Minolta DIMAGE V - MAC Manual
Read Online
Read the Minolta DIMAGE V - MAC Manual online using the built-in PDF viewer.
Text of the manual
Software Instruction Manual
© 1997 Minolta Co., Ltd.
under the Berne Convention and
Universal Copyright Convention
Edited in Germany
9222-2755-37 (P9704-A704)
Macintosh Version
Minolta (UK) LTD. Photographie Division
Precedent Drive, Rooksley, Milton Keynes, MK13 8HF, England
Tel.
01 908 200 400
Fax.
01 908 208 334
Minolta (IRL) Ltd. (Photopak Sales)
241 Western Industrial Estate, Naas Road, Dublin 12, Ireland
Tel.
01 45 66 400
Fax.
01 45 00 452
Minolta Portugal Lda
Rua Afonso Lopes Vieira 55-B, P-1700 Lisboa, Portugal
Tel.
01 793 10 06
Fax.
01 793 10 64
http://www.minolta.com
http://www.minolta.de/europe
Digital Camera
Thank you for purchasing the Minolta Dimâge V with the Dimâge V
Image Control Software. The Dimâge V control software is the driver
software for exchanging data between your Macintosh and the
camera. The software lets you:
• Display thumbnail previews of images on the computer monitor.
• Copy images to the camera, your hard disk, or removable media
such as floppy disks.
• Delete images stored on the image memory card.
• Edit images copied to the hard drive or removable media. Try
cropping, rotating adjusting brightness/contrast, or another editing
function.
• Print your images.
• Save your images in a variety of convenient file formats.
• Trigger the camera's shutter remotely with the Macintosh.
• Make time lapse movies with Dimâge V images.
• This instruction manual may not be copied in part or whole without prior permission
from Minolta Co., Ltd.
© 1997 Minolta Co., Ltd.
• Every necessary precaution has been taken to ensure the accuracy of this manual.
Please contact us if you have any questions, find any mistakes, or notice missing
information.
• Minolta is not responsible for loss, damage, or other results caused by operation.
• No part of books, magazines, music, or other productions that were released under
a copyright may be used, copied, or changed without the prior permission from the
author, copyright holder, or the successor to the copyright holder except for
personal, home, or equivalent use.
Please take the time to read through this instruction manual so
you will be able to take full advantage of the features.
This manual assumes you have a working knowledge of the
Macintosh and its operating conventions. Familiarity with the
mouse and standard Macintosh menus and commands is
necessary before operating the Dimâge V control software.
This manual does not instruct in the:
• basic use of the Macintosh or its operating system.
• use of Adobe PhotoDeluxe™.
Please refer to the Apple Macintosh user's guide or the on-line
help guide in the Adobe PhotoDeluxe™ application.
Instructions for installing Adobe PhotoDeluxe™ start on page 84
of this manual. Instructions for using Adobe PhotoDeluxe™ are
built into the PhotoDeluxe™ software.
• Macintosh®, the Apple logo, Apple®, Power Macintosh®, QuickTime® and
AppleTalk® are registered trademarks of Apple Computer, Inc.
• Adobe® and Adobe® PhotoDeluxe™ are registered trademarks of Adobe Systems
Incorporated.
• SmartMedia™ is the registered trademark of Toshiba Corporation.
• Other company names and product names are the trademarks and registered
trademarks of their respective companies.
TABLE OF CONTENTS
2
3
TABLE OF CONTENTS . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .2
BEFORE YOU BEGIN . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .4
Checking the Packing List . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .4
System Requirements . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .6
CONNECTING . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .8
INSTALLING THE SOFTWARE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .10
QUICK OPERATION . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .14
Viewing and Retouching Images . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .14
Operating the Camera with the Computer . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .16
LAUNCHING THE SOFTWARE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .18
VIEWER PANEL . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .21
Opening the Viewer Panel . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .22
Copying Selected Images . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .24
Copying All Images . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .26
Deleting Selected Images . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .28
Deleting All Images . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .30
Sorting Images . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .32
Drag and Drop - Copying Images . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .34
Drag and Drop - Deleting Images . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .35
Displaying the Full Image . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .36
IMAGE PANEL . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .38
Opening the Image Panel . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .39
Magnifying or Reducing the View . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .39
Cropping Images . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .40
Adjusting Brightness and Contrast . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .42
Adjusting Color Balance . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .43
Subtle Brightness Change . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .44
Sharpening and Softening . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .45
Flipping Images . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .46
Rotating Images . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .47
Printing Images . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .48
Saving Images - File Formats . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .49
Saving Images . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .50
DIMÂGE V MAIN PANEL . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .52
Opening the Dimage V Main Panel . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .53
Displaying Camera Status . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .54
Remote Recording . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .55
Exposure Compensation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .57
Self-timer . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .58
Resetting the Camera Date/Time . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .59
Formatting Image Memory Cards . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .60
Copying: From the Mac to the Camera . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .62
Creating a Time Lapse Movie . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .64
MOVIE PANEL . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .66
The Movie Window . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .67
Display Options . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .68
Playback Modes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .69
Drag and Drop - Creating a Time Lapse Movie . . . . . . . . . . . .70
Changing the Movie File Format . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .73
Recompressing Movie Files . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .75
TROUBLE SHOOTING . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .79
ADOBE PHOTODELUXE™ . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .84
System Requirements . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .84
Installing PhotoDeluxe™ . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .84
Installing the QTIC Plug-in Module . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .85
BEFORE YOU BEGIN
4
5
CHECKING THE PACKING LIST
Check the packing list before you begin. If some parts are missing,
contact your camera dealer or a Minolta Service Facility listed on the
front cover of this manual.
