on the displayed graph(s).
1. Click Graph > Select Y-axis Column.
2. Select one of the following:
•
A variable from the list. The list is a combination of dependent
variables and the number of data sets.
•
More. Selecting More opens the Select dialog box. Use this when
you want to select a combination of data set variables to graph.
Showing and Hiding Details
You can hide parts of the screen to provide a larger view of the screen.
The following example shows screens with the details shown.
Working in the Graph View
To hide details:
Click Options > Hide Details.
The menu changes from Hide Details to Show Details.
The following parts of the screen are hidden:
•
Vernier DataQuest™ application view tabs
•
View Details area
•
Data collection controls
The following example shows screens with the details hidden.
To show details:
Click Options > Show Details.
Analyzing the Data in Table View
41
Analyzing the Data in Table View
Table view provides another way to sort and view collected data.
Defining Column Options
You can name columns and define the decimal points and the precision
you want to use. To define the columns:
1. Click View > Table.
The Table view is displayed.
In this example, no data sets have been run and the Vernier Gas
Pressure Sensor is attached.
2. Click Data > Column Options.
The Column Options menu opens.
Note: You can be in the Meter, Graph, or Table view and still click
these menu options. The results will still be visible.
3. Click the name of the column you want to define.
Note: Some of the fields may be populated but can be edited.
The Column Options dialog box opens.
Analyzing the Data in Table View
4. Type the long name for the column in the Name field.
5. Type the abbreviated name in the Short Name field.
Note: This name is displayed if the column cannot expand to display
the full name.
6. Type the number of units in the Units field.
7. From the Displayed Precision drop-down list, select the precision
value.
Note: The default precision is related to the precision of the sensor.
8. Select Link to list to link to the symbol table and make this
information available to other TI-Nspire™ applications.
Note: Linking is the default for most sensors.
Important: Heart rate and blood pressure sensors require a
tremendous amount of data to be useful, and the default for these
sensors is to be unlinked to improve system performance.
9. Select Apply changes to all Data Sets to apply these settings to all
data sets.
10. Click OK.
The column settings are now defined with the new values.
Creating a New Data Set
You can create a new data set that has the same columns as the existing
data set(s). Column definitions from the latest data set are applied to the
new data set.
Select Data > New Data Set.
An empty data set is created with the same column definitions as the
existing data set.
Changing a Data Set Name
You can change the Data Set name above the column headings. This
change is also displayed in the Data Set selection tool and the Details
View area.
1. Click View > Table.
2. Right-click the Table pane.
The context menu is displayed for the table data set name, for
example, Run1.
Analyzing the Data in Table View
43
3. Click Options (preceded by the data set name).
The Data Set Options dialog box opens.
4. Type the new name in the Name field.
Note: The maximum character limit is 30 and the name cannot
contain commas.
5. (Optional) Type information about the data set in the Notes field.
6. Click OK.
The data set name is now changed.
Adding a New Column
To enter data manually, add a new column. Sensor columns cannot be
modified, but data entered manually can be edited.
1. Click Data > New Manual Column.
The Column Options dialog box opens.
Table View
Graph View
Analyzing the Data in Table View
Note: Some of the fields may be populated but can be edited.
2. Type the long name for the column in the Name field.
3. Type the abbreviated name in the Short Name field.
Note: This name is displayed if the column cannot expand to display
the full name.
4. Type the units to be used.
5. From the Displayed Precision drop-down list, select the precision
value.
Note: The default precision is related to the precision of the sensor.
6. (Optional) Select Apply changes to all Data Sets to apply these
settings to all data sets.
7. (Optional) Select Generate Values to automatically populate the
rows.
If you select this option, complete these steps:
a) Type a starting value in the Start field.
b) Type an ending value in the End field.
c)
Type the increase in value in the Increment field.
The number of points is calculated and shown in the Number of
Points field.
8. Select Link from list to link to data in another TI-Nspire™
application.
Analyzing the Data in Table View
45
Note: This list only populates when data exists in the other
application and includes a column label.
9. Select Link to list to link to the symbol table and make this
information available to other TI-Nspire™ applications.
Note: Linking is the default for most sensors.
Important: Heart rate and blood pressure sensors require a
tremendous amount of data to be useful, and the default for these
sensors is to be unlinked to improve system performance.
10. Click OK.
A new column is added to the table. This column can be edited.
Adding a New Calculated Column
You can add an additional column to the data set in which the values are
calculated from an expression using at least one of the existing columns.
Use a calculated column when finding the derivative for pH data. For
more information, see Adjusting Derivative Settings.
1. Click Data > New Calculated Column.
The Column Options dialog box opens.
Analyzing the Data in Table View
2. Type the long name for the column in the Name field.
3. Type the abbreviated name in the Short Name field.
Note: This name is displayed if the column cannot expand to display
the full name.
4. Type the units to be used.
5. From the Displayed Precision drop-down list, select the precision
value.
Note: The default precision is related to the precision of the sensor.
6. Type a calculation including one of the column names in the
Expression field.
Note: The system-provided column names are dependent on the
sensor(s) selected and any changes made to the name field in Column
Options.
Important: The Expression field is case-sensitive. (Example:
“Pressure” is not the same as “pressure.”)
7. Select Link to list to link to the symbol table and make this
information available to other TI-Nspire™ applications.
Note: Linking is the default for most sensors.
Important: Heart rate and blood pressure sensors require a
tremendous amount of data to be useful, and the default for these
sensors is to be unlinked to improve system performance.
Analyzing the Data in Table View
47
8. Click OK.
The new calculated column is created.
Striking and Restoring Data
To strike data:
1. Open the data run that contains the data to be struck.
2. Select View > Table.
3. Select the starting row and scroll to the ending point.
To select the region:
Drag the cursor to the bottom or top of the screen (depending on the
direction of the selection) to select the area out of the immediate
view. It also scrolls the screen so you can see the selection.
Analyzing the Data in Table View
Handheld: Select the first cell by pressing the Touchpad and holding
until the cell is filled. Release and move the cursor across cells until
the row is selected. Move the cursor to the bottom or top of the
screen to select the rest of the region. Click the Touchpad to complete
the selection.
In this example, row 21 is selected as the beginning area and row 147
as the end.
4. Click Data > Strike Data.
Handheld: Press b, and then click Data > Strike Data.
5. Select one of the following:
•
In Selected Region: Strike the data from the area you selected.
•
Outside Selected Region: Strike all data except the area you
selected.
The selected data is removed from the table.
Restoring Struck Data
You can restore previously struck data in any view.
1. Select the range of data to restore or if restoring all struck data, start
at step two.
2. Click Data > Restore Data.
3. Select one of the following:
•
In Selected Region - Restore data in the selected area.
•
Outside Selected Region - Restore data outside the selected area.
Beginning of
selection
End of selection.
Analyzing the Data in Table View
49
•
All Data - Restore all data. No data selection necessary.
The data is restored.
Analyzing Data in Graph View
51
Analyzing Data in Graph View
In the Vernier DataQuest™ application, use Graph View to analyze data.
Start by setting up graphs, and then using analysis tools such as integral,
statistics, and curve fit to investigate the mathematical nature of the
data.
Important: The Graph menu and Analyze menu items are only available
when working in Graph View.
Viewing Data for Analysis
When analyzing data, you can view information in the View Details area,
the View All Details dialog box, or on the graph.
Examining the View Details Area Data
When you perform analysis options, open the All Details for Graph dialog
box to examine the details for the data. You can open and close this
dialog box as often as you need.
Important: Some information is only shown in the View Details dialog
box.
The detail information is shown in the View Details area even when the
dialog box is closed.
You can expand the View Details area to have more space to display
information.
To view details for collected data:
1. Right-click in the View Detail area to open the menu.
Handheld: Press /b .
2. Click Details > All Details.
The All Details for Graph dialog box opens.
Analyzing Data in Graph View
Use the scroll bar to view the rest of the data.
3. Click OK.
Other options under the Details context menu may be available. These
options are subsets you can select if you only want to view some of the
details.
Expanding the View Details Area
Use this procedure to expand the View Detail area. Increasing its size
reduces the size of the graph. Use this same procedure to reduce the
View Details area.
In this example, tangent line and statistics are displayed.
1. Place the cursor at the edge of the View Details area and hover until
the cursor changes to
.
2. Click and hold until the cursor changes to
.
Analyzing Data in Graph View
53
3. Drag the area to the right to increase the size, and then click to set
the size.
Drag the area to the left to decrease the size, and then click to set the
size.
Interpolating the Value Between Two Data Points
Use Interpolate to estimate the value between two data points and to
determine the value of a Curve Fit between and beyond these data
points. You can find the area under all of the data or a selected region of
the data.
The examine line moves from data point to data point. When Interpolate
is on, the examine line moves between and beyond data points.
To use Interpolate:
1. Click Analyze > Interpolate.
A check mark appears in the menu next to the option.
2. Click the graph.
The examine indicator is drawn to the nearest data point.
The values of the plotted data are shown in the View details area and
the All Details for Graph dialog box.
You can shift the examine line by moving the cursor with the arrow
keys or by clicking on another data point.
For information on clearing the Integral analysis, see Removing
Analysis Options.
Finding the Slope
Tangent displays a measure of the rate at which the data is changing at
the point you are examining. The value is labeled “Slope.”
Analyzing Data in Graph View
To find the slope:
1. Click Analyze > Tangent.
A check mark appears in the menu next to the option.
2. Click the graph.
The examine indicator is drawn to the nearest data point.
The values of the plotted data are shown in the View details area and
the All Details for Graph dialog box.
You can move the examine line by moving the cursor with the arrow
keys or clicking on another data point.
For information on clearing the Integral analysis, see Removing
Analysis Options.
Finding the Area Under a Data Plot
Use Integral to determine the area under a data plot. You can find the
area under all of the data or a selected region of the data.
To find the area under a data plot:
1. Leave the graph unselected to examine all the data, or select a range
to examine a specific area.
2. Click Analyze > Integral.
3. Select the plotted column name if you have more than a single
column.
The data plot area is displayed in the View Details area.
Analyzing Data in Graph View
55
For information on clearing the Integral analysis, see Removing
Analysis Options.
Generating Statistics
Use this option to determine the statistics associated with the plotted
data. Minimum, maximum, mean, standard deviation, and number of
samples are calculated. You can find the statistics for all the data or a
selected region of data. The values are displayed in the View details area
and in the All Details for Graph dialog box.
To generate statistics:
1. Leave the graph unselected to examine all the data, or select a range
to examine a specific area.
2. Click Analyze > Statistics.
3. Select the plotted column name if you have more than a single
column. For example, run1.Pressure.
The Stats dialog box opens.
4. Review the data.
Analyzing Data in Graph View
5. Click OK.
For information on clearing the Statistics analysis, see Removing
Analysis Options.