Items you will need to operate the Macintosh software:
• "Dimâge V Image Control” Windows/Macintosh CD-ROM
(Software for Windows and Macintosh)
• "Dimâge V Instruction Manuals” Windows/Macintosh CD-ROM
(Software Windows/Macintosh and Digital Camera Dimâge V)
• Serial Cable SC-422 for the Macintosh
• Image Memory Card RM-2S
• Dimâge V Digital Camera
• 4 AA Batteries
Other items included in the package:
• Adobe® PhotoDeluxe™ CD-ROM
• Lens Extension Cable LC-V100
• Camera Case CC-V1
• Hand Strap HS-V1
• Serial Cable SC-232C for Windows
• Quick Reference Guide
• Warranty card
BEFORE YOU BEGIN
6
7
SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
To use the Dimâge V Control software you need:
• An Apple Macintosh computer with a 68030 processor and a
minimum clock speed of 25Mhz or an Apple Power Macintosh.
• Apple system software 7.5 or later.
• A minimum of 12MB (megabytes) available RAM (random access
memory). A minimum of 16MB available RAM when using a Power
Macintosh.
• A minimum of 20MB available hard disk space.
• Monitor with a display area of 640 x 480 pixels or greater.
• QuickTime, version 2.0 or higher.
• A CD-ROM drive.
Power Macs using PCI slots:
For Power Macintosh 7200/80, 7500/100, and 8500/120 please
use Open Transport 1.1 (or later) or use Apple System Software
7.5.3 (or later).
Use the SC-422 serial cable, included in this package, to connect the
Dimâge V to the Macintosh.
1. Turn off the Dimâge V
and the Macintosh.
2. Put the lens in the
standard lens position
(the lens is rotated
forward 90° until it
stops).
3. Plug one end of the
serial cable into the
digital in/out of the
Dimâge V.
• Both ends of the serial cable are
the same.
• Note the pin configuration before
plugging in the serial cable.
4. Plug the other end of the
serial cable into either the
Macintosh's modem port
or printer port.
• Make sure the cable is securely
attached to the camera and the
computer.
Most Macintosh desktop models are equipped with two serial
ports, a modem port and a printer port. When possible, use the
modem port to connect the Dimâge V.
The serial port allocated for LocalTalk (usually the printer port)
may not operate normally with the Dimâge V connection. If your
printer port is allocated for LocalTalk, turn AppleTalk "Off" (select
Chooser in the menu) before connecting the Dimâge V via the
printer port.
Some Macintosh models (PowerBook, PowerBook Duo) have only
one serial port, the printer port.
With 68K series CPUs, always turn AppleTalk "Off" (select
Chooser in the menu) before connecting the Dimâge V.
MODEM PORT
PRINTER PORT
INSTALLING THE SOFTWARE
10
11
WARNING - BEFORE INSTALLATION
Some antivirus system extensions conflict with the operation of
this installer. Please remove or disable them before launching the
Minolta Dimâge Installer. Replace or re-enable them when
installation is complete.
1. Turn the computer on.
2. Quit any applications in use.
3. Insert the "Dimâge V Image Control” -CD-ROM
into the CD-ROM drive.
4. Double-click on the CD-ROM icon to open it.
• The contents of the CD-ROM should appear as pictured below.
6. Double-click on the “Minolta Dimâge V
Software” icon.
• The contents of the “Minolta Dimâge V Software” will appear:
8. Click on Continue....
• The Software End-user License will appear. Read this license
carefully before installing the software.
• If you do not agree to the conditions stated in the Software End-
user License Agreement, click on Disagree and the software will
not be installed.
9. Click on Agree.
• The Dimâge V Installer screen will appear.
Continued on next page.
5. Double-click on the Folder of the language you
want to install.
7. Double-click ion the “Installer” icon.
• The following screen will appear:
Click to select
a folder
where the
software will
be saved.
Name of the hard drive and
folder where the software will
be saved.
8. Click on Select Folder... to change
folders/drives or to create a new folder.
9. Select the install type from the pop-up menu.
• The window below appears if custom install is selected.
Click on
to
display
file information.
Select the files
to install by
clicking on the
check box next to
them (so an X
appears in
).
Click on
to see the files listed under a folder title.
The icon will change to
when a folder is open.
10. Click on Install.
• A bar indicating the percentage complete will appear.
• The message below appears when installation is complete.
11. Click on Restart.
WHERE TO FIND THE FILES
User-selected Destination Folder
Camera Access (application software)
Goodies (folder)
Extensions Folder
QuickTime™ IC (extension)
Minolta Dimage V (extension)
PhotoWare™ Extras (extension)
• All the files listed above will be copied to the drive if Easy Install is
used. If Custom Install is used, only the user-selected files will be
copied onto the drive.
FOR VIEWING AND RETOUCHING IMAGES
Launch the application software (page 18).
The Minolta Dimâge V Main Panel will appear.
Click on Viewer... .
Double-click on the thumbnail to open the full-size image.
In the Viewer Panel:
• Miniature previews of the images, called thumbnails, will appear.
• Sort the thumbnail previews by title or date.
• Copy all or selected images stored on the image memory card to
your hard drive or removable media.
• Delete all or selected images on the image memory card.
Go to page 21 for more information.
The Viewer Panel will appear.
A full-size image will be displayed in the Image panel.
In the Image Panel:
• Edit images (crop, adjust brightness/contrast, adjust color
balance, flip, rotate, sharpen edges, and soften edges).
• Enlarge or reduce the view of images.
• Print images.
Go to page 38 for more information.
Select Save as... from the File pull-down menu.
Enter the new file name.
Select the folder where the file is to be saved.
Select the file format.
Click on Save.
The image will be saved in the selected format.
Once the image is saved:
• View the image in the Viewer Panel as a thumbnail preview.
• Acquire the image into other application software.
• Incorporate the image into an original post card or calendar
using Adobe PhotoDeluxe™, included in this package.
OPERATING THE CAMERA WITH THE COMPUTER
Launch the application software (see page 18).
The Dimâge V Main Panel will appear.
Select Record Mode from the Minolta Dimage V menu.
Set the flash mode and select the image
quality, then click on Capture.
In the Dimage V Main Panel:
• Control the Dimâge V functions (recording, flash mode, image
quality mode, self-timer) with the computer.
• Format SmartMedia™.
• Display the data from the camera's information bar (frames
remaining/frames taken, low battery warning).
Go to page 52 for more information.
Open the viewer panel and double-click on
the thumbnail of the captured image.
The full-size image will be displayed in the image panel.
In the Image Panel:
• Edit images (crop, adjust brightness/contrast, adjust color
balance, flip, rotate, sharpen edges, and soften edges).
• Enlarge or reduce the view of images.
• Print images.
Go to page 38 for more information.
Select Save as... from the File pull-down menu.
Enter the new file name.
Select the folder where the file is to be saved.
Select the file format.
Click on Save.
The image will be saved in the selected format.
Once the image is saved:
• Display the preview of saved image in the Viewer Panel.
• Acquire the saved image into another application.
• Incorporate the saved image into an original post card or
calendar using Adobe PhotoDeluxe™, included in this package.
LAUNCHING THE SOFTWARE
18
19
1. Connect the camera to the Macintosh (p. 8).
2. Turn the camera on.
3. Start-up the computer.
4. Open the folder where the Camera Access
application was saved.
• The application, Camera Access, will be in the folder you selected
or created when installing the software (p. 12).
5. Double-click on the Camera Access icon.
Double-click on
the application's
icon.
6. The Dimâge V Main Panel will appear as shown
below.
DIMMED OPTIONS
If the buttons, Capture, and Viewer... are dimmed (appear grey
instead of black and do not function when clicked), the camera is
either turned off or is not connected to the computer correctly. Check
the following points when the options are dimmed, then quit and
relaunch the application.
• The Dimâge V is turned on.
• The serial cable has been securely plugged into both the camera
and the computer (pp. 8-9).
• An image memory card is in the camera.
• The camera has not been connected to the serial port allocated to
LocalTalk (p. 9).
If the the options are still dimmed after launching, reinstall the
software (pp. 10-13).
VIEWER PANEL FUNCTIONS
The viewer panel displays miniature previews, called
thumbnails, of images. The viewer panel is similar to the
index display on the camera.
In the viewer panel, you can:
• Display the thumbnail previews of images on the SmartMedia™
in the camera. You can also display previews of images
copied to your hard drive or removable media (p. 22).
• Display an image full-size by double-clicking on the
thumbnail (p. 36).
• Sort the previews on your hard drive or removable media
by title and date (p. 32).
• Copy all or selected images stored on the SmartMedia™ in the
camera to your hard drive or removable media.
(pp. 24-27, p. 34).
• Delete all or selected images from the SmartMedia™ in the
camera (pp. 28-31). You can also delete all or selected
images from a folder on your hard drive or removable
media (p. 35).
OPENING THE VIEWER PANEL
There are two ways to open the viewer panel; by displaying either the
images from the camera or images on your hard drive or removable
media.
To Display Camera Images:
Click on Viewer....
Click on the
button labeled
Viewer...
To Display Floppy Disk/Hard Disk Images:
1. Select Open Folder Viewer... from the File
menu.
2. Click once on the folder where the images are
saved, then click on the Select Folder button.
• Do not open the folder where the images are
stored.
Click once on the
folder to highlight it.
Click on the Select
Folder button.
The thumbnail representations of images stored on the image
memory card, Macintosh hard drive, or removable media are
displayed when the viewer panel is open.
Click on
to view information about the image. The
image size, file size, recording date, modified date,
file type, and image depth are displayed.
If the scroll bar is grey, there are more images to
display in the the viewer panel.
Scroll through the images in the viewer panel by
clicking on the scroll arrows at the top and bottom
of the scroll bar, dragging the scroll box up or
down, or clicking on the scroll bar.
COPYING SELECTED IMAGES
Selected images on the image memory card can be copied to
removable media or your computer's hard drive.
1. Display the thumbnail images from the camera
in the viewer panel (pp. 22).
2. Click on the image to be copied. Select multiple
images by holding down the shift key while
clicking on images.
• A border, or cursor, will appear around the selected images.
• Deselect an image by clicking on it while holding down the shift key.
3. Select Copy Selected Images to Disk... from
the Viewer menu.
• The following dialog box will appear.
Select the folder
where the file will
be saved.
Name the file.
This will be the
prefix.
4. Select the folder from the pop-up menu in the
dialog box where the file will be saved.
5. Enter a new file name in the box labeled Image
File Name Prefix:.
• This will be the prefix of the file name. A numerical suffix will be
added automatically to the file name (see EXIF at bottom of page).
6. Click on Save.
• The viewer panel will return when the operation is complete.
EXIF:
Images are automatically saved in the EXIF file format. The name of an
EXIF file consists of the entered file name as the prefix and a three-digit
numerical suffix. The numerical suffix represents the order which a file
was saved. For example: if two files are selected, the entered file name
will apply to both images and their file names will have a suffix
representing the sequence they were saved - Entered File Name001 and
Entered File Name002.
Copied images can be displayed as thumbnails on the viewer panel.