Generating a Curve Fit
Use Curve Fit to find the best curve fit to match the data. Select all of the
data or a selected region of data. The curve is drawn on the graph.
To generate curve fit:
1. Leave the graph unselected to examine all the data, or select a range
to examine a specific area.
2. Click Analyze > Curve Fit.
The Model dialog box is displayed.
3. Select the curve fit option from the drop-down list.
Curve Fit option
Calculated in the form:
Linear
y = m*x + b
Quadratic
y = a*x^2 + b*x + c
Cubic
y = a*x^3 + b*x^2 + c*x + d
Quartic
y = a*x^4 + b*x^3 + c*x^2 + d*x + e
Power (ax^b)
y = a*x^b
Exponential
(ab^x)
y = a*b^x
Logarithmic
y = a + b*ln(x)
Sinusoidal
y = a*sin(b*x + c) + d
Logistic (d
0)
y = c/(1 + a*e^(-bx)) + d
Natural
Exponential
y = a*e^(-c*x)
Proportional
y = a*x
Analyzing Data in Graph View
57
The Fit Linear dialog box opens.
4. Click OK.
The following image is an example of a Quadratic curve fit.
5. Review the data.
For information on clearing the Curve Fit analysis, see Removing
Analysis Options.
Analyzing Data in Graph View
Plotting a Model
This option provides a manual method for plotting a function to fit data.
Use one of the predefined models or enter your own.
You can also set the spin increment to use in the View Details dialog box.
Spin increment is the value by which the coefficient changes when you
click the spin buttons in the View Details dialog box.
For example, if you set m1=1 as the spin increment, when you click the
up spin button the value changes to 1.1, 1.2, 1.3 and so on. If you click
the down spin button, the value changes to 0.9, 0.8, 0.7, and so on.
To plot the model:
1. Click Analyze > Model.
The Model dialog box opens.
2. Type your own function.
—or—
Click to select a value from the drop-down list.
3. Click OK.
The Set Coefficient Values dialog box opens.
Analyzing Data in Graph View
59
4. Type the value for the variables.
5. Type the change in value in the Spin Increment fields.
6. Click OK.
Note: These values are the initial values. You can also adjust these
values in the View Details area.
The model is shown on the graph with adjustment options in the
View Details area and in the All Details for Graph dialog box.
Notice that the minimum and maximum axis are too large for this
particular example.
7. (Optional) Adjust the window setting for minimum and maximum
axis values. For more information, see Setting the Axis for One Graph.
Spin buttons
Analyzing Data in Graph View
For information on clearing the Model analysis, see Removing
Analysis Options.
8. Click
to make any desired adjustments to the coefficients.
—or—
Click the value in the View Details area.
This graphic is an example of a model with adjusted values.
Removing Analysis Options
When clearing previously analyzed data from the graph and the View
Details area, you can choose to clear all data, a specific data display, or
remove any generated models.
Use the View Detail menu to remove the following items:
•
Integral
Analyzing Data in Graph View
61
•
Statistics
•
Curve Fit
•
Model
1. Click Analyze > Remove.
2. Select the data display you want to remove.
The display you selected is removed from the graph and the View
Details area.
Using Advanced Data Collection Options
63
Using Advanced Data Collection Options
To collect information at a remote location, you will set up and use a
remote sensor.
Use one of the two following methods to collect data using a remote
sensor:
•
The manual trigger on the TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle or a sensor with a
trigger to start the collection.
•
A time delay to start the collection.
Setting Up Offline Sensors
Use the Add Offline Sensor option to set collection parameters and
change units for a sensor that is not currently attached to a computer or
handheld.
You cannot use a sensor offline, but you can prepare it for use before it is
attached. This option makes it faster to share the sensor during a lesson
or lab when there are not enough sensors for everyone.
1. Click Experiment > Advanced Set Up > Configure Sensor > Add
Offline Sensor.
The Select Sensor dialog box opens.
2. Select a sensor from the drop-down list.
The sensor is displayed in the view you have open.
3. Click View > Meter.
The Meter view shows the list of available sensors.
The following example shows an offline motion detector sensor in
Meter view.
Using Advanced Data Collection Options
Setting Up a Remote Collection Unit
Only the TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle, TI CBR 2™, and Vernier Go!Motion®
support remote data collection.
Sensors use values currently defined in the Vernier DataQuest™
application. You must edit these collection mode values before you set
up the remote unit. For more information, see Modifying Sensor
Settings.
To select the collection unit:
1. Connect a sensor.
2. Set up the experiment by opening a new document and setting the
collection mode.
For more information, see Setting the Collection Mode.
3. Click Experiment > Advanced Set Up > Remote Collection.
4. Select a data collection device from the drop-down list.
The Remote Setup Details dialog box opens.
5. (Optional) Type the delay value.
Using Advanced Data Collection Options
65
Setting the delay at zero allows you to use the manual trigger button
on the Lab Cradle to start the collection. See Using the Manual
Trigger to Start the Collection.
6. Click OK.
The Remote Setup dialog box opens.
A message is displayed telling you how to start the collection and that
it is safe to disconnect the data collection device.
7. Disconnect the sensor.
8. View the LED lights to determine if the sensor is ready to collect data.
•
Red. Indicates that the system is not ready.
•
Amber. Indicates the system is ready, but is not collecting data.
•
Green. Indicates the system is collecting data.
9. Press the trigger to collect data.
Setting Up the Sensor for Triggering
To start data collection based on a specific sensor reading, the TI-Nspire™
Lab Cradle and sensor must be connected.
You must set the sensor and the threshold type for the system to use
when collecting data. When the trigger is reached, the sensor starts
collecting data.
To set up the trigger:
1. Connect the sensor.
2. Click Experiment > Advanced Set up > Triggering > Set Up.
The Configure Trigger dialog box opens.
Using Advanced Data Collection Options
3. Select the sensor from the Select the sensor to use as trigger drop-
down list.
Note: The menu displays the sensors connected to the TI-Nspire™ Lab
Cradle.
4. Select one of the following from the Select the type of trigger to
use drop-down list.
•
Increasing through threshold. Use to trigger on increasing
values.
•
Decreasing through threshold. Use to trigger on decreasing
values.
5. Type the appropriate value in the Enter the trigger threshold in
units of the selected sensor field.
When entering the trigger value, enter a value within the range of
the sensor.
If you change the unit type after setting the threshold, the value
automatically updates.
For example, if you use the Vernier Gas Pressure sensor with the units
set as atm and you later change the units to kPa, the settings are
updated.
6. Type the number of data points to keep before the trigger value
occurs.
7. Click OK.
The trigger is now set and enabled if values were entered.
Using Advanced Data Collection Options
67
8. (Optional) Select Experiment > Advanced Set up > Triggering to
verify the active indicator is set to Enabled.
Important: When the trigger is enabled, it stays active until it is
disabled or you start a new experiment.
Enabling a Disabled Trigger
If you set the trigger values in the current experiment, and then disable
them, you can enable the triggers again.
To enable a trigger:
Click Experiment > Advanced Set Up > Triggering > Enable.
The trigger is now active.
Disabling an Enabled Trigger
To disable the active trigger.
Click Experiment > Advanced Set Up > Triggering > Disable.
The trigger is no longer active.
Using the Manual Trigger to Start the Collection
1. Save and close any open documents.
When performing experiments, TI recommends that you have only
one document open. The system cannot determine which of the
documents to use with the sensor if multiple documents are open.
2. Create a new document.
Creating a new document ensures that the Vernier DataQuest™
application is set to its default values.
3. Attach a sensor to the TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle.
4. Attach the TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle to the computer or handheld.
5. Set up an experiment.
6. Click Experiment > Advanced Set Up > Remote Collection >
TI-Nspire Lab Cradle.
The Remote Setup Details dialog box opens.
Using Advanced Data Collection Options
7. Review the settings. Verify the delay is at zero (no delay).
Setting the delay at zero allows you to use the manual trigger button
on the Lab Cradle to start data collection.
8. Click OK.
The Remote Setup dialog box opens indicating the sensor is ready for
remote collection.
9. Disconnect the Lab Cradle.
10. Click OK.
When you disconnect the TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle from the handheld
or computer, verify the status. When the LED transfer is blinking
amber, the Lab Cradle is ready to collect data.
11. Press the trigger button on the Lab Cradle.
The data collection starts immediately.
After you have collected data, see Retrieving Remote Data.
Using a Delay to Start the Collection
1. Save and close any open documents.
When performing experiments, TI recommends that you have only
one document open. The system cannot determine which of the
documents to use with the sensor if multiple documents are open.
Using Advanced Data Collection Options
69
2. Create a new document.
Creating a new document ensures that the Vernier DataQuest™
application is set to its default values.
3. Attach a sensor to the TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle.
4. Attach the TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle to the computer or handheld.
5. Click Experiment > Advanced Set Up > Remote Collection >
TI-Nspire Lab Cradle.
The Remote Setup Details dialog box opens.
6. Review the settings.
7. Type the amount of time in seconds to delay the start of the
collection.
Important: When you use a delay, the manual trigger button on the
TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle has no impact on the start of the collection.
8. Click OK.
The Delayed Remote Setup dialog box opens indicating when
sampling will begin.
9. Click OK.
The Remote Setup dialog box opens indicating the countdown has
started.
Using Advanced Data Collection Options
10. Click OK.
11. Disconnect the Lab Cradle.
12. View the LED lights to determine if the sensor is ready to collect data.
•
Red. Indicates that the system is not ready.
•
Amber. Indicates the system is ready, but is not collecting data.
•
Green. Indicates the system is collecting data.
13. Collect the data.
After you have collected the data, see Retrieving Remote Data.
Retrieving Remote Data
After data is collected, you must transfer the data to the computer or
handheld. After the data transfers, you can analyze the data. For more
information, see Analyzing Data in Graph View.
To retrieve data:
1. Open the Vernier DataQuest™ application.
2. Attach the TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle to the handheld or computer.
The Remote Data Detected dialog box opens.
3. Click Import.
The data transfers to the Vernier DataQuest™ application.
Working with Advanced Analysis Features
71
Working with Advanced Analysis Features
Use the Vernier DataQuest™ application advanced data analysis features
to:
•
Replay the data collection.
•
Adjust derivative settings.
•
Draw a predictive plot.
•
Use Motion Match.
•
Examine graphs using the Page Layout view.
Replaying the Data Collection
Use the Replay option to playback the data collection. This option lets
you:
•
Select the data set you want to replay.
•
Pause the playback.
•
Advance the playback by one point at a time.
•
Adjust the playback rate.
•
Repeat the playback.
Selecting the Data Set to Replay
You can replay one data set at a time. By default, the latest data set plays
using the first column as the base column (example: time reference).
If you have multiple data sets, and want a different data set or base
column than the default, you can select the data set to replay and the
base column.