Dimâge V images can also be acquired from the camera into
applications such as Adobe PhotoDeluxe™ using the QTIC plug-in
(pp. 84 - 85).
COPYING ALL IMAGES
All the images on the image memory card can be copied at once to
your hard drive or removable media.
1. Display the thumbnail images from the camera
in the viewer panel (p. 22).
2. Select Copy All Images to Disk... from the
Viewer menu.
• The following dialog box will appear.
Select the folder
where the file will
be saved.
Name the file.
This will be the
prefix.
3. Select the folder from the pop-up menu in the
dialog box where the file will be saved.
4. Enter the desired file name in the box labeled
Image File Name Prefix:.
• This will be the prefix of the file name. A numerical suffix will be
added automatically to the file name (see EXIF on page 25).
5. Click on Save.
• The viewer panel will return when the operation is complete.
See page 25 for information on naming EXIF files.
VIEWER PANEL
DELETING SELECTED IMAGES
You can delete a single image or multiple images from the image
memory card in the camera.
1. Display the thumbnail images from the camera
in the viewer panel (p. 22).
2. Click on the image to be deleted. Select multiple
images by holding down the shift key while
clicking on images.
• A border, or cursor, will appear around the selected images.
• Deselect an image by clicking on it again while holding down the
shift key.
3. Select Delete Selected Images from
Camera... from the Viewer menu.
• The following message appears.
4. Press OK to delete the images.
Press Cancel to escape the operation.
• The viewer panel will return when the operation is complete.
• Protected images cannot be deleted. The following message will
appear if you try to delete one or more protected images.
Never remove an image memory card during the delete operation.
DELETING ALL IMAGES
It is possible to delete all of the unprotected images from the image
memory card in the camera.
1. Display the thumbnail images from the camera
in the viewer panel (p. 22).
Protected images cannot be deleted, see page 62 of the camera
manual.
2. Select Delete All Images from Camera... from
the Viewer menu.
• The following message will appear.
3. Press OK to delete the images.
Press Cancel to escape the operation.
• The viewer panel will return when the operation is complete.
• Protected images cannot be deleted. The following message will
appear if you try to delete one or more protected images.
Never remove an image memory card during the delete operation.
Images copied to your hard drive or removable media can be viewed
as thumbnails and sorted alphabetically by name or chronologically
by date.
Images on the image memory card cannot be sorted.
1. Select Open Folder Viewer... from the File pull-
down menu.
2. Click once on the folder where the images are
saved, then click on the Select Folder button.
• Do not open the folder.
Click once on the
folder to highlight it.
Click on the
Select Folder
button.
3. Go to View by under the Viewer pull-down
menu and select either Name or Date from the
COPYING IMAGES - DRAG AND DROP
You can use the Macintosh's Drag and Drop function to copy images
from the camera.
1. Click on the image to be copied. Select multiple
images by holding down the shift key.
• A border, or cursor, will appear around the selected images.
Deselect an image by clicking on it again while holding down the
shift key.
• Choose Select All from the Edit menu to copy all the images on the
memory card in the camera.
2. Drag the selection to the desired destination.
This function cannot be used to copy images from the hard drive or
removable media.
DELETING IMAGES - DRAG AND DROP
While the thumbnails are displayed, you can use the Macintosh's
Drag and Drop function to delete images from the hard drive or
removable media.
1. Click on the image to be deleted. Select multiple
images by holding down the shift key.
• A border, or cursor, will appear around the selected images.
Deselect an image by clicking on it again while holding down the
shift key.
• Choose Select All from the Edit menu to delete all the images in
the folder.
2. Drag the selection to the trash icon.
This function cannot be used to delete images from the image
memory card in the camera.
DISPLAYING THE FULL IMAGE
The full-size image of a thumbnail representation can be
displayed on the computer monitor.
1. Open the viewer panel and display the
thumbnails of the desired images (pp. 22-23).
2. Double-click on the thumbnail of the image to be
displayed full size (640 x 480 pixels).
• When the full-size image appears, the software will switch from the
viewer panel to the image panel. In the image panel, the image can
be edited, printed, or saved in a different file format.
If the "Insufficient Memory" error message appears, increase the
memory allocation for the Camera Access software.
1. Select Quit from the File menu.
2. Select Finder from the application menu (far right on the menu
bar).
3. Open the folder where Camera Access is saved, then click once
on the Camera Access icon. Select Get Info from the File menu.
• The following window will appear.
Increase the preferred
memory setting.
4. Double-click on the box next to Preferred Size, then enter a
higher memory value.
5. Close the window.
IMAGE PANEL FUNCTIONS
Images are displayed full size in the image panel. In the
image panel, the image can be edited, printed, or saved in a
different file format.
In the image panel, you can:
• Magnify or reduce the view of an image (p. 39).
• Edit images in a variety of ways (pp. 40-47):
Crop images.
Adjust the brightness and contrast of an image.
Adjust an image's color balance.
Flip or rotate an image.
Retouch images (subtle brightness adjustment, soft
focusing or image sharpening).
• Print images (p. 48).
• Save images to your hard drive or removable media in one
of the following file formats (pp. 49-50):
PICT
JPEG
EXIF
TIFF
OPENING THE IMAGE PANEL
The image panel is automatically opened when an image is
displayed full size. There are two ways to open the image panel:
• Double-click on a thumbnail in the viewer panel
to open the image panel and display the image
full size.
• While in any panel, select Open... from the File
menu and choose an image from the hard drive
or a floppy disk.
MAGNIFYING OR REDUCING THE VIEW
The image display can be magnified up to 400% or reduced to 25%.
There are two ways to change the view:
• Select Zoom In from the Image menu to magnify
the image. Select Zoom Out from the Image
menu to reduce the image display size.
• Click on the Scale pop-up menu in the lower left
corner and select the view percentage.
1. Click and drag the cursor to select the final
image area.
• The selected area will be surrounded by a marquis.
The marquis
indicates the final
image area.
2. Select Crop from the Image menu.
• The selected section remains on the screen.
3. Select Save As... from the File menu. Name the
file and choose a file format, then click on Save.
It is possible to copy the cropped portion of the image to the hard
drive or removable media using Macintosh's Drag and Drop function.
The resulting file will be a "Picture Clipping".
Choose Select All from the Edit menu. Click on
the image and drag it to a folder or floppy disk.
• The image is saved as a picture clipping file.
It is also possible to simply Drag and Drop the selected portion of
the image after completing step 1 on page 40.
CROPPING IMAGES
Trim away unnecessary areas of the image using the crop function.
ADJUSTING BRIGHTNESS AND CONTRAST
Adjust the brightness and contrast of the actual image.
2. Click and drag the sliders to make the
brightness and contrast adjustments or enter
the values directly into the boxes above the
bars.
• Select the Preview check box (click on it so an X appears) to view
the changes as they are made.
3. Click on OK to apply the changes.
• Click on Cancel to escape the dialog box without making changes.
ADJUSTING COLOR BALANCE
Correct the color of the actual image.
1. Select Color Balance... from the Image menu.
• The Color Balance dialog box will appear.
2. Click and drag the sliders to make the color
corrections or enter the values directly into the
boxes above the bars.
• Select the Preview check box (click on it so an X appears) to view
the changes as they are made.
3. Click on OK to apply the changes.
• Click on Cancel to escape the dialog box without making changes.
1. Select Brightness and Contrast... from the
Image menu.
• The Brightness/Contrast dialog box will appear.
SUBTLE BRIGHTNESS CHANGES
Make subtle changes in the image brightness. This function is similar
to Adjusting Brightness and Contrast. However, this method allows
you to fine-tune brightness changes.
Select Adjust from the Image menu and choose
either Darken or Lighten from the submenu.
• The image brightness will change when the mouse is released.
• Select Undo from the Edit menu to cancel the change. The Undo
function will only cancel the last action or change made.
SHARPENING AND SOFTENING
These functions allow you to make a slightly out-of-focus image
appear sharper or create a soft-focus effect on an image.
• These functions produce varying degrees of effect from image to
image.
Sharpen: This function "sharpens" edges. It will give a slightly out-
of-focus image a crisper appearance. The nature of this function
also makes image noise more visible.
Soften: This function creates a soft-focus effect. Small details in
the image are diffused, making it popular for portraits. The nature
of this function makes the entire image appear unsharp.
Select Adjust from the Image menu and choose
either Sharpen or Soften from the submenu.
• Select Undo from the Edit menu to cancel the change. The Undo
function will only cancel the last action or change made.
Flip the image horizontally or vertically.
Select Flip from the Image menu and choose
either Horizontal or Vertical from the submenu.
Horizontal
Vertical
• Cancel the operation by either repeating it (flip it again) or selecting
Undo from the Edit menu.
ROTATING IMAGES
Rotate the image clockwise or counter-clockwise in 90° increments.
Select Rotate from the Image menu and choose
either Left (counter-clockwise) or Right
(clockwise) from the submenu.
Left
Right
• Cancel the operation by selecting Undo from the Edit menu or
continuing to rotate until the image appears in its original position.
SAVING IMAGES - FILE FORMATS
From the image panel, you can save the displayed image to your
hard disk or removable media in one of the following file formats.
PICT
The PICT graphic file format uses a lossless compression scheme
and is compatible with many Macintosh applications.
JPEG
The JPEG (Joint Photographic Experts Group) compression
standard is capable of producing a high compression ratio while
maintaining image quality. JPEG is a widely supported image file
format.
EXIF
The EXIF (Exchangeable Image File Format) format is commonly
used with digital cameras and removable media. This is the file
format the Dimâge V uses to store images.
TIFF
TIFF (Tag Image File Format) files contain bit mapped data.
Images copied from the image memory card using the viewer
panel are automatically saved as EXIF files (pp. 24-27).
Adobe PhotoDeluxe™ is compatible with PICT, JPEG, TIFF,
BMP, GIF, Photoshop 2.0, and Photoshop 3.0 file formats.
However, the Dimâge V EXIF files can be acquired or captured
directly from the camera through PhotoDeluxe™ with the use of
the QTIC plug-in (p. 85).
48
PRINTING IMAGES
Make a hard copy of the image by sending it to your printer.
This software is compatible with ColorSync™ 2.0. Using
ColorSync™ with a compatible color printer will produce a close color
match between the printed image and the image as displayed on the
monitor.
1. Select Print... from the File menu.
• The printer dialog box will appear. The dialog box display will
vary according to the printer.
2. Enter the number of copies and select the
desired printing options, then click on Print.
• For information about printing options, please refer to your printer's
instruction manual.
Continued on next page.
4. Select the format from the format pop-up menu.
5. Click on Save.
• The image will be saved in the selected folder and format.
• The image panel will return when the operation is complete.
SAVING IMAGES
1. Select Save As... from the File menu.
• The following dialog box will appear.
Select the folder
where the file will
be saved.
Name the file.
2. Select the folder from the pop-up menu where
the file will be saved.
3. Enter the desired file name in the box labeled
Save As:.
DIMÂGE V MAIN PANEL
OPENING THE DIMÂGE V MAIN PANEL
There are two ways to open the Dimâge V panel:
• Launch the software (p. 18).
The panel will appear as shown below.