To select the data set to replay:
1. Click Experiment > Replay > Advanced Settings.
The Advanced Replay Settings dialog box opens.
Working with Advanced Analysis Features
2. Select the data set to replay from the Data Set drop-down list.
Note: Changing the run in the Data Set selection tool does not affect
the playback choice. You must specify which data set in
Experiment > Replay > Advanced Settings.
3. (Optional) Select a new value from the Base Column drop-down list.
The selected column acts as the “Time” column for the replay.
Note: The base column should be a strictly increasing list of numbers.
4. Click Start to start the playback and save the settings.
Note: Data Set and Base Column options are based on the number of
stored runs and the sensor type used.
Starting the Playback
To start the playback:
Select Experiment > Replay > Start Playback.
Playback of the data set run starts, and the Data Collection Control
buttons change to Stop Playback, Pause, and Advance by One Point.
The Advanced by One Point button (and menu item) is inactive until
you pause the replay.
Pausing the Playback
To pause the playback:
Select Experiment > Replay > Pause or click
.
The following events occur:
•
The playback pauses.
•
The menu option changes to "Resume."
•
The button changes to
.
•
The menu option Advance by One Point becomes active.
Restarting the Playback
To restart the playback after pausing:
Select Experiment > Replay > Resume.
The playback resumes.
Working with Advanced Analysis Features
73
Advancing the Playback by One Point
Use this option to advance the playback point by point. The playback
must be selected and paused for this option to be available.
To advance the paused playback:
Select Experiment > Replay > Advance One.
The playback advances by one point until the last point is reached.
Adjusting the Playback Rate
To adjust the playback rate:
1. Select Experiment > Replay > Playback Rate.
The Playback Rate dialog box opens.
2. In the Playback Rate field, click ¤ to open the drop-down list.
3. Select the rate at which the playback will play.
Normal speed is 1.00. A higher value is faster, and a lower value is
slower.
4. Select one of the following options:
•
Click Start to start the playback and save the settings.
•
Click OK to save the settings for use on the next playback.
Repeating the Playback
1. Select Experiment > Replay > Start Playback.
2. Click Start to start the playback and save the settings.
Adjusting Derivative Settings
Use this option to select the number of points to use in derivative
calculations. This value affects the tangent tool, velocity, and
acceleration values.
Find pH derivative settings using a calculated column.
Working with Advanced Analysis Features
The Vernier DataQuest™ application can determine a numeric derivative
of a list of data with respect to another list of data. The data can be
collected using sensors, input manually, or linked from other
applications. The numerical derivative is found using a calculated
column.
To determine the numerical 1st derivative of List B with respect to List A,
enter the following expression in the Column Options dialog:
derivative(B,A,1,0) or derivative(B,A,1,1)
To determine the numerical 2nd derivative of List B with respect to List A,
enter the following express:
derivative(B,A,2,0) or derivative (B,A,2,1)
The last parameter is either 0 or 1 depending on the method you are
using. When it is 0, a weighted average is used. When it is 1, a time
shifted derivative method is used.
Note: The first derivative calculation (weighted average) is what the
Tangent tool uses to display the slope at a data point when examining
data. (Analyze > Tangent).
Note: The derivative calculation is completely row based. It is
recommended that your List A data be sorted in ascending order.
1. Click Options > Derivative Settings.
The Settings dialog box opens.
2. Select the number of points from the drop-down list.
3. Click OK.
Drawing and Clearing a Predictive Plot
You can add points to the graph to draw a prediction and you can
remove the prediction.
Drawing a Predictive Outcome
Use this option to add points to the graph to predict the outcome of an
experiment.
To draw the prediction:
Working with Advanced Analysis Features
75
1. Click Analyze > Draw Prediction > Draw.
2. Move the cursor over the graph, and then click each area in which
you want to place a point.
3. Press Esc to release the drawing tool.
Handheld: Press d.
The following image is an example of a drawn prediction.
Clearing the Prediction
To clear the drawn prediction:
Click Analyze > Draw Prediction > Clear.
Using Motion Match
Use this option to create a randomly generated plot when creating
position versus time or velocity versus time graphs.
This feature is only available when using a motion detector like the
CBR 2™ sensor or the Go!Motion® sensor.
Generating a Motion Match Plot
To generate a plot:
1. Attach the motion detector.
2. Click View > Graph.
3. Click Analyze > Motion Match.
4. Select one of the following options:
•
New Position Match. Generates a random position plot.
Working with Advanced Analysis Features
•
New Velocity Match. Generates a random velocity plot.
The following image is an example of the Motion Match (New
Velocity Match) generated plot:
Note: Continue selecting a new position or a new velocity match to
generate a new random plot without removing the existing plot.
Removing a Motion Match Plot
To remove the generated plot:
Click Analyze > Motion Match > Remove Match.
You can only print from the computer. You can print any single displayed
active view, or with the Print All option you can print:
•
One data view.
•
All of the data views.
•
A combination of the data views.
The Print All option has no affect in applications outside of the Vernier
DataQuest™ application.
Selecting Print All Options
To select the Print All option:
1. Click Options > Print All Settings.
The Print All Settings dialog box opens.
2. Select one of the following options:
•
Print Current View. The current view is sent to the printer.
•
Print All Views. All three views (Meter, Graph, & Table) are sent to
the printer.
•
More. Only the views you select are sent to the printer.
If you select More:
–
Select the views to print.
–
Click OK.
The Print All settings are now complete and can be used when
printing.
Printing Data Views
To print a data view:
1. Click File > Print.
2. Select Print All from the Print What drop-down list.
The Print dialog box opens.
3. Select additional options, if needed.
4. Click Print to send the document to the printer.
Using the Sensors and Data with Other Applications
79
Using the Sensors and Data with Other
Applications
The Sensor Console is a specialized view of the Vernier DataQuest™
application designed for using sensors with other TI-Nspire™
applications such as:
•
Graphs
•
Geometry
•
Data & Statistics
•
Lists & Spreadsheet
When you perform experiments, TI recommends that you have only one
document open. The system cannot determine which of the documents
to use with the sensor if multiple documents are open.
Collecting Data in Other Applications
To use Sensor Console with a sensor:
1. Open the application you want to use to capture the data.
2. Click Insert > Sensor Console.
Handheld: Press ~, and then Insert > Sensor Console.
3. Attach the sensor if it is not already attached.
4. Wait a moment for the Sensor Console area to become active.
5. Click Collect Data > Start Collections.
6. Wait for the data set run to end or stop the collection.
Stopping Data Collection
To stop collecting data:
1. Click Collect Data > Stop Collection.
Handheld: Press b and select Collect Data > Stop Collection
2. Click Collect Data > Close Console.
The data set is available for use in the current application.
Using the Sensors and Data with Other Applications
Opening the Sensor Console Application Menus
The Sensor Console menus are a subset of the Vernier DataQuest™
menus.
Accessing the Application Menu on the Computer
To access the Sensor Console menu:
1. Click anywhere on the Sensor Console bar.
Handheld: Press b.
2. Click Collect Data.
The Sensor Console menu opens.
Note: To access options specific to the Sensor Console, right-click the
Sensor Console bar. On a handheld, press / b.
Using the Sensors and Data with Other Applications
81
Viewing Existing Data
You can view data collected and stored from a different TI-Nspire™
application in the current application.
1. Open the document with the captured data set.
For example, open the Graphs application.
2. Click Insert > [other application].
For example, insert Lists and Spreadsheet.
The selected application opens.
3. Click Insert > Sensor Console.
The Sensor Console area opens at the bottom of the application.
In this example a sensor is attached, but it does not have any affect on
this procedure.
Using the Sensors and Data with Other Applications
4. Click Collect Data > View Data in Apps on Current Page.
Handheld:
a) Click in the Sensor Console area.
b) Press b, and then Collect Data > View Data in Apps on
Current Page.
Wait until the data is populated. After a few moments, the data is
displayed.
5. Click Collect Data > Close Console.
Using the Sensors and Data with Other Applications
83
You can now work with the data in the current application.
Analyzing Data in the Data & Statistics
Application
When you open existing data in the Data & Statistics application, the
data first displays as a Dot Point graph. You must take additional steps to
organize the points.
The following image is an example of existing data opened as a Dot
Point graph in the Data and Statistics application.
1. Open the document containing the data set in the Data & Statistics
application.
2. Click the text “Click to add variable” on the y-axis.
3. Select the variable.
4. Click the text “Click to add variable” on the x-axis.
5. Select the variable.
The data is replotted.
y-axis
x-axis
The following sensors can be used with the Vernier DataQuest™
application.
•
25-g Accelerometer
•
3-Axis Accelerometer
•
Low-g Accelerometer
•
CBR 2™ - Connects directly to handheld USB port
•
Go! Motion - Connects directly to computer USB port
•
Extra Long Temperature Probe
•
Stainless Steel Temperature Probe
•
Surface Temperature Sensor
•
Ammonium Ion-Selective Electrode
•
Anemometer
•
Barometer
•
Blood Pressure Sensor
•
C02 Gas Sensor
•
Calcium Ion-Selective Electrode
•
Charge Sensor
•
Chloride Ion-Selective Electrode
•
Colorimeter
•
Conductivity Probe
•
High Current Sensor
•
Current Probe
•
Differential Voltage Probe
•
Digital Control Unit
•
Digital Radiation Monitor
•
Dissolved Oxygen Sensor
•
Dual-Range Force Sensor
•
EKG Sensor
•
Electrode Amplifier
•
Flow Rate Sensor
Gas Pressure Sensor
•
Hand Dynamometer
•
Hand-Grip Heart Rate Monitor
•
Instrumentation Amplifier
•
Light Sensor
•
Magnetic Field Sensor
•
Microphone
•
Mini Gas Chromatograph
•
Nitrate Ion-Selective Electrode
•
O2 Gas Sensor
•
ORP Sensor
•
pH Sensor
•
Power Amplifier
•
Relative Humidity Sensor
•
Respiration Monitor Belt (Requires Gas Pressure Sensor)
•
Rotary Motion Sensor
•
Salinity Sensor
•
Soil Moisture Sensor
•
Sound Level Meter
•
Spirometer
•
Student Radiation Monitor
•
Thermocouple
•
TI-Light - Sold only with the CBL 2™
•
TI-Temp - Sold only with the CBL 2™
•
TI-Voltage - Sold only with the CBL 2™
•
Tris-Compatible Flat pH Sensor
•
Turbidity Sensor
•
UVA Sensor
•
UVB Sensor
•
Vernier Drop Counter
TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle
89
TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle
The TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle is a device used with TI-Nspire™ handhelds,
TI-Nspire™ software for computers, or as a stand-alone tool to collect
data.