• Switch to the Dimâge V main panel from the
viewer, image, or movie panel by selecting
Dimage V from the Window menu.
From the picture panel:
DIMÂGE V MAIN PANEL
DIMÂGE V MAIN PANEL FUNCTIONS
The Dimâge V main panel allows the camera operations to be
controlled through the computer.
With the Dimâge V main panel, you can:
• Display the status of the Dimâge V camera (p. 54).
• Operate the Dimâge V with the Macintosh:
Remote recording (p. 55).
Recording with exposure compensation (p. 57).
Self-timer (p. 58).
Reset the Dimâge V clock (p. 59).
Format image memory cards (p. 60).
• Transfer image data to the SmartMedia™ in the camera
from the hard drive or removable media (p. 62).
• Create a time-lapse movie (p. 64).
DIMÂGE V MAIN PANEL
54
DISPLAYING CAMERA STATUS
The number of frames remaining, the number of frames taken, and
the camera's low-battery warning are displayed in the Dimâge V
panel.
Click to change the image quality
mode. The estimated number of
frames remaining will change
accordingly.
Number of frames recorded on
the image memory card in the
camera.
Frames remaining on the image
memory card in the camera.
will appear when the
battery power is low.
REMOTE RECORDING
Take pictures with the camera from your computer.
1. Select Record Mode
from the Minolta
Dimage V menu.
• Record mode will be set,
regardless of the Record/Play
switch setting on the camera.
2. Click on
to select the flash mode.
• The flash will not fire if the lens unit of the camera is not in the
standard lens position. See the Standard Lens Position section in
the Dimâge V camera manual.
• Each time
is clicked, the display will change in the sequence
below.
Auto Flash
Manual Fill flash
Flash cancel
3. Click on
to select the image quality.
• The estimated number of frames remaining will change
accordingly.
• Each time
is clicked, the display will alternate between standard
and fine mode.
Standard Mode (STD)
Fine Mode (FINE)
Continued on next page.
Adjust the exposure before taking a picture.
1. Select Record Mode from the Minolta Dimage V
menu.
2. Set the flash mode and image quality (p. 55).
3. Select Capture with Exposure Compensation...
from the Minolta Dimage V menu.
• The following dialog box will appear.
Slide the lever to the desired
value. Values between the
marks cannot be selected.
4. Select the exposure compensation level by
sliding the lever to the desired increment.
• Values between the marks cannot be selected.
5. Frame your image in the camera's LCD monitor,
then click on Capture.
DIMÂGE V MAIN PANEL
4. Frame your image in the camera's LCD
monitor, then click on Capture.
Click on Capture to record the
image.
• The image is recorded to the image memory card.
• Repeat step 4 to record more images with the same settings.
To view the captured image, switch to the viewer panel. Click on
Viewer... (p. 22). The thumbnail previews will be displayed. To
display the full-size image (640 x 480 pixels), double-click on the
thumbnail preview.
Leaving the Dimâge V in record mode will reduce the battery
life. Switch the camera to play mode when not recording with
the computer. Use of the AC adapter AC-V1 (sold
separately) is recommended when recording remotely.
DIMÂGE V MAIN PANEL
SELF-TIMER
Use the self-timer when recording remotely.
1. Click on
.
• The display will alternate between On and Off each time it is
clicked.
Self-timer On
Self-timer Off
2. Select Record Mode from the Minolta Dimage V
menu.
3. Set the flash mode, image quality, and exposure
compensation desired (p. 55, p. 57).
4. Frame your image in the camera's LCD monitor,
then click on Capture.
• The shutter will release approximately 10 seconds after Capture is
clicked.
• Self-timer is automatically canceled after the shutter is released.
RESETTING THE CAMERA DATE/TIME
Use the computer's date/time information to reset the date and time
in the camera.
Be sure the correct date and time are set on your computer before
transferring the data to the camera. Use the Macintosh's Date & Time
control panel to correct the the information in the computer.
1. Select Set Clock... from the Minolta Dimage V
menu.
The following message will appear.
2. Click on OK.
DIMÂGE V MAIN PANEL
FORMATTING IMAGE MEMORY CARDS
Format the image memory card in the camera while the camera is
connected to the computer.
All protected and unprotected images on the SmartMedia™ will
be permanently removed when the format function is used.
(see the Protecting Images section in the camera manual).
1. Select Format Card... from the Minolta
Dimage V menu.
• The following message will appear.
2. Click on OK.
• The bar below will appear to report progress.
• Clicking on STOP will discontinue formatting, however some or all
of the image information will have already been erased.
DIMÂGE V MAIN PANEL
COPYING: FROM THE MAC TO THE CAMERA
Transfer images from your hard drive or removable media to the
image memory card in the camera.
1. Select Upload Image... from the
Minolta Dimage V menu.
• The following dialog box will appear.
Select the image file.
Select the folder where the file to be
uploaded is stored.
2. From the pop-up menu, select the folder where
the file to be uploaded is stored.
3. Click on the image file to select it.
• Select the Show Preview checkbox to view a thumbnail of the
image.
4. Click on Open.
• While the image is being uploaded to the camera's image memory
card, the bar below will indicate the progress.
Images saved in formats other than PICT, JPEG, EXIF, and TIFF
cannot be written to the image memory card in the Dimâge V.
All images uploaded to the memory card in the Dimâge V camera
will be saved as EXIF files.
Images that are not VGA size (640 x 480 pixels) will be
automatically sized to fit the VGA standard when uploaded to the
image memory card in the Dimâge V. The proportions remain
unchanged so the image will not be distorted.
DIMÂGE V MAIN PANEL
CREATING TIME LAPSE MOVIES
Record a time lapse movie while the Dimâge V is connected to the
computer. View the time lapse movie in the movie panel.