The Lab Cradle supports all TI sensors. It also supports more than 50
analog and digital Vernier DataQuest™ sensors, including motion
detectors and photogate sensors. To see the full list of supported sensors,
go to education.ti.com/education/nspire/sensors.
Important: The TI-Nspire™ CM-C Handheld is not compatible with the
Lab Cradle and only supports the use of a single sensor at a time.
The Lab Cradle comes pre-loaded with its own operating system (OS). The
TI-Nspire™ 3.0 operating system for handheld and computer software
has been preset to recognize the Lab Cradle so you can start using it
immediately.
Note: Any TI-Nspire™ OS earlier than 3.0 will not recognize the Lab
Cradle. For more information about upgrading a handheld OS, see
Getting Started with the TI-Nspire™ CX Handheld or Getting Started
with the TI-Nspire™ Handheld.
TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle
Exploring the Lab Cradle
The following graphic shows the front and back of the Lab Cradle.
1 TI-Nspire™ logo. The TI-Nspire™ name.
2 Analog ports. The three BT analog ports used to connect analog
sensors. The other side of the cradle has two digital ports for digital
sensors.
3 Battery panel and compartment area. The compartment is where
the rechargeable battery is located. Two cross-slotted screws are used
to secure the panel to the Lab Cradle.
4 Lanyard attachment point. A metal bar for attaching a lanyard.
5 Digital ports. The two digital ports used to connect digital sensors.
6 Reset button. Press this button to reboot the operating system if the
Lab Cradle does not respond to commands. Data may be lost when
the Lab Cradle reboots.
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle
91
7 Trigger. Pressing this button is one method for capturing data from
attached sensors. Use this trigger when using the Lab Cradle as a
stand-alone data collection tool.
8 Label. Displays the serial number and other hardware information.
9 Handheld transfer connector. Used to connect the handheld and
Lab Cradle when collecting or transferring data.
10Locking latch. Used to lock the Lab Cradle and handheld together.
Setting up the Lab Cradle for Data Collection
Before you can use the Lab Cradle to collect data, you must connect it to
a handheld or computer to define the collection parameters.
Attaching the Lab Cradle
To attach a handheld to a Lab Cradle, slide the handheld into the
connector at the bottom of the Lab Cradle. To lock the handheld to the
Lab Cradle, push the lock up with the handheld facing up. Push the lock
down to release the handheld.
You can also connect to a handheld by plugging the handheld’s cable
into the Lab Cradle’s mini-USB port. This connection lets you transfer
data from the Lab Cradle to the handheld when you have collected data
in the stand-alone mode.
To connect the Lab Cradle to a computer, plug the cable’s mini-USB
connector into the Lab Cradle’s mini-USB port. Then plug the cable’s
standard USB connector into the computer’s standard USB port.
Defining Collection Parameters
You must have the TI-Nspire™ software loaded on the computer or
handheld. Use the built-in Vernier DataQuest™ app to:
•
Modify sensor settings.
•
Set up data collection modes.
•
Define triggering.
For more information, see the TI-Nspire™ Data Collection and Analysis
Guidebook.
Using the Lab Cradle
The Lab Cradle can be used in the classroom or remotely. Collect the data
with the Lab Cradle, and then retrieve the data later. Store the data on
the Lab Cradle until you return to the classroom, and then transfer it to a
handheld or computer for analysis.
TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle
Using the Lab Cradle with a Handheld
You can connect the Lab Cradle to your handheld to collect or retrieve
data.
Using the Lab Cradle with a Computer
The Lab Cradle works with all Windows® and Mac® operating systems
currently supported by the TI-Nspire™ Teacher and Student computer
software.
Using the Lab Cradle as a Stand-Alone Data Collection Tool
You can use the Lab Cradle in stand-alone mode to collect data either
manually or automatically. Press the trigger button to manually start and
stop data collection when in stand-alone mode.
Note: For long-term data collections TI recommends you use an AC
adapter for a handheld or a remote collection device such as the Lab
Cradle.
Before collecting data, set up the data collection parameters using the
Vernier DataQuest™ app or use the sensor’s default settings. If you do
not change the parameters and use a single sensor, the Lab Cradle
collects data using the sensor’s default settings. If you use multiple
sensors, the Lab Cradle collects samples beginning with the sensor that
has the shortest collection time requirement.
You do not have to reconnect the Lab Cradle to the same computer or
handheld to download the data. You can use any computer or handheld
running a compatible OS and TI-Nspire™ software to download the data.
Learning About the Lab Cradle
Portability
The Lab Cradle fits into the palm of most high school students' hands
when connected to the TI-Nspire™ handheld.
The Lab Cradle features an attachment point for a lanyard. Students can
attach a lanyard to wear the Lab Cradle around their neck. This feature
lets students keep their hands free to steady themselves in rough terrain
during remote data collection activities.
When collecting data for an experiment that subjects the Lab Cradle to
intense movement, TI recommends that students wear a Vernier Data
Vest or zip-up jacket with the sensor secured both around the student’s
neck as well as to the student’s chest. For example, if a student is
measuring speed or motion on a roller coaster, the Lab Cradle may
bounce around due to the movement of the roller coaster. Wearing a
zip-up jacket or Vernier Data Vest limits the movement of the Lab Cradle.
TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle
93
Durability
The Lab Cradle is durable enough to withstand extensive use in the
classroom and in the field. It is designed to survive being dropped from a
height of 36 inches, the height of a standard lab table.
Storing/Operating Temperature Ranges
The Lab Cradle storage temperature range is between -40°C (32° F) to
70°C (158° F).
The Lab Cradle, when used as a stand-alone data collection tool, operates
in temperatures from 10° C (50° F) to 45° C (113° F).
Triggering Methods
The Lab Cradle has two options for triggering data collection—automatic
or manual.
To use automatic triggering, define the criteria in the Vernier
DataQuest™ application to start data collection. The Lab Cradle can
trigger on either an increasing or decreasing value.
Manual triggering is defined in the Vernier DataQuest™ app. By setting
the trigger delay value to zero, you can start data collection by pressing
the trigger button on the Lab Cradle when using it as a stand-alone data
collection tool.
You can define a delay in triggering the data collection when using the
Lab Cradle with a computer or handheld. The Vernier DataQuest™ app
starts a countdown based on the time delay you define. When the
countdown reaches zero, the Lab Cradle and its connected sensors begin
collecting data.
Multi-Channel Data Collection
You can connect up to five sensors to the Lab Cradle. It provides three
analog BT connectors and two digital BT connectors.
The Lab Cradle supports multi-channel data collection by allowing you to
collect data through all five sensors at the same time. When using all five
sensors at the same time, the time stamp is the same for all data
collection streams.
Sampling Rate
The maximum sampling rate for a Lab Cradle using a single BT sensor is
100,000 samples per second. This sampling rate allows you to collect data
for high-sample sensors, such as microphones, blood pressure monitors,
and hand-grip heart rate monitors.
TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle
If using more than one sensor at the same time, the 100,000 samples per
second rate is divided by the number of connected sensors. For example,
when using:
•
One sensor, data is collected at 100,000.
•
Two sensors, data is collected at 50 kHz per sensor.
•
Three sensors, data is collected at 33.3 kHz per sensor.
Some sensor’s maximum sample rates are less than the maximum sample
rate of the Lab Cradle. For example, with five sensors connected to the
Lab Cradle, data may be collected at 20 kHz per sensor; however,
temperature sensors may only be capable of collecting data at 1 kHz so it
will only collect data at that rate.
Viewing Data Collection Status
The Lab Cradle has an LED light located on the top to indicate data
collection status. This light will be red, green, or amber and use a variety
of blink patterns.
Red
•
Red indicates that you need to wait until the system is ready.
•
Slow blink: The Lab Cradle is updating experiment storage space. This
is automatic behavior and does not impact active collections.
•
Fast blink: Indicates one or more attached sensors are not warmed up.
(You may still collect data during the warm-up period but you risk the
data being less precise.)
Amber
•
Amber indicates the system is ready but the collection has not yet
started.
•
One blink per second: The sensor is configured and set up for
sampling.
•
Slow blink: The Lab Cradle is connected to a computer or handheld
running TI-Nspire™ software but not set up for sampling.
•
Fast blink: The Lab Cradle is ready for data collection when you press
the trigger.
TOP
Data collection
activity status
TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle
95
Green
•
Green indicates the system is actively collecting data.
•
Slow blink: Actively collecting data.
Note: There may be a slight variation in the duration of the blink
depending on the mode/rate of collection.
•
Fast blink: Pre-storing data prior to a trigger.
Alternating Amber and Green
•
The blinking pattern indicates the system is in trigger mode but has
not yet reached the trigger event.
Managing Power
When managing the power for the Lab Cradle, you must consider the
power source being used. The Lab Cradle can be powered by its
rechargeable battery or a connected power cord.
Batteries
The Lab Cradle runs on a rechargeable battery that supports one full day
of high-use, high-consumption sensor data collection before recharging.
An example of high-use data collection is an experiment requiring 150
total minutes of continuous data collection with CO2 (47 mA) and O2
sensors at one sample every 15 seconds.
The battery recharges in less than 12 hours.
Viewing the Battery Status
There are two ways to view battery status: when attached to a handheld,
or by looking at the LED light. When the Lab Cradle is attached to a
TI-Nspire™ handheld, you can view the battery status for both. The first
value is the handheld and the second value is the Lab Cradle.
TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle
Press c 5 (Settings) 4 (Status).
When you attach the Lab Cradle directly to a computer, you do not see a
power indicator. Use the LED light on the top of the Lab Cradle to
determine battery status.
When the Lab Cradle is connected to a USB power source (either
wall charger or computer):
•
Red - Slow blinking LED indicates the charge is low but charging.
•
Amber - Slow blinking LED indicates the Lab Cradle is charging
•
Green - Slow blinking LED indicates the Lab Cradle is fully charged.
When in the TI-Nspire™ Cradle Charging Bay:
•
Red - Solid LED indicates the charge is low but is still charging.
•
Amber - Solid LED indicates the Lab Cradle is charging.
•
Green - Solid LED indicates the Lab Cradle is fully charged.
When running and not charging:
•
Red - Blinking LED indicates the battery is below six percent.
•
Amber - Blinking LED indicates the battery is below 30 percent.
•
Green - Blinking LED indicates the battery is between 30 percent and
96 percent. Two green blinks per second indicates the battery is over
96 percent.
Managing Battery Power
When the battery power reaches 30 percent, a yellow LED indicates the
Lab Cradle needs to be charged. The LED turns red when the battery
power reaches five percent.
When managing battery power for the Lab Cradle, remember that some
sensors need to warm up before use. You can collect data while the
sensor is warming up; however, the data may not be as precise.
When you start a long-term or remote data collection, the system checks
current power sources to determine if the sources are adequate to
support the sensors from the beginning to the end of the experiment.
TOP
Battery
status