1. Select Time Lapse... from the Minolta Dimage V
menu.
• The following dialog box will appear.
Select the folder
where the movie
is to be saved.
Name the movie.
2. From the pop-up menu, select the folder where
the movie is to be saved.
3. Name the movie, then click on Save.
• The following dialog box will appear.
4. Enter the desired values for the number of
frames and the time interval.
• The minimum recording interval is 60 seconds.
5. Click on Start.
• The camera will begin recording using the parameters set in step 4.
• Each image is temporarily written to the image memory card before
it is uploaded to the hard drive or removable media.
6. A time lapse movie file will automatically be
produced with the images when recording is
complete.
• The movie panel will open automatically and the movie will appear
in a window on the computer monitor.
• You can edit your movie using the functions from the Edit menu.
Display the frame to be cut, cleared, or copied and pasted, then
select the function.
MOVIE PANEL FUNCTIONS
QuickTime movies can be created or played back in the movie
panel.
In the movie panel, you can:
• Create a time lapse movie with images from the camera,
hard drive, or removable media with the simplicity of Drag
and Drop (p. 70).
• Play the movie in the movie window (p. 67).
• Change the playback mode of the movie (p. 69).
• Display the movie in a variety of sizes or view it with a black
backdrop (p. 68).
• Save the movie in a different file format (p. 73).
• Recompress the movie with a QuickTime compression
format (p. 75).
THE MOVIE WINDOW
The movie window appears when the movie panel is opened by
creating a new movie (p. 70) or opening an existing movie (select
Open... from the File menu).
Click to display the
next frame.
Click to display the
preceding frame.
Click to play
and stop the
movie.
Drag the scroll box to play
the movie at the speed of
the mouse movement.
Change the display of the movie by selecting one of the options listed
below from the Movie menu.
Normal Size
The display is shown full size. The size of the movie is selected in
the movie panel when it is created (p 70). Time lapse movies
created in the Dimâge V main panel (p 64) are 640 x 480 pixels.
Half Size
The half size display is 50% of normal size.
Double Size
Twice the size of the normal display.
Fill Screen
Almost fills the computer monitor. This option is only available
when Present Movie is selected from the Movie menu.
Present Movie
The presentation movie option centers the movie in the monitor
and creates a black backdrop for the movie.
• QuickTime 2.1 or higher is required for this feature.
Present Movie Format:
PLAYBACK MODES
Change the playback mode of the movie by selecting Loop or Loop
Back and Forth from the Movie menu.
Loop
The movie will play repeatedly.
Loop Back and Forth
The movie will play repeatedly, forward and backward (from first
frame to last frame, then the last frame to first frame).
DRAG AND DROP - MAKING A TIME LAPSE MOVIE
Make a time lapse movie with images already on the image
memory card, hard drive, or removable media by dragging and
dropping them onto the movie window.
• The following dialog box will appear.
2. Select the movie size by clicking on the radio
button of the desired dimension, then click on OK.
• The following dialog box will appear.
Select the folder
where the movie
is to be saved.
Name the movie.
1. Select New from the File menu and choose
Movie in the submenu.
3. From the pop-up menu, select the folder where
the movie is to be saved.
4. Name the movie, then click on Save.
• A new movie window will appear.
5. With the new movie window displayed, open the
viewer panel (p. 22).
Continued on next page.
6. Click on and drag a thumbnail image from the
viewer panel, then drop it onto the movie
window.
• This will be the last frame in the time lapse movie. The movie will
play back in the reverse order the images were dropped into the
movie window.
7. Drag and drop the other thumbnail images onto
the movie box in reverse order.
8. Select Save from the File menu.
You can edit your movie using the functions from the Edit menu.
Display the frame to be cut, cleared, or copied and pasted, then
select the function.
CHANGING THE MOVIE FILE FORMAT
Change the file type of your movie to one of the options below.
Movie: The default movie file format. When the movie is pasted into
another file, the movie itself isn't copied to the file. Instead, a
pointer is placed in the file that tells it where to find the movie.
Movie, self-contained: This means the entire movie will be copied
when you paste it into another file. The file size will be larger, but
the file will not need access to the drive where the original movie is
stored.
Movie, cross-platform: Select this format when your movie will be
played on a computer not running the Apple System Software.
Movie to Picture: Save a movie frame as a still-frame picture. Select
Save As... with the movie stopped on the desired frame. The
Options... button will be activated so you can choose
recompression settings (p 75).
1. Select Save as... from the File menu while the
movie is open.
• The save dialog box will appear.
Select the folder
where the movie
is to be saved
again.
Name the movie
again.
Choose a movie
file format.
Continued on next page.
2. From the pop-up menu, select the folder where
the movie is to be saved, then name the movie.
3. Select the format type from the format pop-up
menu.
4. Click on Save.
RECOMPRESSING MOVIE FILES
The purpose of recompressing a movie file is to make the format
suitable for the end-use of the movie and optimize the compression
scheme for the type of images used. The time lapse movie files are
compressed when created, using QuickTime™ compression.
Recompressing movie files does not mean the file will be
smaller than the original format.
The guide below is to help you determine what recompression type, if
any, is necessary for your movie.
Animation
Cinepak
Component
Video
Graphics
None
Photo-JPEG
Video
Compressor
Type
Compression
Ratio
Low
High
High
Low
Low
High
Low
Image Type
Computer-generated animation
Video
Video
8-bit still images
Video/All image types
Photographic images
16-bit video
Photo-JPEG and Video are suitable for movies recorded with the
Dimâge V. Photo-JPEG is recommended for movies containing a
variety of image types. Video is recommended for movies
containing similar image types.
Continued on next page.
1. Select Open from the File menu.
• The Open dialog box will appear.
Use the pop-up menu to find the movie to be
recompressed. Click on the movie file, then click
on Open.
• The selected movie will appear in the movie panel.
2. Select Recompress Movie... from the Movie
menu.
77
MOVIE PANEL
76
Select the folder
where the
recompressed
movie is to be
saved.
Name the
recompressed
movie.
3. From the pop-up menu, select the folder where
the recompressed movie is to be saved, then
name the recompressed movie.
4. Click on Save.
• The Compression Settings dialog box will appear.
The preview window
lets you see the
effects of changing
the Compressor and
Quality settings.
5. Select the compression type from the pop-up
6. Use the slider to select the quality of the
compressed image.
Continued on next page.
7. Select the playback rate from the Frames per
second: pop-up menu.
. File size will increase with higher frames per second.
8. Click on OK in the dialog box.
• The bar below will appear to report the progress.
The software and your Macintosh will inform you of trouble. This
section lists the error messages and the appropriate action to take
when the message appears.
Message: This application requires System 7.5 or greater!
Cause:
Your operating system is 7.1.2 or earlier
Solution:
Use system 7.5 operating system or greater.
Message: This application requires QuickTime 2.0 or greater.
Please install and try again.
Cause:
QuickTime 2.0 is not installed in the extensions folder.
Solution:
Install the QuickTime 2.0 extension (or greater) into the
extensions folder.
Message: This application needs more memory. Please
increase application memory size and try again.
Cause:
There is not enough memory allocated to Camera
Access.
Solution:
Increase the Preferred Memory Size. See page 37.
Message: Out of memory.
Message: Your system is low on memory. Please quit other
open applications to free up available free memory
in your system.
Message: Camera Access is out of memory. Please increase
application memory size before continuing.
Message: Operation failed due to low memory. Please increase
this application's memory size and/or quit other
applications and try again.
Cause:
The memory required to perform the operation is more
than that allocated to the program.
Solution:
Quit any applications other than Camera Access.
Increase the Preferred Memory Size (p 37).
Continued on next page.
Message: Operation failed because disk is full.
Cause:
There is not enough disk/scratch disk space for the
computer to complete the operation.
Solution:
Increase the free space on the hard disk by removing
unnecessary files or applications.
Message: Can't open about box because filter is being used.
Please close the filter and try again.
Cause:
The "About this filter..." function cannot be accessed
when the filter is in use.
Solution:
Select "About this filter..." when the filter is not in use.
Message: Can not open about box because the panel is being
used. Please close the panel and try again.
Cause:
The "About this panel..." function cannot be accessed
when the panel is in use.
Solution:
Select "About this panel..." when the panel is not in use.
Message: An image capture device connection error occurred.
Please check your connection and try again.
Message: Image capture device not connected. Please check
your connection and try again.
Cause:
The Dimâge V is not correctly connected to the
computer.
Solution:
Check the connections between the camera and the
computer (pp 8-9, p 19). Then, restart the Camera
Access application (p 18). If the error continues to
display, contact a Minolta Service Facility listed on the
back cover of this manual.
Message: This file cannot be opened by this application.
Message: This application does not support this data type.
Cause:
The application does not support the data format.
Solution:
To open the file with Camera Access, use another
application to convert the file into a PICT, JPEG, EXIF, or
TIFF file. These are the only file formats recognized by
Camera Access.
Message: Could not open document due to error.
Cause
An error occurred while the document was opening.
Solution:
Click on OK, quit the application, then restart the
Macintosh. Launch the software and try again.
Message: Unable to print document due to printer error.
Please check your printer and try again.
Cause:
The most likely cause is either the printer is off-line or the
printer cable is not correctly connected.
Solution:
Click on OK, then check the points listed above.
Message: Unknown error occurred.
Message: Unknown program error.
Cause:
An unidentified error occurred.
Solution:
Click on OK, quit the application, then restart the
Macintosh. Launch the software and try again.
• Macintosh computer with a 68040 processor or greater, or a
Power Macintosh.
• Apple System Software 7.1 or later.
• Minimum12MB RAM, 16MB RAM for Power Macs.
• Minimum 45MB available hard disk space.
• Monitor capable of 256 colors.
• CD-ROM drive.
INSTALLING PHOTODELUXE™
1. Insert the Adobe PhotoDeluxe™ CD-ROM into the
CD-ROM drive, then double-click on the CD's icon.
2. Double click on the flag icon for the program language, then
open the Install-Disk 1 folder.
3. Double-click on the Adobe PhotoDeluxe™ Install Icon,
then choose your region and click on OK. After reading the
End User License Agreement, click on Accept, then click on
Continue.
4. After reading the Read Me file, click on Continue again.
5. Select the install type in the install dialog box.
• To install all the necessary files on the CD-ROM click on Easy
Install.
• To install only selected items click on Custom Install.
6. Select the drive where PhotoDeluxe™ will be installed from
the pop-up menu. Click on Install. Follow the instructions
that appear on the monitor. You will be required to enter
your name and a serial number. The serial number is
located on the last page of the Dimâge V camera manual.
7. Restart the Macintosh.
INSTALLING THE QTIC PLUG-IN MODULE
The QTIC plug-in allows you to acquire images on the Dimâge V's
memory card or capture images directly with the camera through the
Adobe PhotoDeluxe™ software.
1. Drag the QTIC Acquire icon out of the Goodies folder that
came with the Camera Access software.
2. Drop the QTIC Acquire icon into the Acquire/Export folder,
located in the Adobe PhotoDeluxe™ Plug-ins folder.